We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda Del Tio

La Fonda Del Tio
Av Bartolome Mitre 1130, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
443-5011
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Very nice pasta and also trout? Average mixed salad. Nice house wine. Very reasonably priced. Lots of locals, slightly noisy but worth it!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    214
    38
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food off the beaten path and for cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The restaurant is located away from the central tourist district, but you can't miss it with the flashing strings of rope lights which adorn the exterior. If you get there after 8pm, expect to wait...but it's worth it. The restaurant was clean. This is a family kind of restaurant, so if you don't like the sound of kids screaming and loud talking, then don't come here. There were people of all ages eating here, most looked to be local because they knew the waiters and the waiters greeted them with the traditional Argentine hug and kiss. The noise level really starts to pick up when the place packs up and the line goes out the door. There was an almost constant pounding sound from the kitchen as they were producing some of the best milanesa to be found anywhere.

Although other items on the menu were great, trust the chef and get the nightly special. You can't go wrong. My travel partner and I went two different nights. The first night we both gorged on the nightly special...Lasagna con jamon y queso (each plate was enough for 2 people), and I somewhat regret NOT getting the nightly special the second time around.

The second time we both got the milanesas which are huge and come served in a casserole dish (mine with an obscene amount of cheese). They cut it in 1/2 with spoons and dish it out at the table. The french fries were from fresh cut potatoes and were done kind of "steak fry" style in the "shoestring" shape. For dessert, the "Copa La Fonda Del Tio" is this monstrous creation of ice cream, fresh fruit, nuts, chocolate sauce, and (of course) dulce de leche which is enough for at least 2 people.

The wine list is adequate and value priced. For those who like soda, they serve 2-liter bottles. On my first visit, as I stumbled through ordering in "castillano", the waiter smiled when I ordered "Fernet Coke" with my meal. And, although there are great artesanal beers in this town, the best this restaurant has is Quilmes 1890 (which is a great beer none the less). Like other places in Argentina, you have to order water if you want it and they assume it is "con gas" (sparkling) unless you order it "sin gas" (still).

The service was efficient and very friendly. However, getting the check at the end seemed to take forever on both visits. You'd think they'd want to get us out of the seats quicker. jaja! Like most of the restaurants I have dined in in Argentina, the service points are defined, articulated, and crisp. The waiters on both occasions were true professionals.

The cost of a huge millanesa, a litre of Quilmes 1890, another milanesa topped with two fried eggs, a side of fries, and two bottles of water (one con gas and one sin gas) came out to about ARS$190 with an additional ARS$60 gratuity. At the time of this writing ARS$250 is equivalent to about US$23. Yes, we know that it's kind of vulgar to tip so well in Argentina, but we did it anyway because the service was just that outstanding. The waiter from my first visit even gave me the hug and cheek kiss on the way out the second visit.

I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Look no further for great food and great prices in Bariloche!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

There is no better place to eat milanesas (Wienerschnitzel) than this restauant. Portios are big enough to share at least with two and they are delicious!! Probably the best ones that I ever had.
A little tip you need to get there at 8 pm as soon as they open or otherwise you will have to wait forever for a table and a warning don't get there expecting more than great ood, great services and great prices, there is not much else the restaurant looks like a tipical bodega and the menu card is limited to milanesas and a few other daily dishes but do not miss it if you are looking for good food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A must stop in Bariloche - there was a bit of a wait when we went but the line was fully worthwhile and it moves fast. Service is friendly and the portions are huge. Price is very reasonable. Mostly locals filling this spot up. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wait worth waiting for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We loved the home made cooking. We ordered Lasagne, Trout and Beef and all the meals were excellent. Two bottles of Malbeck and a desert and the total bill came to 398 pesos (45 euros). The cheapest meal we ate and we were very very satisfied. The thing we disliked is queueing up. We waited for about 40 minutes and did so because our Taxi driver highly recommended it and we just could not wait to taste it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda Del Tio also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to La Fonda Del Tio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda Del Tio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.