We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gabbiano

Il Gabbiano
Avenue Bustillo | Llao Llao, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
+54 2944 448 346
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sao Paulo De Olivenca, AM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The place is cozy and very homey. Service was very good. The food very good. We split pasta and also a meat, ojo de bife that came very juicy and already cut into slices. Was excellent. Dessert was also excellent. Very far from our hotel but very good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    58
    20
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best meal in Bariloche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We went to this Italian restaurant on the suggestion of the front desk at our hotel. It is a quiet restaurant with several separate rooms. Very comfortable decor and seating.
Our waiter spoke english.
There is a chalk board menu of all of dishes for the night. We were told that the restaurant has been open for 29 years.
Very good wine list and the prices are very reasonable.
The two pasta dishes we ordered were excellent! The appetizers were also very good. All prepared fresh.
This was one of the best meals we have had in Argentina and I certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a good italian meal in a warm and inviting atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Excellent dinner and the US $ exchange rate made for a very reasonable cost. Atmosphere was soothing and wine great - but then hard to find bad wine in Argentina.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best meal of my trip to South America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I arrived in Bariloche after an 18 hour bus ride from Mendoza. I was fortunate to be staying steps away at the immaculate Hosteria Katy. Dare I say I was hungry and thirsty and in need of a relaxing meal. What a great treat on all fronts! I enjoyed testing my new found knowledge of Mendoza wines on the very affordable wine list, I had the trout from the lake with delicious braised endive. The service was wonderful. I was able to connect with other travelers who helped my with my onward plans. The décor of the restaurant was warm and cozy. Let me end by saying I am a budget traveler and this meal was worth every peso! (ps though I paid with US dollars).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Europe in Bariloche-a charming gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Il Gabbiano was a delightful surprise starting with a warm welcome into the relatively small, eclectic and charming (but not kitsch) interior composed of several small, intimate rooms.. The menu is primarily Italian- influenced, including home made pastas, a proprietary and excellent (Argentinian) olive oil made expressly for the owners, and locally sourced herbs, lake trout, etc. We had simple starters of a caprese salad with excellent burratta and a tasty mixed green salad, followed by ravioli stuffed with spinach and cooked with an herb butter sauce and, last but not least, osso bucco with plenty of marrow. Limited but good wines by the glass + a longer bottle and reserve list. Service was first-rate: friendly, knowledgeable and professional. This is a "cash only" restaurant, but very reasonable given the excellent quality. Great " value for money".

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gabbiano also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Il Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Gabbiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.