We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Get Any Better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Save Saved
You added Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Doesn't Get Any Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

From the moment you drive down the (rather steep) driveway, you will be completely blown away! There is not a better location! The views from every part of the property are just amazing. After recovering from the views, you will then be further blown away by the staff and level of service. We were very warmly greeted Maria Jose, who is just a gem! She was not only helpful during the check-in process but during our entire stay. She always has a smile on her face and will go out of her way. And the service doesn't stop there. Every staff member we dealt with went above and beyond. Santiago and Javier were extremely helpful in helping us find some amazing restaurants and give us advice on what to see. We were also fortunate enough to meet Alberto and Tiziana, the owner and the manager. They were so friendly and helpful that I felt more like I was staying with friends rather than at a hotel!

We were lucky enough to stay in the Charming Suite. WOW is the best way to describe it. It was spacious, clean and the bathroom was to-die-for! It has a dry sauna, a steam shower and jacuzzi tub (with an amazing view!). Not only that, it is built into the side of the hill with exposed volcanic rock in the shower, behind the vanity and in the toilet room! We spent as much time in our "private spa" as we did in the actual room! This is THE room to have.

There are just not enough adjectives to describe this place! From the views to the service, it just doesn't get any better than this. As a matter of fact, we had reservations at another hotel in Villa de Angustera but ended up coming back to Charming. When we arrived at the other hotel, it just didn't even compare to Charming. I called and Maria Jose advised us that they (fortunately) had room for us for 2 more nights but not in the same room. We didn't care, we just wanted to be back. When we got to the hotel, Santiago had a surprise for us. They were able to give us the Charming Suite again! Needless to say, we were quite happy!

Thanks to the entire staff at Charming (including Pocho), we had an amazing time!

Room Tip: If possible, get the Charming Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    43
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
117
332
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we came for one night but decided to postponed our flight and stayed for four...
it all started with the lovely welcome from Maria Jose at the reception! followed by
Tiziana special care and topped with Alberto - the one and Only!!
at somepoint they have found out that we are in our honeymoon and although impossible - it gotten better...
Location is one of the best, rooms are owesome with some spectacular view and the food is just beautyfull.
staff were very friendly and helpfull with some important tips for Bariloche and the entire area.
Tiziana and Alberto made us feel at home to a point that it was hard to say goodbye..
we will be back to Bariloche. even if only to stay here again.
one last thing - thank you Alberto for fullfiling your dream and shared it with us!
Hagar&Elad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you think you deserve a nice, relaxing vacation, romantic or with family you should stay here. You mignt think that a private spa is too much but it isn't when you travel with your family.
The view is amazing and the hotel is very well located.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was , as it says CHARMING. Wonderful and well-kept GARDEN.
Staff , nice , CHARMING and always helpful and smiling.If we ever again go to Bariloche,
will for sure try to find room at CHARMING. Had four lovely days there, middle november
with fantastic weather.

Room Tip: The bed was to soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice stay, exellent service. Can be noisy due to wooden floors. Will stay there again any time.restaurant very good
No coffee or tea making facilities in room which should be standard in 5 star facilities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

These guys got it right. Amazing spot complimented by amazing services. Santiago, Javier, the owner Alberto with his trusteed canine Pacho put the charm in Charming!

They've organised our car rental for our trip to La Angutura and also our horse riding trip. But the icing on the cake was when Alberto decided to drop us off personally at the mountain rather than make us take the bus. Oh, did i mentioned that it was a return service! If that is not 5 star service, then dye my hair blonde and call me Gloria!

The food was excellent. Give me more barbeque lamb please!!! Breakfast was 5 star and with overlooking the Nahuel Huapi lake, even a simple bread roll tasted like a croissant!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you enjoy scenic, breathtaking vistas, spa en suite, caring staff that make you feel more at home than home, then you will LOVE Charming.

The owner, Alberto, shares with you how Charming is his dream realized. You feel the love, warmth and passion that makes Charming more than a hotel but an experience.

The lodge is built on a cliff with access to the beach. The rooms include sauna and jacuzzi tubs with scenic windows. The spa is your room! They also offer spa services such as massage and facial in your room as well. It is heavenly to have aromatherapy sauna each day.

The staff are quite helpful and ensure you have all you want and then some. They arranged all of our activities including horseback riding, renting a car to Villa La Angostura and hiking the trails near Llao Llao. We did not have a car otherwise but not a problem as they arranged taxi or even offered to drive us to a few trails on their own. Or you could sit by the heated pool and whirlpool and relax by the lake.

Evenings were enjoyed in the lodge by tHe fireplace and they have a telescope to see the million stars in the night sky.

Breakfast is included and is quite good. Eggs made to order were phenomenal in their freshness. The restaurant on site STag is Alos good and convenient when you want to stay in.

My only regret was that we could not stay longer (and we stayed for 5 nights!).

Room Tip: Get a spa room with front lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself at Charming, enjoying a private spa in the intimacy of your suite or residence, with an unbeatable view over the lake and mountains. The intelligence of its recreational architecture is generous in all of its variants. From outside this beautiful lodge has the appearance of a small alpine village, with its wooden constructions and its roofs oriented like balconies over the wood covered rocks with view over the lake and mountains. The views are really memorable, the decks of each residence or suite are almost suspended over the cliff, and down to the bottom, the Nahuel Huapi lake foams against Playa Bonita beach and the rocks of the cliff. Within the lodging options, Charming appears as a place where all arts of pleasure converge: "Private Pleasures." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.