We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff, poor management ,very average rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta Nacional 231 Km. 64.5, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Villa La Angostura
toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“helpful staff, poor management ,very average rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked a "superior suite with a lakeside view" and prepaid it through booking.com. The room was supposed to have a king size or 2 single beds". When we arrived we were told that this room only has a queen bed. We had to pay an additional $130 us- which was later reduced to $90 us (after we complained to booking.com) to upgrade to a "Lago suite" with a king bed. The Lago suite was of fairly poor design with only one night table on only one side of the king bed. It had a fairly impracitical large Jacuzzi tub taking up a large part of the room , and was missing a blind over the tub , so sunlight would enter the room at sunrise. Breakfast was very basic, and dinner was served in cramped tables in the bar area, as the restaurant was closed ( a fact we were not told ahead of time). It was a 40 minute walk into town to rent bicycles.

On the positive side- the staff were extremely helpful, spoke excellent English and helped us prepare hikes and activities.

It seemed to us, that it was the management (who we never met) ,who were stubbornly inflexible, when good PR and compromise seemed in order to solve a problem of what the hotel admitted was an incorrect description of the room that we booked on booking.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    43
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
107
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel has fantastic views of the Nahuel Huapi and the Andes. Good amenities, gym, sauna, etc. The rooms are very modern and the service is great. Highly recommend a sunset by the pool.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spend two nights here and felt the hotel was for ourselves. The service was impeccable and personable. Food at the restaurant is highly recommendable. A great hotel for a good price.

Room Tip: I think they all have views to the lake. The top floors better though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

A new hotel only 4 years old overlooks the lake and mountains. Photos cannot do justice to the breathtaking views!!! The rooms are on the small side, typical for Argentina, but the amazing views from the floor to ceililng windows opens up the vista so that you feel you are actually on the lake. The staff is very gracious and helpful, but the continental breakfast is limited with no fresh fruit. We bought our own fruit from a supermarket on the way to town. A lovely spa with sauna, hydrojetted therapy shower, and a heated indoor-outdoor pool makes a lovely respite after a day of hiking the mountains and forests. It is difficult to hike on your own, except for Bosque de Arrayanes, which is a lovely, level 13 km (26 km round trip) hike in the forest along the lake. For other hikes, I recommend the services of an experienced guide who is absolutely excellent -- Dario Remorino. We have been to Angostura 4 times and have used him the last 3 times. He is knowledgeable not only about the flora and fauna but also about culture, history, philosophy, and nearly any other topic you may be interested in. He has authored a book on hiking. Dario has a heart of gold, and we have come to consider him (and his wife) as special friends. This time he took us on several hikes, but we were especially privileged to trek up a volcanic mountain where we were rewarded with amazing views of lakes and 10 volcanoes, including the one which erupted last June. The location of the hotel is about 2 km from town but there is a sidewalk all the way. A taxi to town costs about $4 (US). This little gem of a charming village right in the national park is our favorite place in all of Argentina and one of our favorites in the entire world.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful lobby with breathtaking views of the lake from a floor to ceiling window just as you walk in. The lobby also has great seating areas with a cozy fire. Our room was on the small side, but also had stunning views of the lake, as do all rooms because of the design of the hotel. The room also was very clean and well appointed. The hotel includes lovely indoor and outdoor pools and spa area with sauna. We had one dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was decent but not outstanding. The materials in the hotel room indicated you could get lighter, snack fare at the bar, but we were told we could not order food there. Maybe this is because we were staying during shoulder season (Easter) and the hotel seemed somewhat empty. Breakfast is basic but adequate, including an assortment of breads, yogurt, cereal and some fruit. There is wi-fi in the hotel common areas. Hotel staff were friendly.

The hotel is located a few minutes drive past the main street of Villa la Angostura. There is a bike trail along the main road in front of the hotel you could use to walk or bike into town. It was our first time in the area, and we were glad we stayed in Villa la Angostura instead of Bariloche, which we found to be more crowded and far less charming. The boat excursion to the Bosque de los Arrayanes departs from the dock in Villa la Angostura and the area is beautiful.

The hotel is a great option for the area, with unbeatable views, beautiful architecture, peace and quiet. We found it to be a great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A gorgeous hotel overlooking the amazing lake. It is situated perfectly to walk down the beach, head into town, and relax in their incredible pool/sauna area while watching the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

You will enjoy the hotel and the location is spectacular. The rooms are small but very clean and great views. Everyone is so nice and helpful. I had prebooked and paid for our room and they informed me that they had reduced the rate and gave me a refund. The ash is not a problem now and the town is funtioning well but people are not visiting the area.

Room Tip: ask for a lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta Nacional 231 Km. 64.5, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#12 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#13 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Localizado en pleno corazón de la Patagonia argentina, Sol Arrayán se encuentra a 1km del centro de Villa La Angostura, Neuquén, Argentina. El Resort, esta situado frente al Nahuel Huapi, sus 42 habitaciones estan recostadas sobre una ladera, de esta forma Sol Arrayán les ofrece a todos nuestros huéspedes una vista inigualable, donde se pueden apreciar los picos nevados reflejados en el lago. Rodeado de árboles centenarios, entre los que se destacan ejemplares de arrayanes únicos en el mundo, se puede ir descendiendo por los jardines hasta llegar a la costa de lago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.