We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, odd rules” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melipal B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Carlos de Bariloche
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melipal B&B
Save
You added Melipal B&B to your Saves list
General Roca 3588, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina (Formerly Casa de la Bella Vista)   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, odd rules”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Melipal is a "suburb" of Bariloche, very close & convenient, easy bus access; it's much quieter than in town. The B&B is a private home that rents rooms. They advertise private bath but our bath was down the hall & would not have been private if there had been guests in the other 2 rooms. Friendly owners, limited English. Breakfast was by far the best we had in Argentina: homemade strudel every morning! The odd thing is they don't give out a key to the front door, so you have to arrange your return time with them before you leave each day; otherwise they might not be there. Very inconvenient. But the room was clean & spacious & had a nice view of the lake over rooftops.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed with Norma and Alberto ( Feb 23rd - 27th ) . Lovely house with great views .
Fantastic breakfasts and even had Norma make 2 meals for us which were excellent , certainly a good cook . Can we just take this chance to say a big thankyou for all your help and suggestions during our stay and would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Melipal B & B .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Our hosts Norma and Alberto have made us feel right at home in their lovely home. The views from their panoramic windows are breathtaking, but it is the warmth and generosity with which they treat their guests which makes the stay special. Norma prepared a breakfast for us every day which consisted of pastries that would rival any great bakery, as well as homemade bread, fresh squeezed orange juice, jams, etc. The food could not have been better. Norma and her husband were also very generous with providing us with all of the information we required about the area, with detailed maps and suggestions. We felt very at home, and would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful treasure of a place. We also really enjoyed their pets as we are dog and cat lovers- it made us feel even more at home. We hope to come back soon to stay here once again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Home with a family atmosphere. Melipal is a one room operation so you will be the only guest there with the family. When you enter, the room is downstairs but you will have an excellent view of the mountains and lake. The bathroom is not inside the room but just down a short hallway. What you read about the breakfast served is all true! It is truly excellent and all homemade. You will certainly be ready to face the day once you have had the breakfast! The house is about 10 minute ride to town. If you don't have a car you can get to town via a Remis (taxi), which they will call for you, or a bus (colectivo). The bus stop is about a five minute walk and cost $2.00ARG. They run about every 15 minutes. This is what we did and was very convenient. The family is attentive to your needs and will give excellent advice if needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

A family home with attentive hosts, clean room with view of the lake and wonderful breakfast. We couldn't have asked for more. Thanks Norma, Alberto and Martin.

Esperanza and Chuck Evans

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Excellent strudel for breakfast the first morning (with lots of tasty accompaniments), chocolate cake the second morning (with more tasty side dishes).

A room in a house with no front door key so you must specify when you will be back. There is smoking in the house (but not in the room). Not near the centre of Bariloche so you need to catch the bus (or a long walk). The bathroom was separate but private. Considering these things the room was a bit expensive.

On the plus side (other than the aforementioned breakfast) The room was warm and on arrival we were given maps. Norma checked the Laundromat was open and organised a remise for us. She even let me use her kitchen one night (not that she was impressed with my cooking!). Their son makes jewellery which he sells from the house and from the market - we bought a bangle which I love.

Taxi was 75 pesos from the airport. 75 pesos to llao llao. Bus to town 3 pesos each way, bus from town to llao llao 6 pesos each way.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Bariloche is marvelous, we need five days to fully appreciate the area (Siete Lagos, Circuito Grande, Circuito Chico, Cerro Catedral, El Bolson, Traful, La Angostura, etc...), our stay in Melipal B&B was very enjoyable, Norma and Alberto (the owner) are marvelous and warm, they truly know how to run a B&B, the breakfast and dinner prepared by Norma were generous and up to restaurant standard, she is such a good cook and everyday she prepared different dishes. It is hard for us to forget the experience of tasting those delicious food there. Alberto is knowledgeable, he is so willing to share his travel tips with us, we truly appreciate his suggestions which enriched the content of our visits. Melipal offers a room with excellent full view on the lake, we wake up and saw that wonderful memorable view. The house itself is beautifully constructed, airy and spacious, we do recommend this B&B without reservation to other travellers ....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.5 mi away
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
#13 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Barraca Suites
La Barraca Suites
#7 of 112 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quillen Hotel & Spa
Quillen Hotel & Spa
#23 of 112 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mirando al Sur
Mirando al Sur
#8 of 112 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#80 of 217 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
10.7 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#9 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melipal B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melipal B&B

Address: General Roca 3588, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina (Formerly Casa de la Bella Vista)
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Breakfast: with regional and homegrown products- Dinner: regional gourmet cooking (consult availability)- Lake view from rooms and private bathrooms- Internet Wi-Fi- Daily Clearing service and change of towelsSpecial Offers: Get 20% off on Long Stays and Advance Booking. Visit out site. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melipal B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.