We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful base to explore bariloche with great owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa to your Saves list
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful base to explore bariloche with great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Luis and Paula are the most fantastic hosts for what is a great hotel in a beautiful area. Simple clean rooms with the most beautiful views and access to the beach (and its chilly waves). Would highly recommend doing the Chico circuit route on bikes - if you get a good day it is incredible and without doubt our most enjoyable day in argentina. enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    35
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
108
225
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Altuen was our first stop on a 30 day trip to Argentina and Brazil and what a wonderful way to start our trip. Paula and Luis could not have been nicer and what great bread Luis made every morning for breakfast. They both made us feel very welcome and at home.

We had a spectacular view of the lake from our balcony. Our room was clean and nice sized with plenty of hot water and as many bath towels as you may need. The hotel itself was immaculate.

The Altuen is situated somewhat out of the city but is on the bus line which makes it very easy to get to all the sights. The hotel sells bus tickets and the bus stop is just a short walk away. There are several great restaurants within walking distance and if you want to go into the town they will call a taxi for you. The taxis are not expensive so that is not a problem.

If you want a boutique hotel with A-one service, you will want to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I have been around the world and have never felt so much at home as when we stayed at the Altuen Hotel in Bariloche. Our room had a beautiful view of the lake and it was spacious, very clean and bright. Luis and Paula have to be the most wonderful hosts we've ever encountered, they organize for us great excursions and recommended outstanding restaurants in the area. We felt pampered at all times, they even made cook to order breakfast a warm experience. They made you feel like long time friends. We truly enjoyed the Jacuzzi Spa with a glass of wine while enjoying the fantastic view of the lake. This is the place to stay in Bariloche

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 4 night stay in the Altuen hotel. Paula and Luis went out of their way to make us feel at home. They were extremely helpful with organising excursions, rent-a-car and restaurant tips. We had a beautiful room with a stunning view from the balcony. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Altuen - it is situated on the main road about 8km out of Bariloche, but that is no issue, as there are many excellent restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel - al of which hosts Paula and Luis can recommend.

Paula and Luis are the most charming hosts - a super warm welcome and greeting - and the friendliness and warm hospitality continued throughout our short 3 days stay there. Nothing was too much trouble, Luis helping us plan our day trips in the car we'd hired (though a word of warning, don't take Luis' suggested direct route from St Martin de los Andes to Bariloche, the road is awful, it ripped apart one of our tires and that of a car coming the other direction!). On leaving we got a hug and a kiss and were reminded that we always had 2 friends in Bariloche. We were genuinely sorry to leave.

The rooms have comfortable beds and are simply furnished - the upstairs rooms have a balcony with amazing views over the lakes - with the long summer days the rooms were bright and it was hard to draw yourself away from the stunning views. A perfect place to end the day with a glass of wine on the balcony. The bathrooms also functioned well - and were spacious and not cramped.

Breakfast is the standard Argentinian fare, with the exception of the lovely freshly baked bread each morning - you could smell it from your room and was a nice added touch.

In short, an excellent choice if you're staying in the area - far nicer in every respect than staying in Bariloche itself.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a view of the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

From the moment I stepped into Altuen Hotel I felt at home with the warm and friendly hospitality of the beautiful owners Paula and Luis. The hotel is in a very good location with absolutely breathtaking views of the lake and mountains. The rooms were clean and I especially enjoyed the bed which was very comfortable. It was a truly wonderful experience and I'm looking forward to my next trip with friends next year!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want the B&B experience to include fabulous owners, this is definitely a place to stay. The owners are kind and very interested in making your experience in Bariloche as good as possible. They gave great recommendations for restaurants and activities and helped us book when needed. They also assisted in getting us bus passes which were nice to have; however, the hotel is well located so we often stayed within walking distance.

Our room was on the upper level and faced the lake, and the views were stunning. The hotel is very simple, but very nice and incredibly clean and safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#3 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#2 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#10 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#5 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#36 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#29 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Address: Avenida Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 137 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.