We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best base for visiting this region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Canela B&B

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Canela B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Canela B&B
Los Notros 1440, Villa Ayelen, Esquel 9200, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Esquel B&B and Inns
Tallinn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best base for visiting this region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Hosteria Canel B&B is really an enjoyable place. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the breakfeast is delicious. The center of Esquel is not far, but you even do not need to go there - a very good restaurant is about 500m from the hosteria. The owners (Veronica and Jorge) speak English fluently and are very well informed how the things are going in Argentina and also in Europe. It was a pleasure to have conservation with them. They can help you to get tickets for excursions. I was in trouble - needed to return to Chile but there were no buses, so Jorge take me in his own car to the nearest chilean town. My recommendation - if you want to visit this region, Hosteria Canela is the best place for base.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Hello Viktor
Nothing feels better than helping a foreign tourist solve his problems in the easiest possible way. For me, it is the best kind of hospitality one can offer. And In doing so I learnt a lot about Tallinn and your country during our long conversation on the car trip to Futaleufu.
Thanks for your nice review.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
71
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spend 1 night in this B&B and enjoyed our time there very much! Our room was spacious and the breakfast was of very good quality. It's located 3 min from the city center in a quiet and relaxed neighbourhood. The owner was helpful when we needed to change our tire (what happens quite often in Patagonia): he went with us to a garage/repair shop to ensure we come along and get not ripped off! Overall we only can recommend staying there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Hello guys,

Thanks for your trouble in writing a nice review. Helping our guests find the best places in Esquel (including a tyre repair shop) is one of the things we believe makes a difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

"Landing" with our car at Hosteria Canela we couldn't hardly believe that this would be the place for the next night: A beautiful house in a lovely garden. We have not been disappointed, everything was excellent! A warm and friendly welcome, nice rooms really inviting to stay, very interesting fotos, a marvellous breakfast... Jorge gave us very precious tips of what we should visit in Esquel and on our way North. While talking together we find out that his ancestors lived half an hour away from where we live in Switzerland. He showed us the heraldic figure of his family. We would have liked to stay much longer, we felt so fine. One thing for sure: if ever we visit again this part of Argentinia we will make a detour to say hello to Veronica, Jorge and there wonderful dog!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Gianno,

Thanks so much for your great review of Canela. We enjoyed your visit, and it was a pity you did not have time to stay for a couple of days.

Nice photos too. Angus misses you!

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hosteria Canela is a delightful place. Veronica and Jorge are very welcoming and helpful, and made us feel immediately at home. They have a keen interest in the history of the region - both Jorge and Veronica's father have written books about it which are on hand to peruse. The house and rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated and spotless. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Hello BevB,
Thank you for your review, and for your recommending us to other travelers too. It was our pleasure having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

What to say? Everything was perfect, from the room, to breakfast, to the hospitality of the owners. Highly suggested if you pass by Esquel. Only improvement: it could be better indicated from downtown - we spent some time looking for it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Sara C.

Thanks for your nice review! About finding us... well, we are some blocks away from the city's noisy downtown. We have a printable Google map on our website, but not everybody gets to see it, nor the indications in our "Getting Here" section. We are also listed on the GPS systems, but then the local car rentals don't seem to provide these devices on their cars, The local Tourism Office can give easy directions for Canela, and our TripAdvisor page also has a map...but it seems sometimes Esquel turns out to be a bigger city than our incoming guests expect! All in all, most of them like our location, and the relatitvely large (a quarter city block) grounds it made possible. Sorry if you had some difficulty finding us, but we are happy that you did, as we really enjoyed having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

As a corportate pilot I don't know where my boss will be taking me. This year it was Argentina. He went to Bariloche and we took the aircraft to Esquel to stay out of the ash. I arrived with no expectations. What a pleasant surprise I had staying at The Hosteria Canela for 3 nights. Jorge and Veronica did not dissappoint based on previous reviews. They were charming, interesting, bilingual (english and spanish) and very attentive hosts. Jorge set us up for a boat tour of the National Park. Julio was our guide and we saw some of the most beautiful sites in the world, lakes, snowcapped mountains, and glaciers. I was told there are "monster" rainbow trout (10 kgs) in the lakes. If I had another day Julio and I would have been on a mission to find them.

The Hosteria Calela is a wonderful place. Each room has it's own character. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms a large. The breakfast is magnificant. I have one question for the readers: is it OK to have Apple Pie for breakfast? I think so and I did every morning, fresh apple pie and I loved it.

When we need to get catering for the aircraft, Jorge was a huge help finding the food and doing our translating. It would not have been possible without him.

Both Jorge and Veronica are real treasures. I was treated like a king and leave with great memories. Thanks to both of you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you CT Curt and your job partner for choosing to stay with us on Xmas. We had a very good time having you here, and it was our pleasure to show you around and providing help when needed. We strived to make you feel at home on such a special date, a long way from your families back home. As some of our reviewers say, Canela B&B is "your home away from home" in Patagonia. Wish we succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

As B&Bs go, this is a delightful place. Each room has its own character and privacy, the breakfast is superb and the location (if you're driving) convenient. But the most likable part of our stay was the owners who are attentive, engaging and interesting people. On top of all of that, they have a fantastic collection of oil paintings (some by Veronica) and photos (by Jorge). The only thing we didn't like was the bedding -- the weight of the many blankets and bedspread, although homey, is almost suffocating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hello Bill,
Nice to know you liked our paintings & photographs, there is a lot of (enjoyable) work put in in them by Vero & self, so we really appreciate your comment.
Sorrry if we overdid it with the bed clothes. We should have taken into account you come from Idaho and taken away the feather eiderdown. It's always there because many of our guests coming from warm Buenos Aires or other northern Argentina provinces find our Patagonian nights chilly, even in summer.
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Canela B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Canela B&B

Address: Los Notros 1440, Villa Ayelen, Esquel 9200, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Esquel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solid, elegant 5-bedroom brick-and-timber house surrounded by an ample lawn and pine trees, Hosteria Canela B&B provides quality lodging in a homelike atmosphere. Our location in Villa Ayelen, a residential district just a mile away from Esquel center, offers the best of two worlds: cable TV, free wireless Internet, restaurants and shops just five minutes away, taxis, laundry, and other services while letting you enjoy free, in-premises parking, a quiet environment and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hosteria Canela B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Canela B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.