We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Petit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Peninsula Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Av. Campanario 493, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Caledon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We had problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Despite its location on the Lake and breathtaking lake views from the room, we found its location problematic. All is well during the day but at night it is difficult to find this hotel on the dark, unlighted and unpaved road it sits on. They didn't have front lights on and we infact got lost just trying to find it at night. The hosts are superb but they cannot make up for the shorfall in staffing so that the hotel lobby is not manned at night and we are talking about 10-11 PM not 3 AM. Yet service is excellent, the hosts gracious and you will get very many useful tips during your stay.

We found their breakfast lacking as compared to our experience in other hotels. We also have issue with the basics in the room. The bathroom had no exhaust and the room had no window so you can imagine the problems that would create.

Since Bariloche is situated all along the lake with hotels dotting it, we realized it is better to stay in downtown where shopping, restaurants and moneychangers are rather than so far away. Lake view is only relevant if you are not planning any excursion on the lake itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    72
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
101
314
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed at some pretty good places in Arg on our 2 week vacation --this was the best.
pluses:
picturesque location on the banks of Nahuel Huapi lake with a quiet private beach
aesthetic deco in lobby and breakfast room with large windows framing the view
awesome breakfast spread
spacious, well appointed room
friendly staff who gave us a bus card and booked trips to Tronador and the cruise to Bosque del Arrayanas and isla Victoria and arranged an early breakfast
owner's dog who greeted us daily and escorted us to the beach--we loved him

all these came at a very reasonable price

we sent back the bus card loaded with some 40 pesos through our taxi driver who they had arranged to drop us at the airport at the fair price of 180 pesos

they gave us a decent exchange on our american dollars when we made payment which was the icing on the cake

one small suggestion---fix the hot water, guys... it's a shame to make so much water run.

we were here from Dec 7--11 and would love to stay here again if we ever return to Arg

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Breathtaking views from the lounge, the restaurant and room number 8. The typical architecture of southern Argentina enhances the beauty of this private boutique hotel where you can feel at home. The young, friendly team led by Pablo Pisman boasts a unique combination of European efficiency and southern warmth.
All in all, an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Room 8 has the most superb view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Even in a country of consistently friendly service, this place stood out from the norm: absolutely nothing (including offering a lift to the airport - a 90min round trip - when our taxi didn't arrive) was too much trouble! Moreover, it's a very well designed little place, with a dozen or so rooms, all with views over the lake and privacy despite the picture windows, a nice lounge, terraces, private small beach. We loved the location 20km out of Bariloche which is perfect for cycling, hiking etc and the 'port' for lake trips. Frequent buses get you back to town, if you must (while the town itself sits in a pretty location, the real focus of outdoor activities is mainly to the west). We also had some very good food from the kitchen (excellent meat, empenadas, breakfast), although the little cafe/restaurant could benefit from going upmarket a notch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Me and my couple spend the last week of 2013 at the Petit Hotel. The view from the lobby and the fireplace is awesome, you can see the cristal clear water of the lake and the surronding mountains, it feels like when The Simpson Family arrive to Alaska. The bedrooms are big and quiet. The carpet is not clean or dont look clean for me. The wall behind the bed has water stains. The bathroom is very nice and clean and has a very nice view as well.

The hotel staff is very nice, specially a girl and young boy that work in the morning shift. I bought a present to them in return of their hospitality. The breakfast is good.

The only negative point of the hotel is the smell of the dogs. They have a dog that takes sunbath in the entrance of the hotel every morning and leaves a nauseous edor at the main door of the hotel. That dog need a soap and water bath urgent! no more sunbath please or at least keep it away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Glad to see the other reviewers agree! If you are considering going to Bariloche for 2-4 days, we highly recommend you book at Peninsula Petit. The location is gorgeous, the staff provided great service, breakfast was delicious, and the staff can help you plan a great trip!

You might want to rent a car because Bariloche is so big and the hotel isn't downtown, but not a necessity!

Thanks to Pablo and Samantha!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

About 15 minutes outside of downtown Bariloche, this hotel is set on a peninsula overlooking the lake, and with views of the mountains. Our room was fine - no frills, but cute and generously sized, with a fairly large bathroom. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay here, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Petit Hotel

Address: Av. Campanario 493, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peninsula Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.