We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights in an Andean paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta Nacional 231 Km. 64.5, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 hotels in Villa La Angostura
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Three nights in an Andean paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent three nights at Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa. Neither of us had visited Villa La Angostura nor Patagonia before but had been told by many others what a beautiful part of Argentina it is. Well, the hotel and surrounding area surpassed all our expectations! It is superbly located at the edge of the Nahuel Huapi Lake with 180 degree views of the lake and magnificent snow capped Andes beyond. The hotel has been designed in such a way that all the rooms (including the jacuzzi) and public spaces benefit from the breathtaking views which in our opinion, makes for a world class hotel. The atmosphere is enhanced by the friendly, helpful staff who were on hand 24/7 to answer any questions or direct us to a good local restaurant or ice-cream parlour. We made good use of the pool (indoor/outdoor) and solarium, and our friends enjoyed a massage at the hotel spa. The town centre and magical Arrayan forest is a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel. We loved our stay and will definitely be visiting again! We would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Leanne & Michel, U.K.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    37
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
95
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Sol Arrayan with a group of friends and felt like i was in the lap of luxury. Every room, lounge, restaurant and deck had the most exquisite views of the lake against the backdrop of the snow capped Andes mountains; the hotel and surrounding area was picture perfect. The staff were friendly, room was clean and comfy with a great bathroom - jacuzzi hot tub and a separate shower. We spent many hours each day in the sauna and the heated pool. Even had a late night swim underneath the milky way - indoor and outdoor heated pool. We did have a car which was great and its a 5 min drive to the cute Villa la Angostura village. There are many activitie in the area. One day we took a boat trip to the other side of the lake and walked back through the forest - another memorable day. I highly recomend this hotel for both a romantic getaway as well as a fun escape with friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Sol Arrayan, and we were delighted with the place. Since it is off the main road of Villa la Angostura, it was really helpful to have a car. With it, getting from the hotel to town and to other attractions was very easy. The hotel itself was delightful, with sunny rooms and a phenomenal view of the lake. After the 90 degrees that we had in Buenos Aires, it was wonderful to sleep with our door open at night. The staff was so friendly and helpful, particularly when an ATM ate my husband's bank card and we had to call our bank back in the US.

Room Tip: Stay on floors that are higher up, around the fifth floor or so, to take advantage of the sunlight a...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights. The location is slightly north of the village of Villa la Angostura and you really need a car to make the most of your visit. The Sol Arrayan has a fabulous location overlooking Lago Nahual Huapi, but this is a mixed blessing. The sun beats down on the hotel and creates an hellish heat in the rooms (all of which face to the west), the common areas and the pool/deck (which has zero shade). The wooden deck is curling up from the sun damage and nails are exposed. The building has had very poor maintenance and it actually looked like the place was going out of business. There were only a handful of guests while we were there. I know about the volcanic eruption which wiped out at least one ski season and perhaps this hotel is struggling because of that. There was almost no evidence of ash at the hotel or in the village. In fact, the only place that we noticed it was on our hikes around the area.

The meals at Sol Arrayan are very average and the coffee was very poor. The free WIFI was spotty in our room but very good in the lobby. Our room was clean and a good size.

The staff (especially Paula) were fantastic and tried to respond to any problems that we had. The front desk arranged for us to be picked up by boat from the Quelque Penninsula hike to the Bosque de Arranyanes. This was a very pleasant 12 km walk that ends in a very small national park dedicated to preserving a unique grove of Arrayan trees which only survive in this area. In English, this tree is called the Myrtle. I wish that we had reserved more time to explore the park.

Villa la Angostura is a quiet little resort town with several good restaurants and no nightlife (at least while we were there in November). We enjoyed meals at Del Puerto (specialty is trout al limon), La Caballerrizza and Tinto Bistro (reservations a must). Be sure to have an ice cream at Fruitas de Bosque. There are many ice cream and chocolate stores in town, but this one is the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked a "superior suite with a lakeside view" and prepaid it through booking.com. The room was supposed to have a king size or 2 single beds". When we arrived we were told that this room only has a queen bed. We had to pay an additional $130 us- which was later reduced to $90 us (after we complained to booking.com) to upgrade to a "Lago suite" with a king bed. The Lago suite was of fairly poor design with only one night table on only one side of the king bed. It had a fairly impracitical large Jacuzzi tub taking up a large part of the room , and was missing a blind over the tub , so sunlight would enter the room at sunrise. Breakfast was very basic, and dinner was served in cramped tables in the bar area, as the restaurant was closed ( a fact we were not told ahead of time). It was a 40 minute walk into town to rent bicycles.

On the positive side- the staff were extremely helpful, spoke excellent English and helped us prepare hikes and activities.

It seemed to us, that it was the management (who we never met) ,who were stubbornly inflexible, when good PR and compromise seemed in order to solve a problem of what the hotel admitted was an incorrect description of the room that we booked on booking.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel has fantastic views of the Nahuel Huapi and the Andes. Good amenities, gym, sauna, etc. The rooms are very modern and the service is great. Highly recommend a sunset by the pool.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spend two nights here and felt the hotel was for ourselves. The service was impeccable and personable. Food at the restaurant is highly recommendable. A great hotel for a good price.

Room Tip: I think they all have views to the lake. The top floors better though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta Nacional 231 Km. 64.5, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#10 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Localizado en pleno corazón de la Patagonia argentina, Sol Arrayán se encuentra a 1km del centro de Villa La Angostura, Neuquén, Argentina. El Resort, esta situado frente al Nahuel Huapi, sus 42 habitaciones estan recostadas sobre una ladera, de esta forma Sol Arrayán les ofrece a todos nuestros huéspedes una vista inigualable, donde se pueden apreciar los picos nevados reflejados en el lago. Rodeado de árboles centenarios, entre los que se destacan ejemplares de arrayanes únicos en el mundo, se puede ir descendiendo por los jardines hasta llegar a la costa de lago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.