We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gustavo always has a surprise for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Las Restingas Hotel

Restaurante Las Restingas Hotel
Primera Bajada al mar y Ribera Martima, Puerto Piramides 9121, Argentina
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gustavo always has a surprise for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Once again, we have embarked in Puerto Piramides Restaurant Ribera Marina to eat and leave us a feel of Somellier Gustavo Marina combined for a dinner with a matching wine. His composition was as always a great surprise:
4 Cheese Ravioli with Arugula oil
Sole with potato and leek puree, vegetable wok and classic vinaigrette (Olive and balsamic)
Dessert: Lemon cake with red fruits.

Wine: Siete Fincas Torrontes, 2011, Mendoza
The Ribera Marina, a must if you are in Puerto Piramides. We are looking forward to the next time

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    19
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant by the sea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has a more formal atmosphere compared to other places in Puerto Piramides but it's still casual enough and quite welcoming.

The service is ok and the food is of good quality. Prices are reasonable.

We ate here three times and will not hesitate to come back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming with average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had planned to eat at the #1 rated restaurant, but were greeted with a sign saying they had closed for Christmas on 21 December. So our hosts at the hosteria recommended Las Restingas as a fair back up for our desired seafood dinner.

We were greeted by a frowning waitress but she was quickly followed by a charming gent (owner/manager?) who spoke excellent English. We had nearly translated the Spanish menu but he offered an English version (with identical prices) that made the final choices a bit easier. He was very helpful in guiding us to only order a single serving of the seafood linguine for our two boys - it was big enough for the two of them when supplemented with the wonderful rolls provided.

The restaurant is clean, the tables comfortable and the whole atmosphere very pleasant. The food portions were sufficient (not your typical US or UK quantities). The food itself was OK - the linguine was very sweet, the seafood stew could have used a starch like potatoes or noodles to bulk it up.

The highlight of the evening was the apple tart. We ordered one for each of the boys, but could have split one of those too. It lovely in flavour and texture, moister than many of the baked goods on the island, with a lovely sprinkle of cinnamon across the top.

One other thing that could have been better was drinks - we were unclear with the waitress when we ordered soft drinks for the boys and water for ourselves. The water never appeared, but we didn't repeat our request. Seems a bit strange that a waitress would think we would want nothing to drink with dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent mediterranean cuisine - Everytime a new surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Ask for Gustavo the sommelier, he will arrange a fantastic menu for you. Last time (April 1, 2012) he prepared for me "Linguini y Frutos del mar (vieiras, mejillones, pulpo, calamaretis, ...), pasta y creme de leche y mariscos"; for my spouse: "Mero grillado a manteca citrica de herbas y papas crocantes"; a fine white wine "Chardonnay from Finca Roja" and "Parfait de frutos rojos y ganache de chocolate".
We still remember to this great composition. This was our 5th visit here (3x in August 2011) and this trip 2x because we stood only 5 days in Puerto Pirámides.
My mouth is watering, when I remember to this fantastic dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great view, terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Although La Estacion has the better reviews you will be tempted to eat at Las Restingas based on its location in front of the bay. Unless you hit a lull, however, the view from the patio will be the only feast you have. The first time we visited Las Restingas we had an okay lunch made much better by a great view. The staff was a bit harried but we figured it was par for the course. The second time we visited at night and wow -- farce along the lines of a Fawlty Towers bit. Table upon table of Argentines getting up to leave in frustration after waiting and waiting and waiting and waiting for their food. Ultimately about half the restaurant left many of whom had come in after we did -- we left after 90 minutes without any food appearing at our table. Do yourself a favor and head to La Estacion instead.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Restingas Hotel also viewed

Puerto Piramides, Province of Chubut
Puerto Piramides, Province of Chubut
 
Puerto Piramides, Province of Chubut
Puerto Piramides, Province of Chubut
 

Been to Restaurante Las Restingas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Las Restingas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.