We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta Nacional 231 Km. 64.5, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Incredible views, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful lobby with breathtaking views of the lake from a floor to ceiling window just as you walk in. The lobby also has great seating areas with a cozy fire. Our room was on the small side, but also had stunning views of the lake, as do all rooms because of the design of the hotel. The room also was very clean and well appointed. The hotel includes lovely indoor and outdoor pools and spa area with sauna. We had one dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was decent but not outstanding. The materials in the hotel room indicated you could get lighter, snack fare at the bar, but we were told we could not order food there. Maybe this is because we were staying during shoulder season (Easter) and the hotel seemed somewhat empty. Breakfast is basic but adequate, including an assortment of breads, yogurt, cereal and some fruit. There is wi-fi in the hotel common areas. Hotel staff were friendly.

The hotel is located a few minutes drive past the main street of Villa la Angostura. There is a bike trail along the main road in front of the hotel you could use to walk or bike into town. It was our first time in the area, and we were glad we stayed in Villa la Angostura instead of Bariloche, which we found to be more crowded and far less charming. The boat excursion to the Bosque de los Arrayanes departs from the dock in Villa la Angostura and the area is beautiful.

The hotel is a great option for the area, with unbeatable views, beautiful architecture, peace and quiet. We found it to be a great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    33
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
90
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A gorgeous hotel overlooking the amazing lake. It is situated perfectly to walk down the beach, head into town, and relax in their incredible pool/sauna area while watching the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

You will enjoy the hotel and the location is spectacular. The rooms are small but very clean and great views. Everyone is so nice and helpful. I had prebooked and paid for our room and they informed me that they had reduced the rate and gave me a refund. The ash is not a problem now and the town is funtioning well but people are not visiting the area.

Room Tip: ask for a lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel had just opened when we stayed a few years ago as part of a ski holiday & was very nice. The restaurant had a High level of food quality & service. Ate there 3 nights & always good value. Room had spectacular view. Only problem is that it is a bit far from town but transport is available.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I loved loved this place! The rooms are cozy with an amazing view of the lake. It actually felt like a private resort just for us...we rarely saw other people while we were there. We had basically had the awesome heated pool and outdoor deck to ourselves.
Staff is super friendly and nice..feels homey despite the fact that their not fluent in English.
Location is great...close to town for a nice walk or a bikeride to other outdoor activities. Close to good restaurants.
The dining at Sol Arrayan is not the best but fine if you just want to stay in for a night with beautiful views of the sunset. Breakfast is included.
Only bad thing during my visit was my masage at the spa. Not worth it

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed four days over Easter with my son and partner and were delighted at the quality of the rooms and food. The view of the lake from the reception, dining and pool areas was stupendous. The view from our rooms with walkout terrace was partially obstructed by trees but the bathroom of other rooms we were shown below did not seem as new.
You could hear the road from time to time but not exceptionally.
We recommend taking a walk through the gardens down to the lake to see the changing landscape. We used the pool and would have used the sauna but it wasn't always on.
The front desk answered all our queries and offered advice on walks and restaurants. It was service with a smile.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. We holidayed in the Lakes Region for a week in September 2010 (the very early spring) and were consistently overwhelmed by the natural beauty of the place (Hint: Bring several 4GB camera cards along with you because you won't be able to stop taking pictures), the friendliness of the people who live here and the quality of the hotels and restaurants. Given how small and relatively remote towns like Villa La Angostura and San Martin de los Andes are, the hotels you find down there are really amazing -- luxuriously appointed with jaw-dropping views but rates that, by U.S. and European standards, are quite reasonable. The Sol Arrayan in Villa La Angostura, where we stayed for three of the eight days we were down there, was one of our favorites. Our room had a stunning unobstructed view of the mountains and lake, a lovely little deck that we sat on for hours gawking at the scenery (and which featured an ingeniously disguised cooler we filled with local wine and beer) and a friendly, helpful and bilingual staff. We plan to return to this little slice of heaven again and again and will stay at the Sol Arrayan every time we do. To be sure, the room was on the small side. And the bed was probably a queen. But the location, price, amenities and staff more than compensated for that. And let's face it: The surrounding countryside is so beautiful that all you want to do is get out of your room and explore it anyway. The Sol Arrayan's restaurant, like everything else here, has a great view. We only ate breakfast there (there were too many places in town that beckoned for dinner and we had picnicked as we explored during the day.) But judging from breakfast, they know how to cook. And the indoor outdoor pool, a surprisingly common feature down there, was lovely. Just book it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia
Address: Ruta Nacional 231 Km. 64.5, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#8 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Localizado en pleno corazón de la Patagonia argentina, Sol Arrayán se encuentra a 1km del centro de Villa La Angostura, Neuquén, Argentina. El Resort, esta situado frente al Nahuel Huapi, sus 42 habitaciones estan recostadas sobre una ladera, de esta forma Sol Arrayán les ofrece a todos nuestros huéspedes una vista inigualable, donde se pueden apreciar los picos nevados reflejados en el lago. Rodeado de árboles centenarios, entre los que se destacan ejemplares de arrayanes únicos en el mundo, se puede ir descendiendo por los jardines hasta llegar a la costa de lago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.