We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Salta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Salta to your Saves list
Hotel Salta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Buenos Aires 1, General Guemes, Salta A4402FDA, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Salta
Montreal
1 review
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Everything is wrong there: the man at the desk was rude, the valet not helpful at all, we didn't get the room we reserved, and the look and feel... OMG. They need to refresh it! The pictures don't reflect the reality at all. Noisy, dark, and out of date.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    89
    38
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
68
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location of this hotel cannot be beaten. On the corner of the main square. The Aerolineas Argentinas office is next door. There is a great car-rental company (Noa) in the lobby (we rented a car from them for 4 days. They offer relatively good prices and excellent customer service). There are lots of tourist agencies and tourist shops within spitting distance.
We paid AR$815 for a standard room for one night. The room, like the entire hotel, is true to the building's history, reflecting the style of the 1910's. The room had beautiful wooden parquet floors, comfortable (but not sumptuous) beds, sturdy bathroom.
Breakfast was your standard Argentinian fayre, but nothing to write home about. The breakfast room staff did not acknowledge our existence.
There is pretty good wifi available for free everywhere.
All in all a pretty good experience in a hotel that fits into the colonial style and ethos of Salta.
The male reception staff were all polite but quite distant. Such was their haughty and dismissive attitude I did not feel comfortable asking them for assistance with anything. It felt like they were doing you a favour just to acknowledge your existence. The lady with the curly hair was, however, quite friendly and welcoming.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel couldn't be more central. Comfortable hotel old style. Good buffet breakfast and all other amenities.
Ask for a room at the back, more quiet and great view over the cathedral.
We received a good deal as we stayed 3 nights.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have spent 6 nigths at this traditional Salta Hotel. I think it was built circa 1940 Although the hotel needs to modernise the rooms and specially the bathrooms, the experience was very good. The location is excellent in front of the principal square " Plaza 9 de julio" , very near the principal colonial attractions such as the Cabildo, the Cathedral, The MAM ( museo de alta montaña) where you can see the Moms of the the 3 kids sacrificed by the Incas at Llullaillaco volcan) . Excellent attention by everyone working at the hotel. I need to result the cleanliness of every part of the hotel. Very good buffet breakfast.. Nice experience .It's a 4* hotel and the price is good.

Room Tip: Rooms looking at the back or the parking or pool are quieter. Higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A classic in-town hotel, right on the central plaza, the Hotel Salta is starting to look a bit tired. But the rooms seem to have been updated in the past few years and the staff was nice enough. Location is the key, however, even though the 560 peso rate is maybe 100 too high.

We only had breakfast in the restaurant and that was not too satisfying. We soon learned that satisfying breakfasts in Argentina are few and far between. But the room itself was bordering on creepy; we never saw many people eating in there, even for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Classy old hotel. Conveniently placed and a reminder of a bygone age. The staff were friendly helpful efficient. The rooms were fine. A pleasant change from modern hotel chains. Some people may prefer somewhere more modern but you should take the opportunity to travel back in time. The staff seem like they have been here forever and nothing is too much trouble. Centrally situated an easy stroll to some good shops and restaurants. Very close to the museum and tourist bus and the Movitrack office is just round the corner ready for an early start for your mountain safari. Very good laundry service. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Good view of the church if you are on the right side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was the first time we tried the walk-in-pay-cash in Argentina, and we got almost 20% off from what it would have been had we resorted paying by card.

Our room was nice and tidy and located on the top floor. It was not especially big, but we were able to open two large pieces of luggage without any problems. The view was over the San Francisco church and the mountains, which was also good. The good thing about that side is that there was absolutely no noise from the street. Needless to say, the hotel's location is the best in town.

The breakfast ok, with a good selection.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Salta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salta

Address: Buenos Aires 1, General Guemes, Salta A4402FDA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Salta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Salta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Salta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.