We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the center of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hotel Metropol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Hotel Metropol to your Saves list
Swiss Hotel Metropol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 De Septiembre 524, San Miguel de Tucuman 4000, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the center of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Easy to find via Google Map, located right in the center of town. Covered parking nearby at reduced hotel rate for USD8 per day, good wifi throughout the hotel for free once we got it working. Good lobby, slow elevator.
Good sized well lit decently carpeted room, small desk with chair, easy chair. Tiled bathroom with curtained tub/shower, good shelf space at sink.
Very good continental breakfast, no eggs, minimal cheese and ham, but great variety of breads, danish pastries and cakes, as well as cereals, yoghurt, etc.
We also had a good dinner at their restaurant - at a table set in the lobby because the actual restaurant La Marina was fully booked for a function - which demonstrates their flexibility in unusal situations.
All-in-all a good hotel and good room, particularly considering the excellent price we got on booking.com - we well recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    36
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
47
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We only stayed one night and it was good. The staff was helpful and the hotel is well located. The rooms have carpet and it's a little stuffy, but overall comfortable. I wouldn't have stayed there more than a day or 2. Recommended for the price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This nice, comfort hotel is perfectly located near the corner of the main square, and surrounded by excellent shopping ladies! Our double room was smallish, but we weren't bothered. We were traveling so didn't intend on spending much time in the room - but instead outdoors exploring! On our 1st day we arrived into Tucuman very early (approx 6am after an overnight bus ride from Salta. The Swiss Hotel Metropol staff kindly let us check into our room and have it immediately as we were in much need of a shower and a proper rest. This was greatly appreciated.
The staff were friendly. Free Wi-Fi was good and the computers in reception was also a bonus for doing additional travel planning. Reception kindly let us print confirmations etc through their printer too. The buffet continental breakfast is plentiful.
The safe in our room didn't work - but we weren't too bothered as didn't have any valuables with us and felt completely safe enough to leave our passports in our room without any issues.
I would recommend this as a good convenient and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is excellent. We stayed for just over a week. Originally we had a double room, which was a good size, clean and comfortable, with lovely bathroom, but on the second day we had problems with the safe, and as they could not fix it we were given a suite! 902 is beautiful, with a lounge, guest bathroom, superking bed in a lovely bedroom and excellent bathroom, with bath and shower over and with a modern and comfortable decoration. We only have a few words of Spanish, but everyone is kind, lovely and helpful - a few people on reception speak English too. Breakfast is a buffet of ham, cheese, bread which can be toasted, fruit, pastries, juices(freshly squeezed orange) and smoothies, tea or coffee - what more could you ask for - it is served from 6.30 (I think) until 10.30. The tradition in Tucuman is that people eat dinner really late in the evening, at 10 pm or later, so a late continental breakfast is perfect. For overseas visitors you need an electrical adapter, the same as Australia is perfect. The pool area was being refurbished when we were there, but the pool was available - it was smallish, being on the roof top, but clean. A few people were there when we used it. There are chairs and umbrellas and the views are wonderful. Internet is free and there are 4 computers for guests use near reception too, also free. The room was serviced daily with plenty of clean towels and a cheery smile. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. Location is a real plus here, beng in the middle of "downtown" near the Square. Taxis stand on the kerbside just to the right of the hotel in the evening, though the main atractions, the Historic House, Cathedral, Churches, Museums/Gallery and shops are all within walking distance. ( Some are free entrance or tiny entrance fees and well worth visiting.) The taxis are small and plentiful and very cheap!
Over the road are a couple of restaurants and an ice cream parlour, but the range of restaurants in Tucuman is amazing - we were told the national sport in Argentina is eating and that is very true!!

Room Tip: If you can, do choose a suite for lovely luxury, I think they are located on the 9th and 10th floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

very old and smelly hotel, expensive and overated. The only good thing about it was the breadfast.It needs work. Has a pool, but it was empty!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel is just ok, but very farom being 4 stars.
The room is quite small, with a very old fashioned and noisy aircon, but it's clearn and the bed is comfortable.
The shower is very small, but again, clean and functional.
Internet is complimentary which is very nice, and they even have a few computers for guests in the lobby.
Staff were helpful enough when I approached them (the restaurant stuff are significantly friendlier).
Breakfast is quite boring, without any warm dishes (which means lots of bread and pastries - no eggs and no vegetables).
Location is very central, just meters from the main plaza, and with lots of eating options nearby.
In other words, a no frill hotel to sleep at.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I feel the need to balance the other review of the Swiss Metropol, since my family's experience was very positive. The lobby and restaurant are quite elegant, the rooms are more basic. Overall it's a little expensive for what you get, but still good. We stayed in three different rooms over a three-week period. All the beds were comfortable and the everything very clean, including the bathrooms. The rooms were quiet, but the heat/air conditioning units were a little noisy. Internet in the rooms and lobby. Most of the staff were very helpful, although not all speak English. Very convenient location near the main plaza with lots of shopping and street life.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel Metropol

Address: 24 De Septiembre 524, San Miguel de Tucuman 4000, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > San Miguel de Tucuman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Tucuman
#7 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Tucuman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Hotel Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Metropol Tucuman, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Hotel Metropol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.