We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costas del Nahuel Hosteria

Save Saved
You added Costas del Nahuel Hosteria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Costas del Nahuel Hosteria
Av Bustillo 937, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Puerto Montt, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed two nights, in room 5 which was wonderful. Excellent views of the lake, friendly and well informed staff and a great deal for paying cash. We would go back again, it felt like the right mix of friendly staff but with plenty of privacy. Our room had double glazed windows and we had no traffic noise at all, and it is an easy walk into town or you are right on the bus route for the Hotel Llao Llao area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake are great, room 5 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment from the start; it is located well below street level and one has to carry heavy suitcases down a steep set of stairs; the management or staff of this hotel made no attempt to assist at either check-in or check-out. Our room (#1) was at basement level with a window at ground level, next to a guest pathway. The furnishings were old and needed refurbishment. The bathroom was old and tired, with no natural light (since it was actually underground), a noisy exhaust fan and quite a bit of mould on the ceiling. Breakfast was poor and no staff assistance was present at this meal. Reception was friendly and helpful with tourist information. The hotel is reasonably located, although it is more than a short walk to town.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a great room with a double aspect view of the lake. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and spoke good English. It's also a good place to get your washing done if you're running out of clean T-shirts!

Buses run to Llao Llao from just outside the hotel and the town centre is about five minutes away - we had a delicious meal at the Trattoria della Familigia Bianchi a couple of minutes down the road. All in all a good choice and really great value for the town.

Room Tip: We booked a lake view room and the view was amazing - definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location of this place is perfect. It's right on the lake with phenomenal lake views, and a 5 minute walk from the center of town. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast spread is pretty good compared to other places in Argentina, and they're very nice about making sure you get enough to eat, even if you're late. Everybody we encountered at the front desk was extremely helpful and spoke very good English. We paid $70 USD per night, which we thought was a good deal, especially compared to other prices in Bariloche (which we did not care for at all and found extremely expensive...in fact, we left early because we enjoyed everywhere else we were in Argentina and Chile much more than Bariloche).

My only complaint about the Hosteria is that traffic noise can be pretty bad in some rooms. We were in room five the first 2 nights, and it was far enough from the road that it was pretty quiet. But after climbing Mount Tronador, we came back for an additional night and stayed in room ten. You could hear the road very clearly form there and I was up all night with traffic noise (full disclosure: I'm a very light sleeper). There's not much the Hosertia can do, though, they're just on a very busy road.

Overall, we really liked it and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room as far from the road as possible (room 5 is great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed only one night, but were very happy with our choice. The hotel is right by the lake and we had a nice view from our room. Rooms are okay in size and a little wear and tear but we felt very welcome. Breakfast was okay and service staff was friendly.
It is located just outside the center, but easily in walking distance. The bus to Llao Llao leaves right outside the hotel, which is very convenient.
All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I had an outstanding experience at Costas Del Nahuel! The views of the lake are fabulous and the customer service was stellar! The location of this hotel is perfect; within walking distance of downtown and on the way to the National Park. The rooms are simple and clean and a tasty continental breakfast (croissants, fruit, yogurt, juice coffee, etc...) is included in the price of the room. Excellent value in pricey Bariloche! Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Just ten minutes from the centre of town it has a lovely lakeside setting. Steps lead down to a terrace with sun beds and a swimming pool. A gate provides access to a small rocky beach and the lake. The rooms are a reasonable size with a full bathroom and good satellite TV. The wifi is very good and there are a couple of PCs in reception. Breakfast is served in a room with picture windows overlooking the lake. A limited selection of snacks and drinks are available from reception. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. A fantastic little place to stay in Bariloche!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costas del Nahuel Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas del Nahuel Hosteria

Address: Av Bustillo 937, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Costas del Nahuel Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costas del Nahuel Hosteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.