We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patanuk Lake Hostel

Save Saved
You added Patanuk Lake Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patanuk Lake Hostel
Juan Manuel de Rosas 585, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having just moved from another hostel (Penthouse 1004), it was hard for Patanuk to compete.
The lakefront location is almost the only good thing about this hostel. The breakfast was the other good thing.
The 6 bed dorm we were in was tiny and only had 2 lockers for belongings - there were 4 other lockers out in the corridor past the bathrooms. Two of the bunk beds didn't have ladders, which for the vertically challenged like myself and my friend, was a bit difficult getting in and out of the top bunks (the bottom bunks were already taken).
The beds weren't made so I made my initial one, only to be told half an hour later that someone else already had that bed. I wasn't too sure this was the truth as the bed was indeed empty when I arrived with no belongings on or near it. However, the bed I was then moved to was made up for me (I assume due to the inconvenience of me having made the previous one).
The view from the dorm was lovely, although no blinds or curtains at the windows so it was hard to sleep in once daylight hit.
The shower room is just a shower. Just the one. One shower. One toilet. Lucky the men had a separate shower room, otherwise it would have taken us all day just to get washed. The shower had a severe drainage problem in that the shower tray filled up and spilled over and by the end of the shower session, the water was running out in to the main area and toilet. My friend said she pulled out all the hair from the plug (something that the cleaners should be doing surely?) and it was much better when she was in it, but the next day it was the same, so it obviously a main drainage problem.
Various dogs seemed to live at/in the hostel. I almost fell over one who was lounging at the bottom step.
The hostel is also just a bit further out of the main area of town than I liked.
I'm not sure if this is an Argentinian thing, but we were ignored by the reception staff on our last morning. Being British, I don't like to interrupt when people are having a conversation, so I hovered for a short while for reception to notice I was waiting for assistance, but it never came. Half an hour later my friend tried the same thing but in the end we gave up. Only when we left with our backpacks on were we given the time of day. We obviously need to be rude and loud and interrupt people. Bit of a sour end to our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    8
    6
    14
See reviews for
11
26
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wonderful view on the lake, very friendly staff and home-made delicious beers in the bar! I stayed there about 2 weeks and at the end I felt home. Both the dorms and the private bathroom rooms are very nice (but if you want the see view choose the dorms) and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have stayed in hundreds of hostels around the world, but this one is definitely in top 3. Fantastic location just meters from the lake, beautiful surroundings, caring and helpful staff, best hideaway local bar under the hotel (with fantastic bear and happy hour).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Bolson, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Bad (shabby) common areas with wet dogs everywhere! Also, I know this is a small detail but the beds weren´t made nor did they come with fitted sheets. Nor is there sufficient space for everyone to have a locker to keep things safe in the dorms. Finally, there is a bar below the hostel which could be nice but is also incredibly loud at night. Ironically there are signs downstairs asking everyone to be quite after midnight when there is a bar below blaring music.

The kid working the night shift also had several rude friends over who kept running around and occupying the common space and then was asking everyone to go on Trip Advisor and give them a good review! Please don´t go to this hostel! Lots of other good options closer to the center and the same price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay in this hostel and was treated very well by the staff. It's right on the lake, so views from the dorm room were beautiful. The bunk beds had storage available underneath and lockers were available in the hall. Kitchen was large (though did get busy and a few more pots would be helpful ). Staff was super helpful giving tips on sights in the area and even calling around to stores for me about tent rental. English was spoken. Great atmosphere with a fire in the fireplace on a rainy day and owners mellow dogs on site. Living room with couches and dining area were good for meeting fellow travelers. Abundant homemade bread for breakfast. Wifi available. Great value. I'd love to go back again someday!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location is great! Has a great view of the lake. The staff is very friendly and helpful! The common places are very clean (the rooms not so much). There are two pet dogs, maybe for some people that could be annoying, for us it only added to the relaxed atmosphere of the place. The hostel has a bar, which holds parties a couple of days of the week, but really you don't hear any noise from the rooms.
A very homely hostel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotillo de la Adrada, Castilla y Leon, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great Location, very warm and helpfull staff, they gave us all the information about the city and excursions, aswell about the trekking areas, they all walk on the mountains and gave us some very good tips about the trails. The rooms where spacios and clean, good breakfast with everything handmade, we enojyed everything in that place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patanuk Lake Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patanuk Lake Hostel

Address: Juan Manuel de Rosas 585, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patanuk is the only hostel in Bariloche with LAKE COAST and DIRECT ACCESS to the beach. Created by travelers for traveleres, it offers all the comforts of a first-line with the wave characteristic of a hostel designed to make your stay a unique experience.Our staff, bilingual and specialist sector, advise you on overything you nedd to get the most out of this magical place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Patanuk Lake Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patanuk Lake Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.