We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped us out of a jam, great owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel El Gaucho

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com HostelBookers.com
and 2 more sites!
Hostel El Gaucho
Belgrano 209, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Helped us out of a jam, great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We originally booked our stay at Pudo Hostel-- which is a short walk away-- but they somehow "lost" our reservation (despite our email confirmation of the booking). Pudo was nice enough to call around and El Gaucho offered to take us in for the same price.

While pudo had more of a backpacker vibe and a good community area(with bar), we were very pleased with El Gaucho. The best thing about the hostel was the owners-- very friendly people who waxed ecstatic about Bariloche and gave us awesome tips about where to go and what to do.

Bariloche was beautiful and this hostel was great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolzano, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

This place is gourgeous. We stayed in the double rooms, which are very comfortable and quite cheap considering its cathegory. The dorms are reasonable, just 4 beds per dorm, which makes it really good and cosy. the owners are very friendly and helpful, giving you advise for things to do. They can book virtually everything you like for you.
Dorms cost 40 pesos, doubles are 130 and have private bathroom.
Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The owner, Huber, is a very nice german guy. The service it´s OK and the price is very low. You can find there people from all around the worl and is in the middle of Bariloche downtown.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

A clean hostel, run by a slightly mad, but friendly and very helpful couple. There are two communal kitchen and dining areas, that were very clean and well stocked in terms of cooking implements. They also had boxes for people to put food / cooking items they didn't want, that could be used by others, eg - oil.

It is a couple blocks from the centre of town, and therefore quiet. You are given croissants every day for breakfast, much better than most hostel breakfasts.

If you are looking for a good steak place, check out El Boliche de Alberto, just go hungry, or share "a portion".

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Albergue El Gaucho lies a couple of streets back from the main shopping street in Bariloche. We tried it out after a few nights elsewhere, looking for something a little more homely, helpful and at a better price.

On arriving to enquire about rooms, owner Uwe met us and within a few minutes, we'd struck up a conversation about our trip and he'd planned out the next few weeks for us! Needless to say, we booked our room there and then and returned the next day to stay for a few days - which quickly turned into a week!

The hostel itself is clean, warm and has all the facilities you'd expect. Breakfast is simple but tasty and there's ample cooking facilities. Uwe and his wife are very helpful at suggesting and booking activities and brilliant guides to the whole of Argentina.

We had an amazing time there, met some great people and I can recommend you try this place out.

  • Liked — the host and his wonderful advice
  • Disliked — No real negatives!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel El Gaucho

Address: Belgrano 209, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 175 Specialty lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel El Gaucho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostel El Gaucho to your Saves list