We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Condor de la Patagonia

Save Saved
You added Hostel Condor de la Patagonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Condor de la Patagonia
Neumeyer 34, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina (Formerly Albergue Condor del los Andes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The staff are extremely friendly and will provide you with all the info you need. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm, it was clean and comfortable with ensuite. Deffinately would advise to low-budget travellers who want a clean place with friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in a private room with bathroom and working small kitchen with working fridge. The place was clean, warm and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very central, close to the Centro Civico and main streets. The dining/room kitchen is well stocked and has a view of the lake and mountains. Since our room had a separate entrance on the outside of the building we had to go up and down outside stairs to get the key or drop it off at the reception upsatirs every time we left and came back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed three nights in this lovely hostel after receiving good service at their sister hostel in el Chalten and were not disappointed. The rooms are clean and bright and beds comfortable. The staff helped us with booking all our excursions and onward travel, they organised the return of my gloves after I left them on a tour bus and they even lent us a bus card when we were stranded on May Day unable to buy a bus ticket and reluctant to pay for a taxi! The bathrooms and kitchen could do with a little update but other than that a wonderful hostel with an excellent location and lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Chalten, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Before this encounter, we traveled through Patagonia for 6 weeks with all good experiences. The staff at this hostel seemed very nice at first, but don't cross them! They moved our rental car in their overcrowded parking lot the night we got in, and in doing so scraped the side. When we mentioned it the next morning, thinking they would at least appologize or share the cost of the repair, they said they had done us a 'favor,' and not only denied doing the damage but called us "problematic", and said we should "Just leave, just go. We don't want people like you here." They also accused us of already having trouble with the rent a car company, which was not true. We later learned that the hostel staff had relayed incorrect information about the size car we wanted.
By contrast, Pablo, and the staff at Seven Lakes Rent a Car company, could not have been nicer and more honest. Theirs is a family owned and operated business, easy walking distance from the hostel, and we would definitely recommend them over using one of the standard Hertz or Avis type companies. Renting a car and driving around this beautiful area is definltyly worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Great host very helpful and very friendly. Hostel located in center of the town. Rooms on the street level, like small apartments with kitchen area(no stove) and private bathroom. Not much of the breakfast. Good value for the money, Because of the slow tourist season due to ash from volcano we were charged less than we agreed before arrival. Very nice surprise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a great hostel in a great location in Bariloche. The staff were extremely helpful and the place offers great value for money, much cheaper than some other horrible hostels in Bariloche! The rooms are very nice and the whole hostel is extremely clean all the time. There is a free laundry service which is very quick and useful and just down the road there is a really nice Mexican restaurant that does a cocktails happy hour! Lots of fun. I would definitely go back to the hostel, one of the best I stayed in whilst in Argentina.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very nice, upstairs a bit nicer perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here three nights.
Staff were pleasant and informative.
Kitchen could be improved with cleaner pots/pans and utensils.
Rooms were nice and clean, pretty standard nothing massively special.
Good value and nice central location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Condor de la Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Condor de la Patagonia

Address: Neumeyer 34, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina (Formerly Albergue Condor del los Andes)
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 130 hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Condor de la Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Condor de la Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.