We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Bariloche” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa to your Saves list
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Avenida Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Bariloche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were welcomed to Hotel Altuen by Luis and Paula like we were old friends and when we left three days later, we felt like we had truly become friends. These are some of the nicest hosts we have met along our world travels (and we've met a lot of nice ones!). They helped us decide how to best spend our time and helped us arrange several things during our stay. As for the hotel, the view over the lake was beautiful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the value was excellent. If you don't mind being out of the city a little ways, this is an excellent choice. There are some good restaurants within five minutes walk and a laundry service immediately across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    33
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
189
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, Luis and Paula are fantastic hosts who really went the extra mile to help us to book trips and sort out a mix up with our bus transfer to Mendoza. The rooms were nice and clean with great views of the lake.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Paula is great. She tries to make your stay the best. They have good bread for breakfast. Actully the only place in our 6 weeks trip that had good bread. Rooms are big, but bathroom a bit small. Then it was not very clean, we had big dust balls coming out from under the bed. The shelves were very dusty. I pointed that out and I think the cleaners got a reminder. Otherwise it is a very good place!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Bariloche at this hotel. Luis and Paula are gracious and lovely hosts. They were very helpful in making reservations and providing bus tickets. The breakfast was excellent, especially the scrambled egg! Luis was very helpful in making reservations for us and providing bus tickets. The room was well appointed with a beautiful view. I would highly recommend this spa hotel to anyone visiting Bariloche.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay in Bariloche thanks to our great hosts Luis and Paula at the Altuen Hotel. First of all, they are located on the main road in Bariloche, overlooking the lake (amazing views from our room's balcony), and they are walking distance to a few really good restaurants. We did the 7 lakes drive one day, and Luis prepared a map for us and prepped us for a full day of driving. He also arranged for us to golf at Llao Llao, and was incredibly helpful. Luis and Paula were very welcoming and warm, and we had a great stay with them!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband, adult daughter and self stayed at this delightful hotel. The view from our room was exquisite, beds were comfy and the breakfasts were very enjoyable. My husband still raves about the quality of Luis' scrambled eggs - for me his freshly baked bread each morning was a delight! Even more important was how friendly and helpful both Luis and Paula were. They booked a tour, made phone calls on our behalf, recommended restaurants and we had some delightful chats - what an interesting lady Paula is!! We did not have a car, but that wasn't a problem. Tours collect from the door, cabs are available and there is an amazing restaurant just across the road. We made our choice to stay there based on Trip Adviser reviews and highly recommend this lovely hotel and couple to anyone travelling to Bariloche.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Paula and Luis went out of their way to make our stay just perfect.
The breakfast was a great way to start the morning with homemade bread and eggs, fresh marmalades and croissants – by far the best breakfast we had in Patagonia.
The room was a bit small but in perfect condition (looks brand new) and very comfortable, with amazing view of the lake.
But the biggest advantage of this hotel is the hospitality of Paula and Luis. They made us feel most welcomed and did everything to be our "home away from home". We would definitely recommend on this hotel to all of our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Address: Avenida Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.