We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Antiguo Convento

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel del Antiguo Convento
Save
You added Hotel del Antiguo Convento to your Saves list
Caseros 113, Salta 4400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Salta
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stylish small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having experienced a wide variety of accommodation, including camping, as my husband and I cycled around northern Argentina, we found this hotel to be particularly nice. Having such a large bathroom was a rare treat for us as was the nice art and craft displayed on walls. The pool is not big but fine for cooling off in and the small cafe where breakfast was served was intimate enough that we got to chat to other guests which was pleasant.
Sound did travel a bit from the room not far from ours but it did not keep us from sleeping.
An easy walk to the many of Salta's attractions and just around the corner from a restaurant we really enjoyed - Ma Cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    123
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
176
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Ideally situated, this hotel is a very nice place. Perfectly clean, bright, with lovely decoration... It's a very charming place, I recommend couples, families or anyone else to stay there when travelling in Salta. The staff is friendly and helpful. On sunny days you can have breakfast outside, in a little patio with many flowers, it's beautiful. We'd go back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here several times. Its a great place to stay, very close to everything, friendly and helpful staff, clean. The pool is small but okay. Besides the normal rooms we liked the apartment for five on two levels

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 10 days and used the Antiguo Convento as our home base in Salta, with overnight trips to Purmamarca in Jujuy, and Cafayate in Salta's wine country. Carlos, Juan, Angel, and Esteban (a former tour guide) treated us like family. The hotel offered us a 20% discount because of the length of our stay, so we splurged on the Executive Room 33 steps up. By paying cash with Argentine pesos we had purchased in Uruguay, we saved another almost 40% on the hotel tab (the official bank exchange and credit card rate is 6 to 1, whereas the "parallel" rate for cash was 9.6 to 1). Final cost came to about $50 U.S./day. Breakfast with fresh local croissants (media lunas), homemade marmalade, juices, yogurt, etc. was excellent. Location downtown was convenient, and the Charrua restaurant just up the street first class.

Incanan Tours the hotel had recommended gave us 2 private guided tours with overnight stays for the same price as Hertz wanted weekly for a small rental car; easy decision given the distances involved and remote/unpaved roads in several places.

Room Tip: At these prices, highly recommend upgrading to an Executive room on the 3rd level, with nice fresh-a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Hotel del Antiguo Convento was converted to a hotel from a spacious old home in Salta It has been completely remodeled to make it into a hotel but has retained much of the feeling of the spacious old home it was. It has several interior patios adding to the pleasant ambiance. There's interesting local art (not your generic hotel art) on the walls, not only in the rooms but in public areas of the hotel, too.

Rooms are well appointed, comfortable, atmospheric clean and attractive. Staff are consistently friendly and helpful. It's located in a quiet area next to the Convento San Bernardo and is small (15 rooms) which contributes to the quiet atmosphere. They're located within walking distance of both the bus terminal and the city center, Plaza 9 de Julio; about halfway between the two.

Breakfast is typically Argentine, focusing on breads and pastries but also with lunchmeat and cheese for protein. There's a good variety available and breakfast is available for a fairly lengthy period of time to accommodate both the early and the late risers.

As others have noted, they operate on a cash basis only. Because of that, I was unable to guarantee my reservation with a credit card or make a deposit but they were very accommodating, only asking me to email them to confirm my reservation a couple of times prior to my arrival. They responded promptly to all emails and were patient and easy to work with as my plans evolved and my needs changed.

I stayed four nights and the price at that time (not at the height of the tourist season) was very reasonable and an excellent value.

If I return to Salta my first choice for a place to stay will be Hotel del Antiguo Convento.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed four nights at the hotel and enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms were spacious and well-equipped and the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the major attractions of Salta. The only real problem was that the hotel only takes cash, which can be difficult if you are unprepared.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for a total of four nights and loved it. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious and the beds were super comfortable! As others have mentioned, the staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Salta--the location and bang for the buck cannot be beaten!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Antiguo Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Antiguo Convento

Address: Caseros 113, Salta 4400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salta
#9 Business Hotel in Salta
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is an old recycled house ,wich offers the combination of the colonial style with modern comfort facilities .The Hotel is located down town , rigth in the historical heart of the city,three blocks from Plaza 9 de Julio,Salta main square and just steps from San Bernardo´s Convent. Because of its strategic position ,its allows to visit the Cathedral,the Cabildo (the old town hall),museums and others turistic atractions with a very short walking distance.We have spacious rooms ,each of them rustically decorated ,ligthed and completely equipped . Among its services the Hotel offers a swimming pool sourounded by a solarium and beautiful gardens ,and a colonial patio where our snack bar service can be enjoyed ,also we have a gym with scottish shower and massage parlour.We represent a new Hotel ,different ,run by young people ,offering quality and maximun comfort ,a place suited to rest and enjoyed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Del Antiguo Convento Salta
Del Antiguo Convento Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Antiguo Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.