We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of View Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added View Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
View Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tucuman 221, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This modern styled boutique hotel was selected for us by our tour operator, Imagine Latin America, and is about a ten-minute walk from Bartolomé Mitre – the main street. The hotel is part way up a hill so from our room, you could see the whole of Bariloche, the lake and the surrounding mountains – a terrific Patagonian panorama and truly a “room with a view”. The décor is sparse yet elegant and the room was extremely comfortable. Breakfast is served between 8.00 am and 10.00 am overlooking the lake. Oliver, who is on duty from 4.00 p.m. to 11.00 p.m. hails from the UK and was a mine of useful information on Bariloche.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    61
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
125
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were extremely unlucky with the weather during our trip to Bariloche - five days of constant rain and biting winds in the middle of the so-called summer. But every single evening, after hours of hiking and biking in the constant rain, we were extremely relieved to come back to our cozy room at the View Hotel.
Warm, clean and well designed, the hotel was just perfect for what we needed. It's located perfectly, about five blocks from the main street of Bariloche - close enough to walk to in under ten minutes, yet away from the touristy kitsch. I think it's designed in a way that all the rooms look on to the lake. The breakfast is cold and gets boring after 5 days, but I think that's to be expected from a hotel at this price range. The Argentine owner isn't particularly friendly, but Oliver (?) the evening manager more than makes up for it, being extremely helpful with recommendations and restaurant reservations. On the whole, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. You do need to be aware of the wooden staircase, which can create a bit of noise when folks go up and down. The showerhead in our room was a rain shower type so you can’t adjust and the water pressure could have been a bit stronger. Wifi was unreliable – kept going on and off.

The biggest attraction is the unobstructed views of the lake. Breakfast is your typical Argentine breakfast, but with the view.

For those who don’t speak Spanish, they speak English. One of the front staff is originally from London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a great time in Bariloche, largely enabled by the friendly staff at the View. The hotel itself is nice, modern with a designer lobby. The rooms themselves do the trick - nothing exceptional but with the eponymous view. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Patagonia. The hotel was made by the bloke at the front desk who helped us with everything from a hospital visit to bike trips. We needed to take the bus on a Sunday (when the kiosk selling bus tickets was closed) and the front desk even provided us with a bus pass. The location is pretty central, albeit there is a bit of an uphill climb and the hotel is close to many of the hostels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A taxi drive from the airport to the View Hotel is quite expensive and I would suggest calling the hotel upfront to request a taxi pick up (120A$ vs 70-80A$, there is also a bus service but the busses are old and not very comfortable). They have no pick up service from the hotel. The reception was friendly although nothing out of the ordinary as was the case by many other Argentinean Hotels. The owner I believe is not Argentinean and you feel this right away.
The room I had was 106, and was directly above the reception so therefore you hear all conversations quite annoying if you want to relax. And the door bell can be heard through out the day as well as the front door is locked so this is bothersome as well. The room looks neat. The writing bureau has no chair! In the whole room there is no chair to sit. Just a hooker which obviously gives no back support. The closet is open and has no doors. Inconvenient as all can be seen. There is no safe in the room which is a big miss if you ask me. Also no minibar not that I would use it. But it shows a lack of essentials. The bathroom looked nice, however the toilet role was did not have a nicely folded piece of paper to show care in cleaning has been performed the paper was torn instead... Also the toilet paper is of such bad and thin quality you need to triple layer it yourself to prevent a mess. There was only 1 toilet paper role so which was half used. After half I day I ran out of toilet paper. Not what you expect from a 3*** hotel, and not even a spare role there...
Also when I took a shower I found 2 female hairs in the bathtub and mind you I'm a guy. The maid I saw didn't have that color hair so great cleaning I must say.
The shower (big shower head) looks great and the bathtub too. However amenities are very scarce just two little sachets with shampoo and conditioner and some soap. No shower gel or body lotion. Last the walls are paper thin so you hear the other guests going to the toilet and taking a shower.

The internet in the room worked okay on my iPhone it was of medium speed on my MacBookPro it kept dropping and was unstable.

The breakfast was very small and had no cheeses or meats/cold cuts. The cereals were very limited and there was no plain muesli. There were no individual yoghurts only in large glass to be pored, 1 flavor strawberry or something like that. There was no bread only some crackers and half dry panacotta and some Argentinean style croissants. Two jams were available . There were fresh fruits and strawberries. The hot water for tea is not marked so you can easily poor coffee instead of hot water. All in all not tht great. And it only starts from 8am and most excursions pick you up from 8am at the hotel or earlier. Not well organized. I was able to have a quick breakfast however not a sufficient one for the day.
The guy at the reception was not very helpful with tours last night as I looked on internet and in the folder he gave me and there I found much more options and tours to do. The receptionist only directed me to the closest backpackers agent. clearly he didn't think one could be interested in the 7 lakes tour by boat?? Be sure to book a day in advance to prevent disappointment. And be sure to explore all options as many tour operators are tourist traps such as the Turisur tours I booked I cannot recommend them. There are more tour operators check on line or in Bariloche walk along the Bartolomé Mitre Street. Go to the offices (15-25min walk from hotel depending on which one) before 9am so that you are sure to have a seat as online booking is not possible.

Room Tip: Please make sure your room is not on the first floor and not one of the first 2 after the stairs as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viewhotel, Gerente at View Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado RMD, por medio de la presente paso a contestar alguno de los comentarios efectuados por usted: antes que nada vamos a recordar que somos un hotel 3* de 12 habitaciones - NO SOMOS ni 4 ni 5 estrellas, por lo cual prestamos servicio de 3*!!!!
como usted dice equivocadamente, nosotros si tenemos servicio de recogida en el aeropuerto con cargo extra y no gratuito, el cual se lo puede solicitar con anterioridad y el mismo tiene un costo de pesos 90 al dia de hoy (12-02-13) y se lo puede solicitar como lo han hecho muchos pasajeros, despues de hacer la reserva nos consultaron por ese servicio y lo tomaron. es una lastima que usted no lo haya hecho.
la habitacion 106 a la cual usted hace mencion, queda en el primer piso a la salida de la escalera, conjuntamente con la 105 y la 104, y es la primer queja que uno tiene; pero la misma es bien recibida: de todas maneras no creo que usted haya podido escuchar una conversacion que habia en recepcion como dice.
la habitacion cuenta con una mesa-escritorio en la cual esta el tv y tiene un gran espacio para poder utilizarlo como escritorio, debajo de la misma usted puede encontrar un asiento cubo, denominado puff con ruedaspara que se pueda sentar en el lugar que mas como le resulte; estamos de acuerdo que no tiene respaldo, pero en caso de ser necesario podria haber solicitado una silla con respaldo en recepcion, la cual se le entregaria sin ningun inconveniente.
el armario es abierto tipo verstidor, como en los ultimos y mas modernos hoteles inaugurados en todas partrs del mundo, vale aclarar que para usted esto no era novedad ya que en nuestra pagina de internet estan las fotos del mismo, si nos eligio fue porque en su momento no le molesto al momento de la eleccion de hotel y creo que va en gustos; hay mucha gente que le encanta y lo ve como un beneficio ya que no se puede olvidar nada ya que lo ve.
por la caja de seguridad, como usted bien sabe ya que guardo los pasaportes, se puede dejar en la caja de seguridad de recepcion lo que usted necesite; no considero que este servicio sea un chasco como usted dice.
el el bar hay varias bebidas, no se lo que es esencial para usted o para su gusto, pero para nosotros, recordando que somos un hotel 3 estrellas y no estamos obligados a tener este servicio; lo esencial esta y lo puede encontrar.
papel higienico triple hoja creo que no lo va a encontrar en ningun hotel.
debajo del lavatorio en el estante donde encuantra las toallas tiene un rollo nuevo y si el mismo lo utilizo o se lo lleva, puede pedir uno mas en recepcion que se le entregara en la puerta de su habitacion con tan solo discar 9.
por tema de la limpieza, le cuente que nuestra politica es que una vez que se termina de efectuar la limpieza de la habitacion y del baño y desinfeccion del mismo, toda la habitacion se aspira, hasta los baños con sus bañeras para evitar estos inconvenientes.
le recuerdo que los amenities van de acuerdo a un hotel 3 estrellas. (2 shampoo, 2 acondicionadores, 3 jabon)
le comento que las paredes no son de papel como usted dice, las mismas estan construidas con ladrillos de 18 centimetros mas los revestimeintos de los dos lados. quiza usted tenga una capacidad auditiva superior a los demas ya que puede escuchar las conversaciones de recepcion con la puerta cerrada y lo que pasa en otras habitaciones o cuando van al baño.
la coneccion a internet es la mas rapida de bariloche, no hay mejor que la que tenemos y nosotros operamos con la misma sin dificultad.
le cuento que nuestro desayuno es continental como usted lo sabia, si mal no informan en internet es lo mismo que el europeo y el mismo no lleva ni quesos, embutidos y carnes frias como tampoco huevos. por el contrario nuestro desayuno tiene por demas de lo que se pide y no solo eso, usted se puede servir las veces que quiera como lo hizo; quiza eso lo confundio!!! le vuelvo a recordar que somos un hotel 3 estrellas y que damos desayuno continental y el mismo cuenta de:
2 variedades de cereales
2 gustos de yogourt
leche fria y caliente
frutas varias (banana, manzana, pera, kiwi, ciruelas, naranjas, pomelos,frutillas, etc)
jugo de naranja recien exprimido
agua fria y caliente
agua gasificada
cafe
varios te de distintos sabores (tilo, boldo, etc)
chocolate
media lunas
tortas
budines
brownies
galletitas de agua
tostadas recien hechas de pan integral y pan blanco
manteca
dos sabores de mermeladas de la zona
dulce de leche
en caso de ser celiaco puede solicitar servicio especial.
el horario de comienzo del desayuno es a las 8 hs, pero como usted muy bien sabe puede bajar antes como lo hacia y desayunar mas temprano.
por excursiones usted puede contratar cualquiera de ellas por nuestro intermedio ya que los prestadores de servicio son pocos.

quiza le pediria que antes de hacer una critica de este tipo evalue todas las condiciones:
categoria, servicio, importe abonado, antiguedad, etc

muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here on a trip to Bariloche. It was recommended to me on a tailor made holiday by Annabel at All Points Argentina and i wasn't disappointed.

The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly, and the rooms were clean and modern with a great view of the lake. Breakfast was great and it was all priced really reasonably. We didn't have a massive budget so if you're looking for a hotel which is great value for money, look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very good hotel: modern, clean, spacious, with a fantastic view of the lake, Also the position is great, and the service is fantastic: thanks Oliver for all your suggestions.
The only thing that this hotel miss it's the AC, so if is very hot outside you need to open the windows, like we did the last night, apart from that evrything else is perfect.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to View Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Boutique Hotel

Address: Tucuman 221, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 130 hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — View Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in hotel design made especially for the comfort of the visitor. Located in the heart of Bariloche, View Hotel offers marvelous panoramic views. As is common with this style of lodging, the hotel combines a sophisticated level of design, ambiance, modern technology, impeccable service and personalized attention, creating an unforgettable experience for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your View Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage View Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.