We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious and fantastic venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Molina

Don Molina
San Martin 607, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
+54 2944 436616
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply delicious and fantastic venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant. It was slightly more expensive than some others but was well worth it. We went early evening so it was pretty quite but we didn't mind. The restaurant itself is really nice and the bread and dips to start were truly scrumptious. The beef was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. We got salad and French fries as an accompliment which were also good. They've an extensive wine list and the service was very good. The was also an English version of the menu. Highly recommend...especially over the very popular el boliche de Alberto. It was very nice but everything was rushed and overall we did not have an enjoyable experience...skip the queues and enjoy don Molina instead.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    103
    46
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mels, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Place - Unforgettable - Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was by far the best restaurant during that trip through Argentina.

We had the patagonian lamb. The meat was juicy and tasty. What else can I say? Just great.

The service was great. Dante, our waiter, was very polite, payed attention to detail and friendly. He offered us a little more lamb after we were done.

The place is very nicely furnished and decorated. It has a classy country side look and feel. They played traditional folk music on the background (not loud).

We payed something like 30 or 40 USD each. We had (lots!) of lamb, a bottle of middle price range wine, water, salad and appetizer. We were offered some limoncello at the end of the meal - nice detail! And the limoncello was good ;)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a great dinner at Don Molina Steakhouse in Bariloche. Its close the the Bariloche Casino. Classic interior, they were playing Frank Sinatra inside, nice background music. We ordered a Cabernet/ Syrah wine from Norton, very good. I like my steak medium rare, but it came more rare than medium. Order your steak a little more well done than you like. Get the Provolone cheese appetizer, part of the local gastronomy. Delicious bread, and salads. Good value (compared to the NY steakhouse).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Lamb was overcooked, burnt, dry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This steakhouse was recommended by the hotel we were staying at. We came to check this place out. Two empanadas were ordered were acceptable but not great. I ordered a grilled lamb dish, disappointed it was burnt, overcooked, tough, dry; I gave up trying to eat this. My partner ordered a trout and it was good. The french fries also disappointed us were frozen, not fresh. Te con leche was only one small cup of hot water, no teapot with extra hot water for a second cup as some places provide. We detected an attitude that they are one of the best places to dine and our comment of discontent deflated it. We should have know better before even walking in, very few customers. The staff were not very engaging, the food were fair at best commanded a higher price. Not a good evening in time and money dining here for us, couldn't get their wifi to connect to the internet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice place, great choice of wines, excellent attention, great steaks. I would certainly go back. It is fancy and expensive but I think it's worth it. And dessert was fantastic and huge. The waiter was always helpful and attentive. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Molina also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Don Molina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Molina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.