We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almazen de Sabores

Almazen de Sabores
los radales 667 , Dina Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
+54 294 452-1109
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bistro, Fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just ate here as one of our first meals in bariloche and it didnt disappoint. Though its a but outside the city it's a gem to find and well worth the drive. Six course menu and bottle of wine for about a third what we'd pay back home. The owners/chefs were amazing and so kind. Truly a delicious meal coming from a foodie from Sam Francisco, California.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    52
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best away-from-home birthday dinner imaginable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband turned 30 during our 7 months of travel, and we happened to be in Bariloche for his birthday. As a treat, I wanted to find the best possible restaurant to have dinner to celebrate. We had the entire restaurant to ourselves since we eat "early" in Argentina (i.e. 8pm), and we opted for the 6 course tasting menu. It was FANTASTIC and included fish, shrimp, soup, beef, and of course delicious dessert (including this ricotta cheese with raspberry sauce that I wish I could eat everyday). The service was EXCELLENT - from our email correspondence for reservations to adding a candle to my husband's dessert plate. The location is a bit remote from the town, but cabs are cheap, and since it's a home, it adds to the ambiance. To top it all off, the same meal in the US would've cost us at least 4 times as much. They also have an excellent and reasonably priced wine list. Please visit this restaurant - you won't regret it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best food in Bariloche, sin duda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hosted by its owners, the service could not be better and the food is always special and unique. I had many dinners here and have to say that is an experience well payed for the drive to Dina Huapi. Do not miss is if you are in Bariloche.

Muchas gracias chicos!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, people and amazing flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was amazed with the incredible flavors!!
The place is very special, small but cozy.
The music, the quietness, I would really like to go back again.
Thank you Franco and Lucila for your special treat!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Michelin star quality food at local Parilla prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My fiance and I visited Almazen de Sabores last night having checked trip advisor for recommendations.

I can unequivocally state this is the best food I have tasted in South America, perhaps even the best meal I have ever had, and undoubtedly the best value. My fiance and I opted for the 6 course tasting menu (priced at incredibly reasonable 120 pesos per person), a bottle of malbec (again incredible value at 70 pesos) and water and coffee, with the total bill coming in at around 340 pesos.

Admittedly finding the restaurant is not for the feint hearted, given its location in a small residential quarter in the town of Dina Huapi, but those willing to take on the adventure of locating the restaurant are rewarded with a seemingly never ending (in a good way) feast of culinary excellence. Every dish put before us was incredibly well presented, inventive in its flavour and perfectly balanced. Needless to say not a scrap of food was left on either of our plates.

The chef catered for our personal tastes, preparing a bespoke tasting menu for myself and my fiance (after we mentioned that I was not a huge fan of seafood, but my fiance was keen to have seafood).

Good English is spoken and the service was excellent, warm, attentive and fun. The proprietors have a real love for what they do and it shines through in this dining experience.

I really can´t recommend this place highly enough.

One tip for those trying to find the restaurant, google maps displays the name of the road as "chilco", whereas we were informed by our hotel that the real name is "las chilcas". The restaurant is on the intersection of Chilco/Las Chilcas and Los Radales. If taking a taxi from bariloche the driver will head north on the coast road and should turn left onto Los Abedules, then right onto Los Radales. The restaurant is 3 short blocks away and has a large sign outside displaying the name of the restaurant. I would recommend booking ahead as it would seem the restaurant only seats around 20-25 people in total.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almazen de Sabores also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Almazen de Sabores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almazen de Sabores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.