We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours

Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours
Av. Bustillo Km 18,600, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
+54 294-4524828
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Cordillera Bike we put all our effort into making sure you enjoy the bike ride of your life.We've got the bicycle for you according to your MTB experience; maps; and everything you might need for your trip.Our main aim is to share with you our two passions: Patagonia, and bicycles.We look forward to your visit! And if you've already met us, your opinion is welcome if it'll help us improve!
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great service, perfectly maintained bike, the owner is clearly passionate about cycling, he gave me a few tips on where to stop along the Circuito Chico so that I discovered places I would have never found by myself. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordilleraBike, Propietario at Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you. We always appreciate a caress ! Daniel de Vries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    5
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bike ride around heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We took the public bus (18.6 k from Town) to the Circuito Chico bike starting point. There is an obvious bike rental place at the bus stop but that is NOT Cordillera Bike. We got a bit turned around but eventually found Cordillera Bike very close by.

For the benefit of others here is how to find Cordillera Bike. Get off at the bus stop and you have an option to walk 10 yards to a Y in the road. Go right at the Y and walk 50 yards down hill and you will find Cordillera Bike on your left. (You will see bikes in the yard)

We entered the property and were graciously greeted by Daniel. His ability to converse in English was certainly helpful (although we were fortunate to have a Spanish speaker with us in the event there was any ambiguity)

Daniel carefully explained our route options, the locations of scenic overlooks, and a less obvious restaurant (Cervezeria Gilbert). He rented us very high quality mountain bikes, gave us a map and we were off.

The ride is a plethora of breathtaking views. We enjoyed riding along the paved road often lined with blooming yellow flowers and a backdrop of rugged snowcapped mountains, pristine blue lakes, and cloudless cobalt blue skies. We took Daniel's suggestion and detoured off the main route and took a short hike to Lago Escondido and a ride down the dirt road to the beach at Villa Tacul.

We biked up the entrance road to the Hotel Llao Llao and the gate guard graciously allowed us to enter the property but because they were having a major celebratory function so we enjoyed the property from the outside.

Daniel gave us three options to complete our day. A) ride to the starting point, B) leave the bikes at the Hotel Llao Llao and take the bus back or C) Leave the bikes at a small restaurant just up the road from the Hotel and take the bus back.

We chose option C as once we got there and found that we could enjoy a cerveza outside on the couch and then catch the bus from this locale. In hindsight this was a no brainer. From this point back to the shop is ~ 5K (3 miles) and the road is paved and still has nice views, but the road is a bit more traveled by motorized traffic and the road shoulders are not paved and sometimes quite narrow. The restaurant owner immediately came out to meet us, showed us the bike rack and said she would take care of things from there (which entailed getting us some barley and hop soda's) and there was no need to go back to the shop.

Obviously I have no experience with the other rental company but can say that we found Cordillera Bike rental rate very reasonable, their bikes top quality, Daniel's advice accurate, and our day long trip memorable. (Christmas card photo op galore!)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordilleraBike, Propietario at Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. And many thanks for you your tip how to find us. By the way, our new flags are here! So, once you turn the corner, after the bus stop, we are easily to see and to find.... I HOPE!! Gracias, Daniel de Vries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, good bikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This must be the best place to rent a bike in Bariloche and cycle the Circuito Chico or the Seven Lakes Route!

The staff is very friendly, they have a lot of knowledge of the area, and they are very flexible and will make your trip as easy as possible. We rented two bikes for the Seven Lakes Route (3 days) and are very happy with the service that was provided, and with the bikes as well.

If you want to rent a bike around Bariloche, definetely go here!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordilleraBike, Propietario at Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your review. Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We nearly went to the other bike rental place, but on seeing their bikes and contract changed our minds.. so glad we did! Daniel was amazing. We took into account our cycling experience, and the time left in the day, and gave us all the information necessary to have a great afternoon riding.
The bikes were very good quality. We rode around the cicuito Chico (takes approx 4 hours incl stops/detours) which was really fun. The stop at Gilbert's brewery near the end is great motivation to get up the last hills! Even better as Daniel has arranged a discount for cyclists!
We would definitely recommend Cordillera for great friendly service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordilleraBike, Propietario at Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinon. It was nice to meet you and fun to see you next day again. It was you, wasn´t it? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great trip with quality bikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cordillera were absolutely excellent in providing us with all the info we needed to complete a breathtaking circuito chico.

Dan provides great information on all the sites and even includes free beer and discounts at different spots. The tour itself we booked at the hostel for 90 pesos.

Take the number 20 bus to 18.6k on bustillo avenue, be careful as there is a different bike rental place with a prominent road spot and sign. Our friends took this by mistake on the same day as us, but didn't get the same quality of bikes or information all for 30 pesos more.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CordilleraBike, Propietario at Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you! Nice to know we could you help to spend a nice time in our city. (and I´m sorry about your friends)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordillera Bike Rental & Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.