We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luma Casa de Montana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luma Casa de Montana to your Saves list
Luma Casa de Montana
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Siete Lagos 2369, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This review is long overdue but I will never forget our stay at Luma Casa de Montana in September 2012 because it is just about the best place we have stayed in and before and since We have done a lot of travel and stayed in very many hotels/resorts. When we were there it was cold, raining and snowing; thankfully because this meant we had to stay at the hotel most of the time and enjoy the place. And there is so much to enjoy; the wonderful friendly staff and family who run the hotel, the views, the beautiful rooms, the decor, the space, the meals and the wine cellar! We virtually had the place to ourselves and it felt like being in our own grand home. Marcos thank you and apologies for late review but I want you to know that your hotel is fabulous! If anyone reading this review is visiting Bariloche or driving around the Siete Lagos don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
84
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

With some small room for argument this is the most outstanding place we have ever stayed in...and we have stayed in many! The decor and ambience is superb, the view!!! superb++. The staff, who are mainly family members, just quietly go around, never fawning, just simply making your stay comfortable and effortless.
After several days you do actually feel this is your home and it is an upset to actually leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is a gem, run by a family who really understand the meaning of hospitality for travelers. We felt as if we were staying at someone's stylish, relaxed country house set alongside a spectacular mountain lake. Meals were always interesting and well-prepared and the service throughout our stay very warm, friendly and unobtrusive. Our room, Lacre, was spacious, quiet and came with lovely balcony to drink in the view and restore the spirit. We hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the moment you arrive you know you are in for a treat. You have to wind down a private pathway (or call for the buggy to come up to collect you) and you reach the entrance to the hotel. The location is private and set into the mountain side with views that are simply stunning from every room. The hotel is family owned and has been loving decorated with so much attention to detail. Each room is completely unique and decorated around a theme - ours was Violeta and it was beautiful. The family who own and run the hotel really do treat you as if you are a guest in their home - nothing is too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant for dinner twice and it was lovely both evenings - great food and watching the sun set over the mountains - simply bliss. We would certainly return again and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Luma to anyone. It's a one in a million!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The house is Toscana style and well decorated, but the best tings are ghe views.

It is just located in front of the lake, a couple of meters from Correntoso.

The service is excellent, but it made it recommendable is Marco attention.

The breakfast is home made, and a pleassure to take it with such a view

Also the restaurant is worth visiting for a three step dinner

And use your jacket and went ot the terrace at night tonlook the patagonia sky pleantybof stars

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Wolfgang, Austria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed there twice within 2 weeks .... What a great place! ALL rooms are very nice with beautiful bathrooms, plenty of space and a superb view over lake & mountains. The staff is very friendly and helpful, one of the family is always around (Marcos, thanks a lot for your hospitality and your help!).

You can enjoy the public areas of the hotel, lounge, spa, pool, different terraces .... even on a rainy day you feel comfortable.

.... and not to forget the restaurant - breakfast, lunch and dinner - always a nice surprise with top qualitiy. You can stay at the hotel for all meals definitly one of the best options in town.

All in all it's really a gem. Go there and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try Suite Mirador for best views and 100% privacy! But all rooms are really nice with superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Everything about the hotel is beautiful. I found it very cozy and beautiful in terms of the amazing views and thoughtful design. Luma is family-run and the service at the hotel was impeccable. the staff was attentive and we had all of the privacy we wanted. We wanted to take advantage of the hotel as much as possible and opted to have dinner there (as well as afternoon tea and breakfast). We could not get enough of the fabulous spa area with the heated pool and picturesque views of the lake and mountains. I hope to make it back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Luma Casa de Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luma Casa de Montana

Address: Av. Siete Lagos 2369, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#11 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luma Casa de Montana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luma, Mountain Retret is the materialization of a new concept in hospitality: an eclectic yet timeless house, which blends modernity and tradition in perfect balance. The idea of this ample and welcoming house is that each guest should feel like a friend of the family and be able to appreciate the intimacy of the surroundings, warm and personal attention, and our emphasis on outstanding service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Luma Casa de Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luma Casa De Montana Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luma Casa de Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.