We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable 8 night stay !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche

Save Saved
You added Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Antartida | Catedral Ski Resort, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“An enjoyable 8 night stay !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Around 300 metres from the lift base, but the hotel will shuttle you in the mornings (and probably in the afternoons....but we always walked back)
First night we had an opportuniity to join the astronomer in the sky observatory. We looked at the Milky Way, Mars and Saturn....where we could actually see the rings around Saturn !
What a way to start a ski holiday !
Our room was reasonably spacious, with slate floors and floor heating. The open fireplace was stacked with a small amount of wood each day, which we lit every morning to warm the room (the floor heat seemed insufficient in the mornings).
A large corner spa bath overlooked the mountain....which we actually used most afternoons.
Continental breakfast is actually bought to your room every morning at a pre-agreed time. And, they were punctual every day !
Our room had a small refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, pots and pans, plates and cutlery...you could easily make up a small meal (we didnt bother) . We found it much easier to order Room Service, where again these great people deliver their restaurant meals free of charge to your room. Steak 85 pesos (AUD/USD $17), salad 35 pesos (AUD/USD $7). There is a great little wine store next dooor where you can pick up great Argentian wines for around AUD/USD $8 to $20 a bottle. (Do not buy your wine from the mini market....it is a rip off.)
Galileo staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Look closely though, and there are a few "tired" fittings in the bathroom and bedroom....however these did not distract from a wonderful experience.
We were here to ski, and we really enjoyed this place !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol_canalda, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks for your review!
We are very glad you were able to enjoy your stay, the astronomer´s visit and your corner jacuzzi!
All our studio rooms have small kitchen facilities as yours and the rest have bigger fridges and kitchens, though couples hardly use them, families with children tend to use them some more.
We will carefully check your room for this little inconvenients you mention so this Studio can again meet our standards.
We look forward to hosting you again for your next ski trip. Please contact us for frequent guests discounts.
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was the best hotel I've ever been: well located (for those who want to ski, you'll be just in the middle of Cerro Catedral...is 20 km from the center, but I'd really appreciate staying near the mountains)...the acomodatins are wonderful (comfortable and warm: with floor heating, breakfast served in the room)...and the team is very kind and helpful (always helping us and giving pieces of information and advice)!
Really a great options!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol_canalda, Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks a lot for your comments. We look forward to receiving you again next year.
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I went for a ski trip!! It was steps away from Cerro Catedral.
Excellent staff. The rooms were nice and clean.
You will need taxi or car rental to go to the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol_canalda, Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
Galileo is as you said located just outside the ski slopes. You get to see them from your window.
We do encourage our future guests to contact us with flight information so we can program an airport pick up transfer. During ski season many restaurants are open in day and nightime meters away from the hotel. A small shopping mall called Terrazas is also open in winter providing ski gear, rentals, snacks, farmacy, gifts, etc. They open july through september and from 9 to 6 pm. If you visit us during peak season there is practically no need to visit Bariloche´s city. Although if you want to go, there´s a city bus, going into town every hour for less than USD2 per person each way. At the front desk we can also help you with car rentals and taxi rides.
Hope to see you again next year. We have special early bird promotions for our Club Galileo frequent guests .
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during our trip through Patagonia. The hotel was great and the staff was absolutely wonderful. They really did everything they could to make your stay worthwhile.
Also great advice on dinner locations, they made all the reservations and made sure you had a completely worry free holiday.
Lovely to have breakfast brought to your room every morning and after I once asked for fresh fruit they brought it every morning.
We stayed there in summer time but I can't wait to come back and enjoy the jacuzzi and fire place after a nice day of skiing.
Perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol_canalda, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks a lot Beatrijs for your comments
We hope to see you soon during ski season.
Be strongly believe in learning and growing listening to our guest! Thanks for giving us another opportunity
Ciao!
Maria Sol Canalda
Manager
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My review - long overdue but necessary.

Wonderful hotel. Spotlessly clean, comfortable with pure cotton linen. The rooms warm and cosy and all the staff incredibly helpful.

Great Stay for South Africans - our standards are equally high !

Thanks Galileo - we really enjoyed our stay with you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol_canalda, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments dear Jennifer
It was very nice meeting you and we hope to see you back here soon.
Kind regards from Patagonia!
Maria Sol Canalda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The junior suite was lovely with the open fire and the jacuzzi. Also the floor heating makes it super comfy but the room is usually too warm, especially at night.
Breakfast service was good, with prompt changes when asked.
The kitchen of the hotel is average.
Reception service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol_canalda, Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks a lot Michael.
We try to accomodate all our guests preferences regarding heating. at Galileo Boutique Hotel we have floor heating and temperature changes have a little delay. Please contact the front desk immediately to improve your experience.
At check in we offer our guests a breakfast menu; so they can choose their preferences and encourage them to contact us during their stay to make changes and avoid getting bored. We also Schedulle delivery time for complimentary room service breakast.
We keep working on permanently training our staff to deliver a quality service in all our departments.
Look forward to hosting you again soon
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

A lovely stay, made all the better by wonderful service - the staff even let me stay in the room past midday so that I could enjoy a full day's skiing and shower afterwards because they didn't have to prepare the room for the following day. Breakfasts were delicious and huge, rooms cosy and very warm. However, there wasn't enough hot water to properly enjoy the giant hot tubs, and the shower was a tiny bit cramped. These are quibbles in what was a lovely stay - apart from PireHue (which costs a lot more) this is an excellent choice if you want to locate yourself close to the slopes. Taxis into Bariloche cost around AP60-70.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol_canalda, Gerente at Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on Galileo Boutique Hotel. We are located at the base of Catedral Ski Resort, in Bariloche.
Studio rooms, just as every room in the hotel, have one huge water heater per room so you don't share hot water with another room.
Thanks to your observation we added one step to the check in process and we now inform our guests that they should only open the hot water tap to fill the whole hot tub instead of mixing it with cold from the beginning.
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche

Address: Av. Antartida | Catedral Ski Resort, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 130 hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in South America's most celebrated Ski resort "Cerro Catedral" in Bariloche, Galileo Boutique Apart Hotel waits for you with warm and comfortable Studios, Suites and Residences. Designed and thought through every detail, our luxurious accommodations fuse indigenous textiles and prints with the natural Alpine design of the region. All our rooms are fully equipped with cozy wood burning fireplaces, Jacuzzis, DVDs, LDC 25 or 32" TVs, DirectTV, fully equipped kitchens and all our rooms feature King Size Sommiers. We spoil or guests with a fine selection of Argentine smoked specialties and cheeses from our Wine and Tapas Bar during winter season only. Also enjoy our Sommelier's selection of boutique and well known wines from Argentine's premier winemaking regions. Our Executive Chef caters to families and foodies alike with a menu that ranges from savory ski comfort foods to high end Patagonian cuisine. Covered with snow in Winter and just 150 mt from the Ski lifts Galileo Boutique Hotel is the best option for skiers. In Summer, surrounded with Nature, favors long walks, trekking, kayak and mountain bike tours, fly fishing, rafting and golf just minutes away from the hotel. Our tailored breakfast is served room service and we also offer in room chefs, baby sitters, in room massages upon request. Galileo is the only Hotel in Patagonia Argentina featuring an Observatory with a High Resolution Telescope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Boutique Hotel Bariloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.