We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel and brilliant owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de Tounens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa de Tounens to your Saves list
La Casa de Tounens
Pasaje 1 de Marzo, 432, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Hostel and brilliant owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hostel is in a perfect location, being only 1 block from the bus station is great after such a long bus ride! I stayed in the 6 person dorm which was roomy, clean and cool with a good number of lockers.

The hostel is extremely secure, with a key for the main gate and the dorm to get in. The owners are amazingly helpful, with lots of advice and tips about the area and helping to book tours.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
42
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosotto, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a private room with private bathroom. Bed was tiny (queen size) but the room was spotlessly clean. Good breakfast (argentinean style), good atmosphere, owner extremely nice. Wifi worked perfectly.
The location is great: right at the bus station, supermarket at the end of the road, 5 minutes walk to restaurant and sea front.
We would defenetly come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

It is one of the best hostels we have stayed in during our 3month travel in Argentina. The house as such is quite tiny, but it offers privacy as well (if that is what you want). The owners is a French-Argentinian couple, very nice and helpful. It really felt like home.

Room Tip: book in advance in jan and feb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

We've stayed at La Casa de Tounens for three nights last October. The hostel is quite new in Puerto Madryn but was one of the best hostels we've stayed in in Argentina. The prices are a little higher than in other places but compared to others in Puerto Madryn quite reasonable. Vincent knows a lot about the surroundings of Puerto Madryn and gave us some great tips. He speaks several languages what comes in handy from time to time. I was having the flue during our stay and he was very helpful and thoughtful. About the accomodation: The kitchen and living area are really good equipped and make hostel cooking a pleasure for a change. This together with the large and clean bathrooms, the great outdoor area and the location close to town and to the bus terminal make this a great place to stay in Puerto Madryn! I Would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

La Casa is quite simply one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. It is immaculately clean, cosy, comfortable and ran by the most lovely couple: Vincent and Gilda, who do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They have peerless knowledge of the local area, inc transport affairs to and from the peninsula and prep a fab breakfast with freshly baked bread and cake.

Stay here with upmost confidence - I've stayed in dozens in many continents and this is by far one of the best. Plus they have maté! (thanks Martín!)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ushuaia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We've met a lot of hostels in all our travelling, but never felt so welcome as in this one... We're planning on going back to Puerto Madryn just for the hostel ambiance... Around the corner from the bus stop and 5 minute walk from the centre... Quiet and cozy, just as we love it...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed there 2 times when we were in Puerto Madryn and it was all great.
Rooms are very nice,clean and spacy. Owners are so nice and kind.They would do for you almost everything.Great breakfast(homemade breads and pies!).And social rooms in house are just great.Also internet and tvs are presented and both in great quality.
This was just lovely stay.I recommend this hostel if you want to have very pleasant stay in Puerto Madryn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa de Tounens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Tounens

Address: Pasaje 1 de Marzo, 432, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vincent and Gilda invite you to have the best stay in town offering their house!With its 5 rooms La Casa is a convivial place where you'll feel like home. You will find us one block away from the bus station.We are located in a quiet street 2 blocks away from the town center.We are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de Tounens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de Tounens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.