We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Achalay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Achalay to your Saves list
Hostel Achalay
Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
World Traveler
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at Achalay Hostel for four nights and enjoyed the hostel immensely. Its breakfast rates a 7 on my 10-point scale for healthy, nutritious breakfasts with its fresh red apples, daily homemade bread and percolated coffee and great selection of tea (adding some more varieties of fruit -- bananas, mandarin oranges, etc. -- would make the breakfast even more nutritious.)

My room was clean, quiet, came with a window that opened for fresh air and light, a large closet with shelves and it was named for Pink Floyd’s The Wall LP. How cool is that? The shower and faucet to the sink always delivered hot water. The WiFi was always fast and reliable.

Pablo and Hamid were very helpful and friendly in orienting me to Bariloche and its nearby hikes. An excellent location, just a couple blocks from two supermarkets, a couple good veggie restaurants nearby and close to the Civic Center. An excellent hostel!

Room Tip: I can highly recommend Room #7, the Pink Floyd 'The Wall' Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
44
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Achalay hostel is very nice. The location is good, pretty much in the center of Bariloche. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The dorms and bathrooms are clean. The atmosphere is great.

Probably one of my favourite hostels I´ve ever been in, and definetely a great place to stay in Bariloche.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hostel run by the friendly Pablo. You'll find whatever you need from a hostel plus a very nice atmosphere. All the staff will go out of the way to assist you in activities and tours in the area. We were lucky enough to be at the hostel during a tasty BBQ night! Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hostel is in an old house, a few minutes walk from the main square, so a great spot. The vibe is relaxed and chilled. I had a very small room, and the bathrooms were ok. Pablo, the owner was a great help, and Christian brought the energy. Fine for a few days.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay. Clean room and bathroom. Good location. Walking distance to town center. Best of all is the homemade bread and spreads for breakfast.
Thanks to Pablo for taking us touring San Martin and the seven lakes. We truly enjoyed the trip. It has very friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved it here at Achalay! Great and fun staff, really welcoming vibe and very well equiped hostel. Breakfast is yummy! We booked the double room with ensuite and it was one of the best rooms we have had during our 6 month trip! Sad to leave- thanks for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Achalay is one of the best hostel we've been staying in!
Pablo and her wife, the owners are wonderfull! The staff is great!
We had a warm welcome, lots of informations and good deals about the area.
The Rolling Stones room was really nice and comfy. The shared bathroom was very clean.
Breakfast was generous with daily home made bread, cereals, fruits and great "dulce de leche"! At any time, if you wake up at 6.00 or 11.00am!
If you can, we recommand you to try Pablo's "asado"....yummy!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Achalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Achalay

Address: Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 203 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Achalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Achalay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.