We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Balsas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Las Balsas to your Saves list
Las Balsas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Las Balsas S/N, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very cosy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice boutique hotel. The staff is very helpful!!! It feels like you are in your own house, very comfortable! All the rooms have a lake view, fantastic view!!! The double bed bathroom is a bit small, the matrimonial bathroom is larger. The bathrooms are very clean with L'Occitane amenities. There is a cosy living room, with a fire place, and good music, my family and I spent many hours there talking, brunching... The breakfast was delicious!!!!! The restaurant is fabulous!!! Order trout carpaccio, one of the best I have ever eaten!!The endless hot water swimming pool is awsome!!! The gym is in the pool's room, with free water and fruits!!! The hotel location is good, you can go to Cerro Bayo by taxi, to practice ski, for U$13,00 or 90 Pesos. It takes 20 minutes. The hotel is 15 minutes away from the city center by taxi. Bring dollars as a payment method because you have 30% discount on almost everything, except on Cerro Bayo. The weather in Villa la Angostura is very rainny, so bring your rain coat!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
80
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel Las Balsas is a luxury retreat facing the still mirror waters of the lake, far from the beaten tracks of turistic Patagonia (not easy to find). The views are incredible and changing all the time with the light. It is a pure beauty. The hotel itself is a boutique full of charm and atmosphere, with wood everywhere and a touch of english cottage. The chef is an artist, creating a refined mediteranean-international-argentinian cooking with an explosion of flavors. Be careful, the restaurant is rather expensive. You can pamper yourself in the spa and its large (very) heated pool, you can go with a remise to the pueblo and taste a good Patagonian piece of rabbit. The staff is very friendly and helpful. And most of all, you can rent an old wodden boat for an unforgettable journey on the lake and meet very authentic places and people. It is one of the best hotels I went in Argentina.

Room Tip: We choose a double bedroom at the ground floor facing the lake. It was small but comfortable and cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkpl
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just got back from Patagonia where I stayed at Las Balsas. Loved this hotel. My room upstairs and at the end of the house, was huge! I thought I had a suite...but they told me know. It was just the luck of the draw. One problem was that the keys would not work in the door. Every time I had to go down the stairs (no elevators here as it is an old house) and ask someone to help me open my room door. They told me that they were going to change the locks just as soon as the season was over so hope that happened.
Otherwise, this hotel was fabulous. Has a cute little bar, small quiet library main lounge (like a living room) overlooking the lake. Best of all it has a great wine cellar and a great chef to help pair the food with the fantastic food. Argentinean Malbecs are the best.
One other drawback was the spa. I went for a massage and the room itself was very lovely . However, it is right alongside the indoor pool and gym. All the time I was on the massage table, I could hear nothing but kids shouting in the pool and a group of adults laughing. Also a bother was that there were dirty towles on all the lounge chairs and no one seemed to be around to clean up or keep this area neat for other guests. When there is a towel on a chair, one doesn't know to sit there or if it is being used.
Aside from that...what a lovely room and hotel. Great stay, very quiet, great rooms, fabulous bathrooms. I would stay here again but no massages and hope they fix the key situation.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the corner rooms at the end of the building. There is one on the 1st floor and two o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Las Balsas is truly an amazing place. It is a warm and beautiful place with simply amazing staff and service. We loved the food and the great wine recommendations, and what can I say about the spa and massages... Out of this world. If you are going to the lakes region, don't miss this place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

One could say that las Balsas is a small quiet location away from the city with small rooms and no TV...but that would not only be an incomplete description of the hotel...but also a very unfair one. So let me tell you what we thought of it; as a frame of reference my wife and I travel extensively and very often stay in 5 star hotels belonging to large chains or small boutique ones...

The hotel
The building itself is unassuming but has a unique charm and home-like feel. The view from many rooms, the restaurant and the main dining area is stunning, equal to few anywhere in the world. There is a small spa with a warm swimming pool and a small gym with the basics. They can give you massages but that is not what this hotel is about (so expect decent but not top quality massages)

Service
The service is as good as it gets. Although the hotel may not have everything they will go a long way to make the most of your trip (suggesting nice trekking itineraries, reserving restaurants or basically anything they can do for you). Ignacio in the front desk is extremely helpful and does everything with a smile so it is always pleasant to reach out to him. If it can be done, he will do it for you.

Restaurant
We often go to Michelin star restaurants in Europe so are very picky about our food. In general The Americas are not great at offing refined and sophisticated food. This restaurant is one of few exceptions. The food was very good, with surprising combinations and very subtle and sophisticated food. Don't get me wrong, this is not a 3 Michelin star equivalent but the food is a pleasure to eat (and if it didn't get a star it would be pretty close). The wine list is decent although somewhat limited to Argentine wines.

Overall
One of the best hotels we stayed at in a long time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Las Balsas is a beautiful lakeside house. The pool and spa are wonderful, the staff are kind and outgoing, the living room and bar are cozy and stylish, and the breakfasts are tasty and generous. Mariela in the spa has magic hands, and Laura on breakfast duty is affable, efficient, and a nice way to start the morning. The lake is beautiful, with birds in abundance. Simon is a lovely dog who spends the days around the property, which includes a gorgeous dock and many comfortable nooks.

You will be more pleased if you think of the property more as a rich relative's lakeside home and not as a luxury hotel for which you are paying upwards of $300 a night. The lake-view rooms are small (bathroom tiny even by New York standards), and wifi only works in certain parts of the property. Kayaks or canoes for guest use would be a good addition. There was minor, unadvertised construction at the property during our 3 night stay in mid December. Ignacio, the lead concierge, is competent - but the team in the evenings could use some work and experience. Dinner was fine - but for the price point, there are better options. Highly recommend Cassis south of Bariloche for a very tasty meal instead.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level Contributor
245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

No doubt about it the location is fantastic : on the lake shore with beautiful grounds well attended.
The rooms seem to me a little too small in spite of the the fantastic view And the bathrooms should be bigger and modernized.
Breakfasts are perfect in every respect.
The indoor/outdoor swimming pool is more than enjoyable.
If you dine there be aware of the Limited menu which makes the experience a little boring after 2/3 days.
I was suprised not to have any suggestions for activities during the stay, it would be useful to avoir a slight boredom.
One also should be aware that the weather is very wet over there And you can easily have 4 days of continuous rain if not more ...

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa La Angostura hotels
2.9 mi away
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
#12 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
3.7 mi away
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
#7 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.9 mi away
Luma Casa de Montana
Luma Casa de Montana
#15 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa
Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa
#9 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Ramblas de Puerto Manzano
Las Ramblas de Puerto Manzano
#35 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
#8 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Balsas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Balsas

Address: Bahia Las Balsas S/N, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#3 Business Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#5 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Balsas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ample residence on the shore of a peaceful lake that for 20 years has hosted distinguished guests in search of tranquility and relaxation. Inmersed in the natural vastness of the National Park Nahuel Huapi, Las Balsas Gourmet Hotel & Spa posses a unique natural landscape. Since 1995 has been a member of Relais & Chateaux, the prestigious collection of refined hotels and restaurants known for offering its guests and clients singular and unrepeatable experiences. Las Balsas Gourmet Hotel & Spa has three Suites and twelve Standard rooms, through which the essence of the Patagonia can be felt at every moment. Each one decorated differently but with a harmonious feel amongst each detail, inciting a unison between our guests and their natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Las Balsas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Balsas Hotel Villa La Angostura
Las Balsas Villa La Angostura
Las Balsas Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Balsas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.