We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST of Bariloche!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa to your Saves list
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST of Bariloche!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I just got back to NY from our week long stay at Charming and we could not have been happier with the hotel.

The name of this boutique hotel is truly justified as it is nothing short of charming. Aside from the impeccable amenities, such as in-room sauna, steam and jacuzzi overlooking the lake, as well as a parilla oven in the kitchen, the staff at this hotel are nothing short of spectacular.

These are people that truly take pride in their craft and all of their recommendations for food, things to do, or activities on the mountain were perfection. Especially the recommendation to eat at Butterfly, which was an outstamding meal and restaurant a 2 minute walk down the road from the hotel. Not to mention the amazing breakfast.

Bottom line, if you are planning a trip to Bariloche do yourself a favor and stay at Charming for an unforgettable experience in Patagonia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    82
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
184
560
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
517 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

While i immensely enjoyed my stay i do have small qubbles, soap and oils for steam room not replaced once used. curtains dont close and its most obvious as they are hanging off their pins so in order to keep light out i pinned it up-
one night and knotted it up the next check in time is 1:00 and I wa s waiting to 4:30 needs fine tuning but a lovely place

Room Tip: i think every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review.
We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Oils and soap should have been replaced with each cleaning. Although check-in is at 3pm, we acknowledge that we were late in providing your room.
Thank you for bringing to light these details--we are always looking to improve our guest's experience in any way we can.
Best Regards,
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustace, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during January and enjoyed spending early summer mornings and afternoons soaking in the awesome lake and mountain views from the perfectly located balconies at Charming Lodge. Having cocktails on our deck, watching the sunset, followed by pre-diner fun in our private spa...all together, a marvelous experience.
We booked the Charming Suite with a private spa. My husband and I have travelled to more than 75 countries and stayed in countless hotels...this one had possibly the best bathroom of all.
The hotel service was superb. The Front Desk team helped us manage our LAN reservations, took care of our laundry, made dinner reservations, bought bus tickets for us so we could go exploring in town and hired a private driver so we could go explore the lakes and mountains. While exploring with our driver, we stopped at Llao Llao for lunch - and were really glad we had decided to stay at the Charming Lodge.
The hotel offered a simple but delicious breakfast. We ate lunch at the hotel and it, too, was good.
If you have a choice and its in your budget, while in Bariloche, don't stay anywhere but the Charming Lodge. It is wonderful.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in the Charming Suite with Private Suite...ahhhhhh, sigh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you took full advantage of the Private Spa. We are honored to be considered a choice hotel by worldly travellers as yourselves.
We invite you to experience Bariloche again soon, perhaps in the winter time (July/August). Charming is always happy to see returning guests.
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review.

Best regards,
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

It is a real five star lodge amazingly boosted by a wonderful landscape.
Only thing to improve is the climate control in the room. I did not manage to get a confortable temperature, the room was always warm like when you are under a summer sun.
The staff was quite helpful to us. We had a medical problem and they did not hesitate in helping us to contact the health insurance.
For sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind review, and I am happy the staff was attentive to your needs.
Thank you for bringing attention to the climate control. That is a maintenence issue we will look into.
We look forward to better accomodating you in the future. Your stay is always welcome and appreciated.

Best regards,
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Hi,

My wife and I stayed at Charming per 4 nights. The localization is excellent, you can see the lake from many places, wonderful visual. So, about the distances, I spent 30 min from airport to hotel (about 170 pesos by taxi). From the hotel to center, it's about 10 minutes (64 pesos by taxi or 30 pesos by remise). The restaurant is very good, you can see the lake, listen to good music, all things in coffe break were delicious and very well made, but the menu was the same. We ate truta, ravioli and lomo, very good too. So, the employees are very atencious, sympathic and very helpful. The hotel is very clear and it has a good structure, exactly you can see on the web site.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to know that you loved staying with us. I will pass your comment along to all the team.
We would be very pleased to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Great stay at this lovely and comfortable hotel by the lake - amazing scenery! The staff was kind and helpful at all times. Also, hotel restaurant was a very pleasant experience. Hard to leave this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review and for your kind words. We hope to host you again in the near future.
All the best
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The pictures that you see doesn't do it justice. When I read all the other positive reviews, I thought it might be an exaggeration. But its not. It truly is as good as they say. Both our room and the scenery are so much more than we expected. The staff are friendly and most helpful with everything. Do try their restaurant cause the two dinners that I had there were the best during my 2 weeks in Argentina. I also enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. The variety of our daily breakfast spread was most satisfactory. What I liked most was their freshly baked goods every morning. A definite value for money. My only regret is not having spent more days in Bariloche.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words about Charming Lodge. We do try very hard to make sure that everything is great for you during your stay. It is so wonderful to hear that you loved the room, the scenery, the restaurant, breakfast , our friendly staff. I have passed your kind comment along to all the team.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Bariloche.

Warm regards,

Tiziana Mongiardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#10 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#5 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#36 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nido del Condor Resort & Spa
Nido del Condor Resort & Spa
#30 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#29 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.