We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal, if you pay cash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Salta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Salta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Salta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Buenos Aires 1, General Guemes, Salta A4402FDA, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 89 hotels in Salta
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good deal, if you pay cash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was the first time we tried the walk-in-pay-cash in Argentina, and we got almost 20% off from what it would have been had we resorted paying by card.

Our room was nice and tidy and located on the top floor. It was not especially big, but we were able to open two large pieces of luggage without any problems. The view was over the San Francisco church and the mountains, which was also good. The good thing about that side is that there was absolutely no noise from the street. Needless to say, the hotel's location is the best in town.

The breakfast ok, with a good selection.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
49
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I loved staying at the Hotel Salta. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the rooms were simple and comfortable, and the location could not be improved upon. The view from my room, facing the Church of San Francisco one block away, was beautiful by day and absolutely stunning at night.

To be sure, there are more modern and more expensive hotels in Salta, but for convenience, price, and comfort, I don't think you can do better than the Hotel Salta.

Room Tip: If you would prefer a quiet room, ask for a room on a high floor with a good view of the Church of S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

If you a looking for a perfect example of "old Salta" hospitality and charm, mixed with modern Salta conveniences, this is the place to stay. I have stayed at the Hotel Salta many times and encouraged friends to stay there. Its not overwhelming, it feels like home -- unlike the hotels that are of more recent construction and higher prices. The rooms have been updated and are comfortable (not old). The staff are wonderful, and the place is "authentic" Salta. It is perfectly located at the corner of the main colonial style plaza, across from local eateries, artesanry shops, and the theatre (with ballet and orchestra!), museums, etc. There is a store with old silver antiquities associated with the traditional gauchos and famous horses of Salta. But the hotel is typically Salta, -- understated and not excessively formal. One of my friends who stayed at Hotel Salta came down with a flu bug, and as soon as they knew she was not feeling well, the hotel sent a FREE doctor visit with two nurses to evaluate her in her room and they gave her free medication, because this hotel has a "protection policy" for their guests. Because the prices have to keep up with high inflation rates in Argentina, the people who answer the phone may not give you the exact price several months in advance, but their prices have been fair over the years so its wise to go with the flow and commit without knowing the exact price in advance. The windows have the "parisian" shades that can be lowered to darken the room, or opened to look out on the impressive views. Hotel Salta has a great spa with good massage treatments in a separate building near the pool, and a private parking area that is locked. Nothing to dislike here!! Just tell the reception people what you need, with the rather formal respect that Salteños use with each other. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking toward the San Franciso Cathedral, if you want a more private location. Or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We got put up here by Aerolineas Argentinas for one night when we couldn't fly out from Salta airport. We got a lovely room, the staff were very good - we paid for dinner and when the staff found out they went and made sure we got a refund (the airline had said they would pay for our dinner). We had a very pleasant evening and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

perfectly located at the plaza 9 de julio in the heart of the city center ( MAAM museum, cathedral and other beautiful churches very close ), salta hotel is not overpriced as so many hotels at similar locations all over the world. rooms ( including bath room ) are clean and maintained. staff is attentive, helpful and kind. restaurant ( all day service ) looks mediocre, breakfast is argentinian hotel standard style ( bred, ham, cheese, cereals, fruit salad ). wi-fi internet access works rather slowly in the rooms. noise isolation is good, but a noisey air condition makes it hard to sleep in warm season as everywhere in argentina. in the upper floors, hotel salta offers a nice view over the city of salta to the surrounding mountains. quite warmy ambiance in general although salta hotel is a bigger house. offering a lot of rooms, i have got a room on site even on good friday, ( very ) high season in salta. all in all a place to recommend if you do not look for a cheap accommodation. only little taxi ride from bus terminal ( approx. 10 squares ).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

When we arrived from the airport we had some diffeculties finding the hotel right away. Although the Hotel is not small the sign outside obove the door certainly is! This is definitely a point they can improve!
We stayed in total for 3 nights in this Hotel. And had 2 different rooms. Both rooms were ok. The second room we had when we came back after a tour in the provence was even beter. Nice view on the cathedral. When we arrived at 23.00 we could have diner at 23.30 and the girl at the reception helped us by making a phonecall for a horse-backriding-trip the next day. Breakfast starts being served extremely early at 5.30 a.m. and was good and one of the best we had seen on our voyage through Argentina.
Good WIFI or Ethernet internet is avaiable in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

...there was a luxury hotel in the centre of the town and the hotel was called "Salta".
Unfortunately a lot of time has passed since that day.
We had to stay in hotel Salta for 3 nights as it was practically the only option - all the other centrally located hotels were full. We are not usually picky when it comes to the accommodation but if the asked price is above average then we start looking what we are paying for.
The first impression was good. Very old school - large wooden reception desk in the lobby, small elevator, dark and long corridors with squeeking wooden floors. And of course the location was excellent - by the central plaza.
Unfortunately the room was crappy. Small, very small. The windowblinds did not work, half of the lamps in the room did not work, one night there was no hot water and the staff... Well they were not very welcoming.
We did not spend much time in the hotel but for us it seemed that the asked price was too much for that quality. There are far better choices in the centrum (we saw them but they were all full) with much lower prices. If I go back to wonderful city of Salta again then hotel "Salta" will not be my choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Salta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salta

Address: Buenos Aires 1, General Guemes, Salta A4402FDA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 89 hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Salta 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Salta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Salta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.