We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Establo

Save Saved
You added El Establo to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Establo
Los Maquis 56, Villa La Angostura, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
asheville, north carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very comfortable family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Establo (the stable) is a small, family operated hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, there is a nice little garden perfect for reading or conversation. The town center, with lots of restaurants and shops, is only a block or so away. The breakfast was fine. Very comfortable little hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As we drove the Lakes District of Argentina, we weren't sure where we would end up stopping for a day or two and ended up in Villa La Angostura without a reservation. We stopped by the Info Center for some suggestions and El Establo was on their list. Thankfully they had a room and we ended up staying two evenings at the hotel. The entry into the house and then the front sitting room is calming and reminded me of bed and breakfasts of Ireland. I loved all of the little touches, including special keychains and rooms with local pioneer names.

We did have issues with our heat the first night. The area wasn't nearly as cold as it normally would be and our heat kept pumping out warmth like it was freezing outside. I didn't sleep well because of this the first night but staff was more than happy to turn it down for the following day. The morning staff member is incredibly pleasant and helpful. We found the afternoon staff to be a bit more difficult to ask questions and get answers, but it may have been due to language barriers.

The location is one of the best parts of the hotel as it's just two or three blocks from the main downtown area and the views of surrounding mountains are great. I found the breakfast to be a bit disappointing as the breads/pastries didn't seem as fresh as at other places.

I definitely recommend El Establo when visiting Villa La Angostura. It's a great place to stay in this little gem in the Lakes District!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This small hotel is close to town with clean, comfortable rooms and a very welcoming feeling. There is a large common area with a great fireplace and views out on to the garden. A wonderful spot to relax and enjoy a book or some quiet conversation. Wifi is available and the staff is very accomodating. Very good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room on the second floor so you can open a window and catch a breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

My sister and I arrived in Villa la Angostura and did not know where to stay. But we discovered this nice small B&B and right away felt at home. Very clean, pleasant host, nice cosy ambiance, near the centre.... I really can recommend this to everyone!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for only one night in October and would have loved to have stayed longer - despite the effect of the recent volcanic eruption in Chile. The town has been devastated but is fighting back and needs visitors - go and see firsthand what has happened as we had no idea what damage had occurred in this beautiful area. El Establo is extremely well run, very comfortable and in a good position. The room was large, clean and had a really comfortable bed with excellent linen. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast ample and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel combines all the comfort anyone needs with beauty and peace. We loved it. Lots of wood, well chosen furniture, good taste, all set in a refreshing green garden. Great location three blocks from the main drag. Delicious breakfast. The price is excellent considering the quality you receive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
203 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Hard to find anything negative about this place. Cosy rooms, very friendly staff, good beds, clean bathrooms, good breakfast. At least off-season it was excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Los Maquis 56, Villa La Angostura, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Villa La Angostura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High-comfort amenities and personalized service during all four seasons, make a space where the warmth and good taste are combined in every detail, ensuring that you will enjoy your business trip or family vacation and friends, as if you are at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Establo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;