We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a great downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quillen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quillen Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Quillen Hotel & Spa
San Martin 415, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value in a great downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were looking for a convenient hotel in downtown Bariloche and the Quillen turned out to be a great choice. Based on internet reviews, we requested a lake view room on an upper floor and were very happy with the great views from the 4th floor. No traffic noise as the lake view rooms are on the opposite side of the hotel from the road entrance. There was no wifi in the room but each floor has a little sitting area with good reception, plus the lobby area and dining room.Good breakfast and friendly staff. Secure parking just near the hotel. The room wasn't large but suited the two us of perfectly. I would highly recommend the Quillen if you want to be in town and walking distance from the town square and many shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    85
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
93
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel has clearly been updated, it's very modern. The room and the bathroom were very small, but well-furnished. The sheets were fabulous. The shower had all sorts of heads, very nice, except that when you get in, you turn it on and get blasted by cold water (you have to get in and close the door or the whole bathroom will flood). The breakfast was okay. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The view of the lake and mountains was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We only booked this as we got a good deal through booking.com - having seen the list/rack prices, I don't think we would have been happy to pay full price. However for the price we were very happy with our room:

Positives:
- Really comfortable bed with excellent feather duvet
- Modern bathroom, with warm shower
- Excellent breakfast buffet
- Friendly reception staff
- Good location within walking distance of centre

Negatives:
- Wi-fi didn't work in our room, and struggled to pick it up in communal areas
- Very small room despite having one of their rooms advertised as more spacious
- TV didn't work properly, something was wrong with the screen

(Nothing to do with the hotel - but for information - if you are looking for somewhere to get laundry done (the hotel is expensive) then DO NOT use the one a few hundred metres down the road as you turn left out of the hotel. We arranged to pick up first thing in the morning and told them we were getting a bus in the afternoon - clothes were not ready even by the afternoon, so half an hour before getting our bus we were racing around town trying to find the place they send it to so we didn't loose all our clothes. We managed to retrieve them soaking wet which when getting a bus for 24 hours was not good, we still had to pay and further more items were ripped and missing.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We I booked this hotel, I thought it would be a little luxurious but I was quite disappointed with the exterior of the building and the size of the room.
The inside of the building is very colorful, clean and design.
The price was fair but the room extremely small, with just the space for the bed and the windows offer a view on the inside of the building totally uninteresting. I felt so claustrophobic that I didn't choose to stay for more that one night. But perhaps I just go the wrong room... The say on booking.com that rooms with view inside can accommodate an extra bed but I really wonder how that could be.....
Apart from the size, the room was clean, but no fridge. The check in was quite cold, with no explanations at all about the spa or the breakfast, but the check out was much better with a very friendly and helpful staff. In the night, we were recommended the Spanish restaurant next door...I would not...but probably I had a really silly idea to choose seafood in Bariloche....
The breakfast was nice but with the constant noise of the refrigerator.

Room Tip: choose a room with view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is very modern and well laid out. The rooms very nice yet not designed for summer. They desperately need fans in the rooms, and as we did not have one, we had to leave the window open. The street is very noisy so we chose listening the the late night patrons of nearby bars over sweating in the bed all night long. We asked multiple times for a fan, and even though we were promised one, it never appeared.

Room Tip: Dont get a room overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms - big, clean, comfy beds, good toilets and with a TV.

The girl at the reception was very nice.
She had offered us an early breakfast (we had to leave early) for free.
She also helped us with calling the car rental agency.

I certainly recommend this hotel since the price is fair (about 70 dollars for a room).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staff are attentive and friendly all buzzing around to keep place the keep clean and tidy but it really stops there. This is a tired place and for a summer break with temps in region of 30C we were only saved by virtue of the lake view, I dread to know what the roadside rooms must be like, at least we could partially open the side window to allow a breeze in the absence of air con. Breakfast quality really was dubious with plastic cheese and ham the norm but again clean and pleasant enough with hot tea and coffee. After 3 nights we were more than ready to leave, I almost fell out of my bed one night, so small and narrow in a small room !

Room Tip: Lakeside view otherwise better options elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quillen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quillen Hotel & Spa

Address: San Martin 415, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quillen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quillen Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.