We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place & hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa to your Saves list
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Avenida Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth
1 review
“Charming place & hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a charming little hotel....managed by a very warm & caring couple, Paula & Luis.
The Views are beautiful . I loved spending time on the balcony overlooking the Nahuel-Huapi lake.
Paula & Luis add a personal touch to everything. The freshly baked bread at breakfast was delectable! The rooms are very tidy and cosy.
Paula & luis were very helpful in suggesting itineraries and booking excursions..they also suggested restaurants serving great food walking distance from the hotel.
Overall our stay was wonderful..I would definitely recommend this impressive little hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    33
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
190
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wingene, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Immediately when I arrived, I was welcomed very warmly by Luiz and Paola. It was more or less like being home: cosy rooms with lake view terrace, clean bathroom and functional wifi (very rare in South-America). The breakfast was fresh and delicious. But what makes this place special is the interaction with Luiz and Paula. You can talk to them, and they will help you, just like friends. I have stayed on my trip in probably more than 25 hotels and hostels, but this one sticks out, head and shoulders. Highly recommended! Ciao, Steven

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a small boutique hotel that has a warm and friendly feel to it. We were upgraded from a Park View room to a Lake View room and the views were amazing. Paula and Luis are great hosts, helping with all of our excursions and even tracking down the scarf I left on the bus. The rooms are well appointed, extremely clean and the breakfast was wonderful especially the the hot homemade bread each morning. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a beautiful and magical place. During the days I could relax in the balcony looking at the calm blue lake, with mountains on the background. During the nights, I could look at the stars for hours. The rooms are clean, convenient and comfortable. The service and attention in the hotel is excellent. The breakfast was very good too.

The reason for my trip was business. This was my last stop of my 2 week traveling in South America, and was exactly what I needed after a lot of stress. It was easy to relax and enjoy the nature in Bariloche. I also highly recommend the restaurant close to the hotel, Las Morillas, which serve delicious food.

Location is convenient. Not too far from the airport and the city. Close to the CNEA (National Atomic Center)

The only negative comment I have is that there is no AC, that I could find at least.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that have the balcony on the lake side. Its magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The Altuen is everything the other reviews tell you and more. From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel incredibly welcome by Luis and Paola in a warm yet subtle way that I have not experienced anywhere else. The room was spotless, the bed huge and the view from the balcony to die for. The location is excellent, we dined within walking distance at a different restaurant each of the four nights we were there, and the main bus route to all the touristy spots runs past the hotel. A truly delightful stay, strongly recommended to all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This delightful gem has it all. Paula and Luis are over the top as hosts in their desire to please and make your stay great. Paula arranged a door to door car rental, greeted us with croissants, chocolates and kiss on the cheek. Luis helped us use their computer so that we could Skype with our family back home and even drew personal maps to help us plan our daily excursions. Every arrival or departure was greeted personally. We felt like loved family from our first moments at the hotel until we left.

The hotel location is excellent with a lovely view of Lake Nahuel Huapi from the rooms and a number of good restaurants are within walking distance. Rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable.

For those who would like it, upon request, the oversized spa on the first floor will be heated for a relaxing soak or a massage will be arranged in the room next door.

Breakfast includes homemade bread, jams, dulce de leche, fruits, juice, yogurt, coffee and assorted sweets. Since dinner is always very late in Argentina (restaurants open at 8 pm and we seldom saw other diners before 9 pm) a continental breakfast feels just right in the morning.

We very highly recommend a stay at the Altuen.
Rita and Bob Shapiro

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were staying at the Altuen a couple days right at the beginning of 2012 with our two little boys. We loved the room, the location and also the services offered. And yes, Carla & Luis are wonderful hosts as many previous reviewers have said. Paula actually managed to get us a Ford Ecosport suited for Patagonian gravel roads through one of her acquaintances when basically all local rental car agencies had none available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Address: Avenida Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.