We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real fondue for an honest price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Philippe

Chez Philippe
Primera Junta 1080, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
02944427291
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is a small restaurant, with only seven tables with intim and warm atmosphere. A short menu with delicious dishes like the cheese fondue or the loin with morrels. Philippe opened his house like a restaurant in 1990 and his wife and daughters work with him. It is located in a residential and quiet area, only ten blocks from the center. A place to enjoy a good meal and a good wine. Es un pequeño restaurante, con solo siete mesas en un ambiente cálido e íntimo. Un menú de pocos platos pero exquisitos como la fondue de queso o el lomo con morrillas. Philippe abrio su casa como restaurante en 1990 y desde entonces trabaja con su esposa e hijas. Está ubicado en un barrio residencial, a solo 10 cuadras del centro. Un lugar para disfrutar de una buena comida y un buen vino.
2 reviews
“Real fondue for an honest price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Cosy restaurant with great food! Price for the cheesefondue is great! The Apple That comes whit it was new to us, but realy tasted amazing! Go for it and enjoy! Service is how it's supposed to be! Great value! Woud go back of i had the time to do!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    57
    27
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Outstanding fondue dinner in a charming and comfortable setting. Great service from the multi-lingual owner's daughter. A fabulous dining experience. Other options beside fondue. Good wine choices and values.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice fondue in cozy dining room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This restaurant is located in a residential area close to the city center. The dining room is small, cozy, with a fireplace - cannot think of a better setting for fondue. We arrived very early, as we had our 1-year old baby with us, and had the restaurant only for us. Service was amazing - very attentive. We had the tomato fondue, and to be honest, we wished we had ordered the regular fondue, because we like it more consistent.

But I still liked it a lot, and the service and the nice room deserves the 5 stars.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

the llao llao will drive you there- very nice, delicious.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like cheese......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went there with our daughter and two friends. We ordered the special dinner which was ratatouille to start with. This was very well cooked, sweet and tender. Next came the cheese fondue. It was delicious and served with small cubes of bread, apples and tomatoes. There were five of us and we managed somehow to eat the whole thing. For desert we were given lemon pie which was ok. Not the best but hit that sweet spot. I would go back again but only when the cheese settled!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Philippe also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Chez Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Philippe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.