We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific small hotel in Salta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Virrey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Virrey to your Saves list
Hotel del Virrey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 de Febrero 420, Salta A4400EMJ, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Salta
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Terrific small hotel in Salta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I would like to mention that my wife and I had the pleasure to stay four nights at the Hotel Del Virrey in the beautiful city of Salta in northern Argentina. Yes, David who runs the hotel is a wonderful host. He is helpful in many capacities including arranging taxi's, recommending sites to see, and making sure all is perfect at his cozy hotel. The rooms are all different in some way. The beds are super comfortable; the bathroom facilities all work; and there is even a small dipping pool in the backyard. The neighborhood is lovely with access to all that Salta can offer you. The plaza is about a 10 minute walk. Each morning guests can partake of a great breakfast that is included in the room rate. My wife and I agreed that the Virrey is one of our top places to stay in Argentina. I will rate it a solid 'A'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipiCR, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear, Thank you very much for your comment through TRIPADVISOR . It is an affection to the soul your words and an incentive to continue giving their best one. David is an excellent host and really is looking after everything and entire disposal of the passenger. For all the hotel staff was a pleasure to have you as guest.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    70
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
127
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Lovely old hotel well located near city centre and restaurants with friendly, helpful staff. The room was quiet and comfortable, Dario and his brother were both very helpful with tour and restaurant suggestions, wake up calls and arranging taxis and tours. Nice breakfasts and free wifi. Small pool in the back for those that wish to cool off.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipiCR, Manager at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Caroline, Thank you for your beautiful comment. In fact the Virrey Hotel is an old colonial mansion refurbished to new for provide the best service to our Guests. - As you well mentioned the hotel offers wireless internet, parking, breakfast buffet, outdoor pool, health coverage and tourist information: absolutely free !
Best wishes and hope again for the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

David and Dario run an excellent hotel. The staff are efficient and welcoming, the hotel well appointed with large ensuites and a secluded garden sitting area with small pool in the rear. Rooms are well insulated from street traffic noise, ensuring a good night's repose. Rooms contain a stocked fridge, large bath and ample closet. There is an abundant buffet breakfast from 6:30 until 10:30 A.M. The location is five blocks from Plaza 9 de Julio; there is an excellent coffee house on the immediate corner. English is spoken in reception. Wifi signal is strong throughout!

Room Tip: Several in back have windows facing on garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipiCR, Manager at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear, Thank you for your appreciation for the work done with affection. It is the main objective of all of us at the Hotel del Virrey to remember your stay with joy and eager to return. For us it is a pleasure to serve our guests in any way necessary to get an excellent stay.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

For location,price,character and friendliness of staff this is an excellent hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipiCR, Manager at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear: Thank you for your comment. Everyone at the Hotel welcomes your words as we provide a stimulus for further improvement.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel was booked for us by Imagine Latin America as part of a multi centre holiday. We stayed here twice and were made welcome by excellent, friendly staff. Our first room overlooked the garden and our second fronted the road but was larger.
Excellent position for exploring the town, well refurbished, lots of old wooden furniture and the small garden was a nice addition to a town centre property, along with a safe, private car park. Safety was supplemented by CCTV of the entrance.
Public space to relax was limited, but the whole place had a nice homely feel.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor on the road, and might be noisy/too light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipiCR, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear,
Thank you for your review. We value your opinion it is very important because it helps us to improve every day and we're gratified the soul recognition for a job well done.
I agree with you about the charm of Room 105 is in its simplicity and tranquility who invites a relaxation of the senses. In contrast to room 101 characterizes its beauty, size and tastefully decorated to transport it to one at time.
For an upcoming visit you will have a favorite room !
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews I had read here and it lived up to all expectations. I was warmly greeted on arrival by the owner David and his wife, who told me to treat the hotel like home during my 3 night stay.

The hotel is ideally located a few blocks from the main square, an easy walk, plus only about 2 blocks from Balcarce, a street with many dining and drinking options. Security is good with a locked front door and 24 hour reception cover.

The rooms are quiet, spacious with comfortable beds and bathrooms with great showers. Mine looked out onto the garden and the small pool (which I didn't have time to use). The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, has character, some antiques (such as an old fashioned cash register) in the corridors and a small breakfast room at the front.

Breakfast is served from 6am, which was greatly appreciated, because many of the day trips into the amazing surrounding areas leave before 7am, so it means you don't start the day hungry or without a coffee kick start! Breakfast is the usual affair of juice, coffee, fruit, cereals and breads.

The staff are all fantastic, so friendly and helpful, plus bi-lingual (Spanish and English) and in my experience give reliable advice about local restaurants.

I would not hesitate to recommend this super friendly and homely small hotel to anyone and would stay here again, without any hesitation, on my return to Salta.

Room Tip: Room 5 at the back, looking out onto the garden was lovely - and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipiCR, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Steve, Thank you for your beautiful comment. It's a heart caress yours words. All of us at the hotel we strive hard to make our guests feel at home. Regarding the time breakfast is served 6:00 a.m. especially early in order that everyone can have breakfast before to their trips early. With respect to the shower is absolutely right, it seems a massage! With great joy we hope to have you again for your hotel and enjoy the silence and the singing of the birds in our garden. Best Regards
Silvia Cornejo Revilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at Hotel del Virrey for 3 nights in total - leaving in the middle for a tour in the Quebrada de Humahuaca. Salta is a pretty small town, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of all the central plaza and the main sightseeing/restaurant areas. It is situated in a lovely old house and has just 8 rooms - we stayed in 2 of them, both of which were spacious, comfortable and full of character, with good bathrooms. The reception is staffed in turn by 3 charming young men, all of whom were friendly and helpful. The hotel stored our luggage while we were away and turned our laundry round in less than 12 hours when we returned. There is a small garden and swimming pool (very cold) and we spent a restful afternoon there. They also have free wifi. This was my favourite hotel during our 3 week trip to Argentina.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChipiCR, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your review. To all the staff your words are an incentive to continue improving and providing the best of us. The Virrey hotel have a mission: "make that your stay in our house be remembered with love and joy. We wait you for another time. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Virrey

Address: 20 de Febrero 420, Salta A4400EMJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Virrey 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Virrey is a charming hotel, located in the historical heart of the city of Salta. It is an old colonial mansion of the early twentieth century; it was entirely renovated keeping its colonial lines with all the necessary comfort to meet the highest expectations of demanding guests.With a prime location just four blocks from the main square "9 de Julio" from the most important museums and from the commercial banking center of the historic city of Salta.Salta is a province rich in history and relief diversity, climate, flora and fauna. His landscapes change abruptly at such a few miles. From the Valles Calchaquíes, La Puna, Valle de Lerma, Salares, among others.In Hotel del Virrey you will be able to enjoy all these circuits with excellent and personalized service. Our staff is at your constant disposal to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Virrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.