We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming house, Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Philippe

Chez Philippe
Primera Junta 1080, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
02944427291
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is a small restaurant, with only seven tables with intim and warm atmosphere. A short menu with delicious dishes like the cheese fondue or the loin with morrels. Philippe opened his house like a restaurant in 1990 and his wife and daughters work with him. It is located in a residential and quiet area, only ten blocks from the center. A place to enjoy a good meal and a good wine. Es un pequeño restaurante, con solo siete mesas en un ambiente cálido e íntimo. Un menú de pocos platos pero exquisitos como la fondue de queso o el lomo con morrillas. Philippe abrio su casa como restaurante en 1990 y desde entonces trabaja con su esposa e hijas. Está ubicado en un barrio residencial, a solo 10 cuadras del centro. Un lugar para disfrutar de una buena comida y un buen vino.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Charming house, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ate here on Christmas, and nearly had the place to ourselves. It is in a residential area, so a taxi or car is essential. We shared the cheese fondue and the tomato fondue, with the cheese one being much better. The dipping items included bread, apple slices, tomatoes and sausages, nothing amazing, though. The steak with morel mushrooms was delicious, and we had a reasonably-priced malbec with the meal. They don't take credit cards, so be prepared. We liked Alto el Fuego, Kandahar and Cassis more, but would recommend Chez Philippe, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    36
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Real fondue for an honest price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Cosy restaurant with great food! Price for the cheesefondue is great! The Apple That comes whit it was new to us, but realy tasted amazing! Go for it and enjoy! Service is how it's supposed to be! Great value! Woud go back of i had the time to do!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Outstanding fondue dinner in a charming and comfortable setting. Great service from the multi-lingual owner's daughter. A fabulous dining experience. Other options beside fondue. Good wine choices and values.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice fondue in cozy dining room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This restaurant is located in a residential area close to the city center. The dining room is small, cozy, with a fireplace - cannot think of a better setting for fondue. We arrived very early, as we had our 1-year old baby with us, and had the restaurant only for us. Service was amazing - very attentive. We had the tomato fondue, and to be honest, we wished we had ordered the regular fondue, because we like it more consistent.

But I still liked it a lot, and the service and the nice room deserves the 5 stars.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

the llao llao will drive you there- very nice, delicious.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Philippe also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Chez Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Philippe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.