We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patanuk Lake Hostel

Save Saved
You added Patanuk Lake Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Patanuk Lake Hostel
Juan Manuel de Rosas 585, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were slightly unfortunate when we arrived in bariloche, we had booked another hostel, where upon turning up we were told the heating had broken and we would be transfered. The owner paid for the remise and sent us to Patanuk, who had not been told to expect us...

Nonetheless, we got a nice welcome, but the hostel was in the middle of rennovation works due to the low season in bariloche. We got a double room, ensuite, which was 80% renovated, but got a good discount on their normal price of a double as a result, so we were happy.

Bathroom was clean and spacious, room itself was nice, but as stated above, not completely finished, but you could tell was going to be very nice upon completion.

Common area was good, but could do with more sofas. Wifi also good, but the 2 PCs were old and slow.

Kitchen was large, but no oil available, otherwise good though. The staff cooked a very good lentil stew for a cheap price one night, which was lovely.
Breakfast was ok, normal for argentine hostels really - bread, jam and cereal. My partner and I differ on the quality. I really liked the bread, but she didn´t at all... personal taste i guess.

Staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Location on the lake front made for lovely views (when it wasnt foggy) and great view of sunrise. A couple of blocks into town.

The hostel deserves a higher rating, but as we were in the middle of renovation our experience was slightly hampered. Would stay there again, however.

travelled may 2013 as a couple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
8
24
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Patanuk for three nights with our two kids. We enjoyed so much the place, the amazing view, right on the lake, the location so close to the center of the city, and we had very good advices from the staff. The hostel It´s perfectly clean, and the breakfast includes handmade bread and jam wich our kids got addicted to... They have a bar downstairs, incredible site to enjoy a pizza at sunset time. It´s a perfect combination between a youth and a family lodge. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Patanuk hosel and would not return.
The location by the lake and the advice from friendly female hostel worker (Kiki) were definetly the highlights of the stay She was so helpful in recommending car hire companies and places to go. I don't understand how this hostel is recommended in many of the travel guides- I'm wary of these trip advisor reviews and like to give some places benefit of the doubt but not in this instance.

We initially booked into a private room for 4 persons, but the shower was broken so we were moved into a messy 6 person dorm with no curtains (with other travellers). We had to make our own bunks with old tatty sheets. I'm not sure what some of the staff actually do, as you make your beds, mop the bathroom floor, wash up after breakfast and return sheets to reception.

The bathroom and shower room was flooded, I expect they always are, with mold around the floor and the mats were soaking wet. We were given one free towel for 4 people which was small and old. we were told we would have to pay an additional $5 pesos for another towel. The hostel has flea-ridden dogs sleeping and lying on the sofas of the communal areas (which are covered in dog hair) The dog is called "rasta" which says it all...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patanuk10, Propietario at Patanuk Lake Hostel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Due to your review, we'd like to respond carefully. We are a hostel very well located, maybe the best in Bariloche, but that's n ot our only asset. We are as Our pick on Lonely Planet not only because of this, we providea very good service. We understand we cannot make everybody happy, but we think your review it's too rough on us. We accept all the ctircism because that's how we grow, this how we got till here. But we are obligated moraly to make a few comments about yours.
About the cleanning, we clean and try to keep everything perfect, but during high season it's not only on us, it's aswell the passengers duty to keep it. Some weeks we have clean passengers, taking good care of the common spaces, some others we receive very messi people, making imposible to keep it perfect. It's the hostels dinamic here, and everywhere around the world each hostel work their way. We've being in others hostels worlwide and we desagree we are that bad.
About the changing room, we thought it was the best option due to the broken shower (no one can prevent this kind of problems!) and in fact we gave you a good special price on it. We received no complains about it meanwhile you were with us, otherwise we would've considered other options for sure. We don't think is fair the comment about the lazy staff, it's not true the staff don't anything just because we don't make the beds for example, we decided to work this way after having people changing from bed to bed when we had them done at arrival time, and allmost every hostel work the same way, same with breakfast, same with the cleaning after a shower if some water falls outside the showers, anyway, we clean it anyway! but it lasts just a few seccond sometimes, it's 36 people living toghether at the same house! The staff spend their time giving instruccion on the maps, we provide information about excursions, restaurants, activities, chocolates, car rental, weather regarding the excursions (changes very fast in Patagonia) even trekking! we all walk on the mountains and there is no need to the Club Andino Office, we are cousy and warm, we interact way more than other hostels, and the treatment it's personalized.
About the dogs, we have to make our point even stronger. There are NO FLEE life in Bariloche due to the wheather, too cold for them to survie, and certanly our dogs are no ecception. We have them rescued from the street because that's a huge problem in Bariloche and we help this way. They are NOT inside all the time, NOT on the cauch all the time (they have their own cushing on the floor where they sleep at night) and we try to keep them outside during the daytime. Rasta it's very old anyway, and she could NEVER climb to the cauch, and Negrita wasn't at the hostel during your stay, anyway, everybody loves them, they are very well received because they are sweet, and Negrita even does sports with the passengers, running and swimming. Following the posts of the passengers still in touch with us, we know they love them. We understand there are people not liking the dogs, but again, even though we try by loving this activitiy and by giving our best we find the way to keep growing and learning. We got your message and we know we are gonna keep trying to be better knowing it's not possible to make EVERYBODY happy, but we think your review it's not fair, it's too extreme. Thanx anyway and we will keep working on it. We hope everybody comes back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Patanuk hostel is by far one of the funnest hostels i've ever stayed at. The first time I stayed was in 2006 and I had to come back. What a surprise to see how much has changed and in a good way!! The owners, Inaki and silvia are locals from spain and took me rock climbing for the first time.There's a bar underneath the hostel wich throws crazy 'tempranera', or early partys with local bands and djs and is situated right on the beach . ask for the drink ' especial de la noche de julieta ' in the bar and you wont be disappointed!!. The staff, esteban kiki and swami are super friendly helpful and knowledgable. For the best vibes and a clean, safe and well-priced stay its patanuk all the way. Lo ++++++++++

Room Tip: Best views from the room 4 and 5 and m 3 a bit quieter when the parties are rolling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The only good thing about the hostel is its location, because it is situated on the lake and the view is really great, but of course not from the room.
Rooms are very very simple (we had a quad), which wouldn't be a problem, but bathrooms are a disaster and pretty much disgusting. The towels look like they were used from few different people before you and not washed after that, The place is quite noisy, because there is a bar downstars.
They have a nice view to the lake, but the garden looks poor, they could at least put there some decent chairs. Unfortunately everything in this hostel looks like they just doesn't care. They have a quite good location and that's it.
Breakfast is for a hostel ok.
For the price that we paid we could get much better accommodation, but unfortunately we put to much importance on the reviews.
We certainly don't recommend this place, maybe it is acceptable for very young people, who in the first place looks for the party place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is one of the coolest. it has like a private beach on the lake. and it is also the view from your room. this hostel also has a bar downstairs and it throws cool parties. dont miss the party on wendensday! Many of the visitors are argentinian and many people from bariloche come to hang out there. the rooms are clean and nice. the service is ok i guess.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having just moved from another hostel (Penthouse 1004), it was hard for Patanuk to compete.
The lakefront location is almost the only good thing about this hostel. The breakfast was the other good thing.
The 6 bed dorm we were in was tiny and only had 2 lockers for belongings - there were 4 other lockers out in the corridor past the bathrooms. Two of the bunk beds didn't have ladders, which for the vertically challenged like myself and my friend, was a bit difficult getting in and out of the top bunks (the bottom bunks were already taken).
The beds weren't made so I made my initial one, only to be told half an hour later that someone else already had that bed. I wasn't too sure this was the truth as the bed was indeed empty when I arrived with no belongings on or near it. However, the bed I was then moved to was made up for me (I assume due to the inconvenience of me having made the previous one).
The view from the dorm was lovely, although no blinds or curtains at the windows so it was hard to sleep in once daylight hit.
The shower room is just a shower. Just the one. One shower. One toilet. Lucky the men had a separate shower room, otherwise it would have taken us all day just to get washed. The shower had a severe drainage problem in that the shower tray filled up and spilled over and by the end of the shower session, the water was running out in to the main area and toilet. My friend said she pulled out all the hair from the plug (something that the cleaners should be doing surely?) and it was much better when she was in it, but the next day it was the same, so it obviously a main drainage problem.
Various dogs seemed to live at/in the hostel. I almost fell over one who was lounging at the bottom step.
The hostel is also just a bit further out of the main area of town than I liked.
I'm not sure if this is an Argentinian thing, but we were ignored by the reception staff on our last morning. Being British, I don't like to interrupt when people are having a conversation, so I hovered for a short while for reception to notice I was waiting for assistance, but it never came. Half an hour later my friend tried the same thing but in the end we gave up. Only when we left with our backpacks on were we given the time of day. We obviously need to be rude and loud and interrupt people. Bit of a sour end to our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patanuk Lake Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patanuk Lake Hostel

Address: Juan Manuel de Rosas 585, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 128 hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patanuk is the only hostel in Bariloche with LAKE COAST and DIRECT ACCESS to the beach. Created by travelers for traveleres, it offers all the comforts of a first-line with the wave characteristic of a hostel designed to make your stay a unique experience.Our staff, bilingual and specialist sector, advise you on overything you nedd to get the most out of this magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Patanuk Lake Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patanuk Lake Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.