We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa to your Saves list
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impressive location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It is a real five star lodge amazingly boosted by a wonderful landscape.
Only thing to improve is the climate control in the room. I did not manage to get a confortable temperature, the room was always warm like when you are under a summer sun.
The staff was quite helpful to us. We had a medical problem and they did not hesitate in helping us to contact the health insurance.
For sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind review, and I am happy the staff was attentive to your needs.
Thank you for bringing attention to the climate control. That is a maintenence issue we will look into.
We look forward to better accomodating you in the future. Your stay is always welcome and appreciated.

Best regards,
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    61
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
142
432
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Hi,

My wife and I stayed at Charming per 4 nights. The localization is excellent, you can see the lake from many places, wonderful visual. So, about the distances, I spent 30 min from airport to hotel (about 170 pesos by taxi). From the hotel to center, it's about 10 minutes (64 pesos by taxi or 30 pesos by remise). The restaurant is very good, you can see the lake, listen to good music, all things in coffe break were delicious and very well made, but the menu was the same. We ate truta, ravioli and lomo, very good too. So, the employees are very atencious, sympathic and very helpful. The hotel is very clear and it has a good structure, exactly you can see on the web site.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to know that you loved staying with us. I will pass your comment along to all the team.
We would be very pleased to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Great stay at this lovely and comfortable hotel by the lake - amazing scenery! The staff was kind and helpful at all times. Also, hotel restaurant was a very pleasant experience. Hard to leave this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review and for your kind words. We hope to host you again in the near future.
All the best
Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The pictures that you see doesn't do it justice. When I read all the other positive reviews, I thought it might be an exaggeration. But its not. It truly is as good as they say. Both our room and the scenery are so much more than we expected. The staff are friendly and most helpful with everything. Do try their restaurant cause the two dinners that I had there were the best during my 2 weeks in Argentina. I also enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. The variety of our daily breakfast spread was most satisfactory. What I liked most was their freshly baked goods every morning. A definite value for money. My only regret is not having spent more days in Bariloche.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words about Charming Lodge. We do try very hard to make sure that everything is great for you during your stay. It is so wonderful to hear that you loved the room, the scenery, the restaurant, breakfast , our friendly staff. I have passed your kind comment along to all the team.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Bariloche.

Warm regards,

Tiziana Mongiardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We ended our trip to southern Argentina at the Charming Lodge and couldn't have asked for a better finale to our trip. Comfort, hospitality, good food and an amazing view of the lake. And walking distance to two great local restaurants. Wish we had saved a little extra time to spend there!

Room Tip: The lake view makes it all worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a big pleasure hosting you at Charming Lodge. I am glad to know that you really enjoyed staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
All the best
Tiziana Mongiardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Suggest upgrade to bar facility. You could make a lot more money from cocktails and custom. Beautiful location, friendly staff & fantastic view and heated pool. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Was made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback following your stay with us.
I'm was pleased to read that you found our service to be warm and friendly.
All the best
Tiziana Mongiardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We decided to stay at Charming mainly on the basis of its excellent Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Even before we arrived we were very impressed - we were having difficulty finding a rental car which was sufficiently large for 4 of us plus luggage (for a month!), so when we had an e-mail from Charming asking if there was anything they could od to help us, we raised the issue. Whilst they were not able to work miracles, they came up with a car which was (just about) big enough, with an option to have a bigger one if it became available. This was after quite a number of phone calls and e-mails!

When we arrived we were stunned by the position of the hotel (although the drive-way down from the main road is a bit of a shock!) - we were lucky with the weather most of the four days we were there, and the views were absolutely stunning. The rooms are all different and many of them have saunas and/or spas - we were offered an upgrade when we arrived, but did not take it as we were planning to be out a lot of the time.

Then we come to the reception staff who had already impressed us over the car hire issue - they were all brilliant. They advised us on the weather for a planned boat trip into the Andes, the booking of tickets for the trip, advising on restaurants, checking on flight times for the flight at the end of our time there - Argentine airlines seem to regularly change flight times usually by only a few minutes, but occasionally by as much as an hour! Everything was done promptly and with good humour and with generally excellent English - superb.

The food for breakfast and in the restaurant for dinner was also very good - nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong - as far as I am aware all the rooms have phenomenal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiziana M, Manager at Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review we greatly appreciate your comments.

It was our pleasure to take care of you and I am delighted that you were well looked after. We pride ourselves on our very high level of service and I am thrilled that you felt your welcome was warm and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Yours sincerely

Tiziana Mongiardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.