We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - amazing views, breakfast and impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Peninsula Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Av. Campanario 493, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - amazing views, breakfast and impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really cannot recommend this hotel enough. It has a great location outside of Bariloche with stunning views over the lake and mountains. The staff are the most friendly and helpful I've experienced anywhere in South America. They spent at least half an hour sorting out a rental car for us, when it looked like there weren't any available anywhere in the town, booked and arranged for bikes to be dropped off for us to do an excursion, lent us a local bus card, booked us a restaurant, gave us a lift to the restaurant when there weren't any taxis...just incredible. And very gracious and polite too.

The breakfast is great, all sorts of meats, cheese, breads, fruits, nuts, fresh juices. They also have a small beach and waterfront area and what look like kayaks to use. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Ours also had a great lake view.

You should really go and stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    78
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
117
352
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, special people - this now ranks as one of my all time favourites. Why - because they manage that tricky balance of relaxed but efficient service and casual yet stylish environment. Coupled with a fantastic location you have a winning combination. Well done Samanta and team.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERUSALEM
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed they for 5 nights.
Rooms view the lake, it's perfect.
The view from the reception hall is divine! Sit there and relax.
Rooms could use a change of decor...
For us location was great since it is off bariloche, but beware if you don't have a car you are a bit locked there. You need a bus and you walk to the bus station on a dusty road.
They have their own beach. Very cute.
Stuff are willing to help.
They had a mistake and didn't reserve us our last night there do they had to move to another hotel. They paid the extra rate. It turned out good, and they really tried to help. But...
There breakfast is WOW!
Dinner is not so good, there are other restaurants you can go.
All in all the view is one of the reasons you should spend your time there, and it is a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beautiful, quiet, garden and lakeside setting with intimate private beach on crystal clear lake with access to sit on top kayaks. Wonderful views from the rooms. Gracious owners and staff. Reasonably priced. Rental car recommended for this location. Near Bariloche music camp, a miniature Tanglewood , which happened to offer a spectacular chamber free chamber concert and reception one of the nights we were there. The hotel is a short drive from the wonderful Butterfly Restaurant- a must do. Nearby regional park for a nice hike. Reasonably priced restaurant on the premises but we did not try it. Only negative was a stained but otherwise clean rug.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilia Romagna
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel and we enjoyed it even more because, having stayed in high season, the city of Bariloche was so noisy and crowded and this place was a perfect hideaway. It is just as it looks in the pictures. The rooms are clean and well furnished and the breakfast is excellent. The personnel is very helpful for any explanation or suggestion you might need. The one and only disadvantage: they do not accept credit cards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great, I mean, the views are spectacular from any room, lobby or restaurant.
The service is excellent and the rooms are great.
What I didn't like:
1 In the lobby there is a persistent bad smell coming form the bathroom.
2 The wifi is very poor or non existent in the rooms.
3 The hot water takes like 5 to 10 minutes to come when you open the faucets, they told us so but it is annoying and a tremendous waste of water.
4 They don't accept credit cards, only cash.
5 it's on a dirt road a good 25 minutes drive from downtown

The restaurant offers a very good breakfast and at night the Italian chef cooks good dinners, but light quantities and a little bit expensive, you eat better for less in the many restaurants in downtown.

I wish I could give a better ratting because the place is nice, but to get 5 stars they have to improve things.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel in late Nov, 2012. It's one of the most pleasant stops of our 24-day trip in Argentina this year. We wish we could stay longer.

1. People
The managers and staff were very warm and helpful prior to our arrival and during our stay. They speak decent English. We also had the car rental promotion provided by the hotel, with which we were very happy. One note, most of the rental cars in Argentina are manual. Also, you may want to ask in details what kind of cars you would like, such as size, A/C, insurance coverage, etc.

2. Location
Like other mentioned, the hotel is 20km from the center of Bariloche. It's pretty straight forward to get there if you have a car. Buses are available as well. It's only a short and beautiful drive to town, plenty of restaurants and markets. Personally, I prefer this hotel than some others in town. It's quieter and with much better view. Within walking distance, there is also a little convenience store. It is quite close to Cerro Campanario where you can take a lift up and have an overview of the lakes with breathtaking views. A must do I'd say.

3. Room and breakfast (please see the photos I added -- the view from the hotel with the owners' dog Newen, and a snapshot of the breakfast)
The room had a spectacular view. It has all the necessities: a simple pamphlet with all you need to know about the hotel, modern bathroom, mini fridge, closet, extra blanket, TV and with free DVDs. Apparently, typical breakfast is composed of coffee and croissant in Argentina. However, we were very happy with the breakfast at Petit. It is continental style and we had plenty.

4. Hospitality and price
I cannot say enough good things about the managers. This is not a 5 star hotel by any means, but the value and people made it a fantastic stay for us.

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Petit Hotel

Address: Av. Campanario 493, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Peninsula Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.