We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff makes this a luxury hotel to remember.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa to your Saves list
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
San Juan, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful staff makes this a luxury hotel to remember.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What sets Hotel Charming apart from other luxury hotels is the very kind, helpful, and friendly staff. They also have a spectacular view, delicious food, and comfortable rooms. If you get the massage in your room, make sure there is an opening for your head on the massage table!

Room Tip: All have a good view from the balcony, but check to see how the view is from the room itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    76
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
167
501
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Charming is an ideal place to stay when enjoying what Bariloche has to offer. It sits in a great position on the lake, meaning we had stunning views from our room and giving the hotel a really relaxing feel. Although it is situated slightly outside of the city itself, it is only a 10-minute drive to the centre, with a taxi costing 100 pesos and buses running frequently. We considered the location a real benefit because it allowed us to escape the bustle of the centre and enjoy the stunning natural surroundings more.

The style isn't usually what myself and my wife would consider as being to our tastes, as it is designed similarly to a traditional ski lodge (so lots of dark wood), but this is a minor personal thing and each of the lodges is furnished to a high standard, providing good amenities. They kindly upgraded us to a larger room as it was our honeymoon, so we were given an apartment with a bedroom on the mezzanine level, which was incredibly spacious and comfortable. The jacuzzi bath overlooking the lake was also a nice touch.

On top of this, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay, particularly Roberto on front desk. He gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and provided some really useful information for outings and restaurants (we would highly recommend Alto El Fuego for great steak). The breakfast was also one of the best we enjoyed during our time in Argentina, offering a good variety of breads and pastries, as well as extras like bacon, scrambled eggs, omelettes and waffles.

We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Charming to anyone staying in Bariloche and would definitely return if we visit the area again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Everything well arranged with very high comfort level. Nice, spacious but still cozy and comfortable rooms with fantastic bed. Direct access to the beach, beautiful view on the lake, good overall service by all staff members. All necessary info given with a smile. Bus stop in front of hotel to bring you in 15 minutes to the center.
Two topics for improvement :
- Airport - hotel transfer inlcuded in offer
- WIFI to be improved

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was an amazing experiece. The rooms were beautiful and this hotel has an amazing view. Highly recommended. They have great staff and great services.

I just found the restaurant a little weak, I mean the food was delicious, but the menu was short.

This hotel is a must if you are planning to go to Bariloche

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge has a great location - around 6 miles north of the too touristy city. With great views and quiet, it punched my ticket for what I seek when relaxing on a vacation. Front desk helpful, hospitable with great English, if your Spanish is rusty and/or lacking.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Charming Suite for our honeymoon. It had a beautiful view and charming wooden suite with a steam room and sauna. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and funny! The restaurant has great food. Definitely worth the stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bariloche was the third and final leg of our 10-day trip to Argentina to celebrate my 50th birthday. Charming Lodge looked and sounded absolutely beautiful, and it was! It is cleverly designed in mostly apartment-style units (well-suited for families), some of which can be subdivided into separate rooms and/or suites. Our travel agency booked us a suite; unfortunately the description of the suite did not match what we got. On the Charming website, the detailed descriptions are very clear but broken down by size=amenities. The description we received from the travel agency went with the website's general "spa in every room," so we were expecting the double jacuzzi with lake view, sauna, Scottish/Finnish shower, terrace overlooking the lake, wood-burning stove, etc.
When we arrived, we were put in a very small room (we had to move the furniture around in order to make our open suitcases accessible) with a beautiful view but none of the other amenities we expected. We showed the description we were given to the desk manager, who was very nice and tried to be accommodating. He moved us to a larger room which gave us plenty of space, but still just a standard bathroom and no wood stove. We did try to use the sauna by the pool, but there were no instructions and it was not on. The hot tubs by the pool were functioning (jets), but the water was cold, so that was another disappointment.
They did upgrade us to a master suite with all the amenities for the last night (my actual birthday), which was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The wifi was free, but it forced "checking in" on Facebook if you wanted to do anything more than email. Annoying.
The restaurant is very good; we had dinner there one night (delicious!) and breakfast all three days was wonderful.
The views are spectacular.

Room Tip: Be sure you know exactly which type of suite you are booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, Gerente at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. Your compliments regarding your stay and the service you received are truly appreciated.
Unfortunately we were in high season and could not upgrade all of your stay to meet your expectations.
Sometimes agencies give out the wrong information misleading customers as in your case. We are very sorry for this and do thank you for your review and are very glad that you still enjoyed your stay with us.
Warm regards
Tiziana Mongiardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.