We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay near Tafi del Valle.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica to your Saves list
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta Provincal 325 Km. 13, Tafi del Valle, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay near Tafi del Valle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed only one day and regret not staying longer! Rooms are beautiful, very nicely decorated and with amazing views on the grounds. We went for a ride on their horses around the property and enjoyed that very much. We had dinner there and food was ok. Breakfast had limited options but maybe due to the fact that there were only 2 more rooms occupied apart from ours. Staff is very helpful. Beautiful place to stay and relax during your trip to the North of Argentina.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
43
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights but I would have stayed for ever! Great and quiet place, sorrounded by mountains. Incredible landscape, very friendly staff, great food and very nice rooms and bathroom. A great place to rest, away from the noice of the city and it's a short drive to Tafi del Valle.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome - Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed one night in this beautiful estancia located close to Tafi del Valle. It's not easy to get there but it's worthy!!! The estancia is an old jesuit building dated in the 18th century. Rooms are very comfortable and the restaurant is superb! Unfortunately I couldn't enjoy the activities planned at the Estancia because I stopped only before heading to Cachi through the Routa 40. The owner gave me a lot of useful info about my trip in the North of Argentina.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We loved our 2 nights at Estancia Las Carreras. Built by Jesuits over 200 years ago, this is a place with a story to tell, and at night when they light candles throughout the patio and main house, it is a magical place! We enjoyed seeing how they make their own cheese and dulce de leche, and the other activities of the estancia. The staff are outstanding, and the food is delicious and surprising to find gourmet dishes at such a small property.
Expertly led by Hernan, We went on a trail ride, way to the top peak of the closest mountain- inspiring views, and a lovely mountain top picnic with homemade breads and cheese.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Las Carreras is one of the top places to stay in the area of Tafi del Valle. While it is technically an Estancia, it would be wrong to compare it with a traditional estancia such as you would find in the Province of Buenos Aires. This area has a different terrain, and activities are different to what you would have in the Pampas area. Staff is very friendly and try very hard to serve, mostly with good results. Outdoor views and activities are varied, the horseback activites are a must... the views are amazing. The drive into town is 14kms. so its best to arrive here with your own vehicle so you can have some autonomy to drive around or go into town for a meal if you want that flexibility. The style of the Estancia is rustic, but includes all amenities needed to make you comfortable, with excellent hot water and heating service (it was very cold when we visited). High speed internet is also available, and they have a TV room with Direct TV for those that need their daily dose. Some details with staff and food have room for improvement, but overall this place is very good considering you are staying in the middle of the mountains... I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We enjoyed our 2 nights here.....the hosts were wonderful....hiking fun....seeing llamas sheared and cheese made on the ranch. Only thing not so good was the food but certainly passable. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

it was again a nice stay there but again to short. I prefer the old but very comfortable house with the special cooking

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica

Address: Ruta Provincal 325 Km. 13, Tafi del Valle, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > Tafi del Valle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.