We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option if you have time to kill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fenoglio Museo del Chocolate

Fenoglio Museo del Chocolate
Av Bustillo 1200, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
02944 439204
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Córdoba, Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good option if you have time to kill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's interesting to know the history of chocolate. Suitable for adults and kids over 10-12 who'd enjoy the narration, which can get a bit heavy at times. It's good that they give you chocolate and you can see the workers making the chocolate thru a glass.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    35
    20
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hot chocolate served as a welcome drink is very good and if you don't know the story of chocolate making its worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

It is far from city center, you need to walk about 30 min to get there, and the people there are really wierd. I was the only one at the museum when they told me there is only tour in Spanish. I told I can understand if they talk slowly, but they responded by saying that they need to finish the tour in 40 min. and that other people could be affected. I took the tour, thinking they will be flexible, since there was no one else except for me. I still don't undertsnad why the guide talked so fast like a speed motor and didn't consider my request as foreigner. In any how, the museum is pretty boring, they don't show any machines working or so, just the history of the Cacao...
Don't waste your time here.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not Willy Wonka”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

The museum is not that big and you only get a glimpse of the factory. My 8 year old was bored. The chocolate is good however. It was ok for our rainy day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Sweet Tour that Feeds the Mind Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Fenoglio’s Museo de Chocolate is a great outing, especially on a bad-weather day when you’re looking for an indoor activity in Bariloche. We took our children, ages 11 and 8, and joined a tour with an English-speaking guide. The tour, about a half hour long, is more interesting for adults than children, since it goes into a lot of detail about chocolate production and its history; nonetheless, my kids got a lot out of the tour educationally, and my husband and I found it quite interesting. Not surprisingly, the most entertaining part is seeing the factory workers make chocolate and getting to sample some (they serve hot melted chocolate upon arrival, there is a gift shop waiting to sell all kinds of irresistible chocolates). For more on Bariloche and our visit to the museo de chocolate, check out my daughter’s blog post http://www.collyworld.com/2009/11/chocolate-in-bariloche/ or our post on Patagonia http://away-together.com/2009/10/24/welcome-to-patagonia/.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenoglio Museo del Chocolate also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Fenoglio Museo del Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenoglio Museo del Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.