We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sillon del inca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andes Challenge - Private Day Tours

Andes Challenge - Private Day Tours
Ricardo Rojas 77 | Duplex 4, Salta 4400, Argentina
54 387 431 0184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Activities in Salta
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Andes Challenge is a tour company specializing in adventure activities.We devise the best activities by working directly with you, our guests. When organizing our hikes, mountain biking trips and other adventure activities, we always plan circuits and tours taking you on a journey through the stunning scenery of this mountainous region, with its unique cultures, from pre-Hispanic times to the present day. Rather than looking on as tourists, we try to immerse ourselves (and you) directly in the culture by close contact with nature and the local inhabitants.
Caen, France
1 review
“sillon del inca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

hello everybody!
such a great experience to share this travel with a reallygood team of mountains guide! three days of walk in the andes with two nights under the mountain's night sky!
it was an amazing experience, full of beautiful view and wonderful meetings!
if you can do this travel just jump on it and enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic tripping in Salta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were told by several people that Salta is beautiful so we decided to go as a side trip from Buenos Aires.We found Andes Challenge online and were blown away by the trip they put together for us. In the 3 days we had with them we went white water rafting - so fun and through an amazing river,hiked the amazingly beautiful red, green, burnt orange mountains near dusk, walked through a cactus forest, had great meals, picnics in the wilderness, mountain biked route 40 and down through mountains, and visited old colonial towns....among them Cafayete and Cachi. Fecundo and Santiago are two great guys, very personable and with a wealth of knowledge about the area and it's history. They arranged the vehicles and all logistics. If I were to do it again, I would spend a couple more days with them and do an overnight hike into the mountains. Also, they know the hotels really well in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredibly Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family hired Andes Challenge for 3 days and had one of the most memorable experiences. We visited Cachi, Cafayete and other surrounding ares, and participated in a number of different activities (rafting, biking, hiking..). Both the guides, who are from Salta, were extremely knowledgeable, accommodating and flexible regarding our touring plans and helped us attain the trip we were looking for. They are a youthful and exciting duo and I 100% recommend them to anyone looking for a unique and fulfilling experience in northern Argentina.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salta is stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

While our family has rarely used guides when we travelled, we did use Andes Challenge on a recent 4 day trip through the province and it was the best decision we could have made. Facundo and Santiago were both great travelling partners through the towering landscape that you find in Salta province. There is so much to see and learn and they have great insight on where to go and what to know, taking us to places we could never have found if we had stuck to our traditional "do it ourselves" kind of plan. Some our highlights included;
• the Quebrada de Cafayate is a road not to be missed...it's just such a visual overload.
• biking along route 40 between Cafayate & Cachi
• a hike through the cactus National Park
• a 45 km coast down a mountain
Facundo put together the itinerary based on what we wanted but has lots of other ideas about what to do in the province. If you want to experience this gorgeous part of the world in a way you won't ever forget, then you may want to start with a call to Andes Challenge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular Experience: Visually Stunning, Fun, and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is one of the most remarkable experiences we have had as a family and I recommend this to anyone, not just families. Please read on so you can understand how unique this was for our family. The tours by Andes Challenge can apparently be tailored to the traveler's interests and capacities. Our experience was as follows:

This was a grand adventure for our family of 2 adults, and 3 kids of 10 years of age. Facundo Zambrano at ,Andes Challenge, created a unique and memorable tour and tailored the hiking portion to be "family-friendly", informative, and fun .For three days and two nights we traveled to remote villages, stayed overnight in family homes, and walked to special areas with breathtaking views of high mountains, beautiful pasture land, and rock and mountain landscapes of intense color (red, yellow, and green).

The hikes were breathtakingly beautiful in these remote areas with condors flying overhead, snow on the mountains, and interaction with the local families in the isolated region.

Facundo, who was with us on the entire trip and is the owner of Andes Challenge, shared his knowledge of the history, politics, and culture of the Salta and Mountain Region's people and lifestyle. He truly made the experience come "alive"; providing stories, experience, and knowledge of the area. I cannot recommend Facundo and his company in strong enough terms. This was without doubt one of the most enriching experiences we have had as a family. We will forever remember this trip.

A side note: Facundo also has a unique passion and expertise regarding wines (that we did not learn about until the end of the trip). He leads wine tours but does not publish this fact. He is completely fluent in Spanish, English, and German. By his description, he is an excellent cook, apparently cooking for the longer tours via horse or on foot (which can be weeks long). The dishes he mentioned as being a part of the other tours sounded like luxury cuisine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andes Challenge - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 

Been to Andes Challenge - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andes Challenge - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.