We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, exclusive estancia near lots of sealife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pedral Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Madryn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pedral Lodge
Save
You added El Pedral Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Puerto Madryn, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Remote, exclusive estancia near lots of sealife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at El Pedral for 3 nights in sunny, but windy weather.The estancia is a 1.5 hour drive on dirt roads from either Puerto Madryn or Trelew. The lodge lies near the coast, with a very wide pebble beach. It is owned by a Belgian who lives already for many years in Bariloche. His 2 nieces were over from Belgium to help out in the catering and as a tour guide.
The main house dates from 1923 and has a cosy living room, a library and a nice dining room. All 9 bedrooms are in annexed buildings, all groud floor and with a nice view on the mountains. Our bedroom was decent, farmhouse style and sober with a good bed and a bathroom with a view.
Breakfast offers a choice of fresh fruit, cereals and toast. We only found out later that you can order eggs. We enjoyed lunch twice, which was a great 3 course meal, a real feast! And then dinner is a treat again, with most dishes home grown and home made. House wines are Argentinian (of course!) and perfect, but there is a wide choice of wines at a surcharge (which we only found out at check out).
There is no Wifi nor mobile connection, so check your messages before you leave the airport!

El Pedral is uniquely located, far away from the Peninsula Valdes touristic crowds, but with lots of sealife nearby. A nice colony of penguins is just a short drive away, so you can enjoy these fantastic animals in peace as often as you want. There are also half day trips to various beaches with sea elephants, seals, sea lions and cormorants. And at an additional cost you can also join Wendt on a zodiac trip to see whales if the weather permits. We were lucky that the boat could go out and we saw 3 whales.

Hospitality is informal and we had a great time with the rest of the 8-10 guests with whom we shared the meals and the excursions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

When we booked 7 days at El Pedral I was a bit worried it might be too long of a stay. However, i knew that meandering among the penguins and taking photos of the sea lions and elephant seals would be engaging. El Pedral was wonderful and everything I hoped for. Our room was nicely appointed with the age and character of a historic hacienda. We had nightly turndown and the bed was comfortable. Food was good and we drank a lot of the lovely Torrontes house wine. Each morning at breakfast our host checked in to plan the days activities. Since activities are weather-dependent, we did not plan more than a day ahead. Each day we went on different scenic hikes led by Wendt, although we took our last day off to relax and one day we hiked the nearby hills ourselves for 5 hours, with a picnic lunch packed by the chef. Lovely Vanessa kept our rooms neat and was cheerful at meal service. We were lucky to have the place to ourselves the first few days and dined in the front living room with views of the sunset. When we were joined by other guests later in the week they were excellent company. I am an animal lover, love open spaces, peace and quiet, and I really enjoyed this escape. The El Pedral cat waited for me outside each day with purrs. We saw whales late in the season just meters from shore. Our hosts did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and fun and I have to say I was incredibly sad to leave. Huge thanks to our hosts for a wonderful stay. By the way, there are several sitting rooms and places to lounge around if the lodge is full. You can borrow bikes, kayak, organize boat rides when weather permits, swim or sunbathe and play snooker.

Room Tip: I would advise that rooms are paired to share an entry where you can hang coats and leave dusty or m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There are two main things that make this place so special:
1. Location: isolated from the tourists, El Pedral is about 2 hours drive on dirt road from Trelew or Puerto Madryn. Relatively close to the sea (you get to see it from the living room) and with access to many conservation areas, you can walk thru canyons, pebble beaches, sand dunes getting really close to wildlife (sea lions, sea elephants, guanacos, whales, penguins) in small groups of 4 to 6 people which is just great.
2. The Hosts: Maria Jose and Wendt really make the extra mile to make your stay unique and unforgettable. Maria Jose is really attentive that you have all you need and Wendt was a wonderful, wonderful guide. Knowing we liked trekking he organized many walks thru beautiful places and he is very knowledgeable of the place, the animals and also very respectful of them. You can see both of them are passionate of what they do.
Some tips:
If you are just staying there and not going to Puerto Madryn before or afterwards, I do not recommend renting a car since during your stay you won´t need it and the roads are dirt/ gravel and if it rains a little it gets really complicated to drive. (We did it and even we are used to driving on dirt roads, we really suffer from it since it was so slippery, next time we will definitely not rent).
If you are going in the right season you will see the same wildlife than in Puerto Madryn, much closer, in much more reduced groups and with much less traveling time. Therefore if staying in El Pedral, no need to go to Puerto Madryn for any excursion.
Since its remote location...bring everything you´ll need.
For lunch and dinner you share the table with other guests, which is great for socializing if you enjoy it.
Rooms are very cozy, with great heat for the cold Patagonian days and also a wonderful shower.
In summary this is a place to go if you like being treated like a family friend, love nature and like to be disconnected from everything (no TV, no internet, no cell phone).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just returned from four days at El Pedral. It was by far the best part of our Argentina trip. 1.5 hours down a dirt road, and you arrive at a beautiful old Norman style home. Maria Jose's family has lived here for generations, and along with her husband, Wendt, and son, Malte, they show you everything the property has to offer: whales (we saw a mother and calf!), sea lions, guanacos, flamingoes, penguins, elephant seals, orcas, and more! Everywhere you turn, there is wildlife. Its truly incredible. Oh, and the food is fantastic! Andrea really outdoes herself. I loved it here and can't wait to return. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for something off the beaten path.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but very clean. They are really all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Top Contributor
590 reviews 590 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Before I tell you all about the wonderful things here; 2 warnings!!
1. Try not to use Boutique Hotels of Argentina to book. They were unresponsive; unhelpful and gave wrong information. El Pedral now have their own website I believe or use another agent!
2. Don't try and drive yourself there - you won't need a car and the route is difficult to find. El Pedral will pick you up from the airport.

Run by Maria-Jose and her husband Wendt plus a wonderful staff of 6 or so this place is fabulous for 3-4 days of pure pleasure.

The place is in the middle of nowhere - 1.5 - 2 hours on dirt/gravel roads from the nearest towns in the middle of a nature conservation area. Whales (in a small zodiac boat); a walk through a penguin colony; seals by the ton; swimming (yes swimming) with sea lions (just unforgettable - they play with you!); fabulous home cooked food (more than you can eat really) including an asador evening, stark, moody, beautiful countryside and walks through ravines and mini-canyons. Not to mention hares, guanaco, birds and armadillos!

We were very lucky with the other guests with whom you eat meals and with whom you'll share many activities. Americans, Brits, Argentine, Swiss, German, French, Singaporean..... the social side made or 5 nights there a simply fabulous experience to be remembered for years to come.

The bedrooms are basic but warmish and comfortable. The house is charming and a bit exotic. Being there was like being in a big happy family.

This should be a No 1 venue.. Simply wonderful!

(A lot of the top end travel companies use this place as well!!)

Room Tip: Any - they are all fine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Long drive from the airport but worth it. Our flight was delayed so we didn't arrive until very late but were greeted with warmth and a perfect light meal (and lovely wine). We were the only people staying which increased our sense of being spoiled.
The room was simple and comfortable - but you are not staying here to be in your room! We saw whales, seals, penguins, sheep shearing and tried our hands at water divining! Activities were flexible, based on what we wanted to do, and nothing was rushed.
We had fabulous meals throughout in a lovely room looking out towards the sea. Nothing was too much trouble. A wonderful barbecue one evening made by the resident gaucho. We sat round the table with our hosts discussing Downton Abbey....
Genuinely sad to leave. If you get the opportunity to visit this amazing area and this lovely lodge then grab it with both hands!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a lovely place. If you like very nice people, a wonderful charming house, excellent homemade food, fantastic fauna and outstanding peacful sourrounding you have to visit this place. We have never been guest in such a house of spirit, we just felt in love. We definately will come back again. But next time, we will stay longer!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pedral Lodge

Address: Puerto Madryn, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pedral Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pedral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.