We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm family at the heart of Salta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exxes Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Exxes Hostel to your Saves list
Exxes Hostel
Catamarca 481, Salta 4400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Salta
Salta
1 review
“Warm family at the heart of Salta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Once you enter Exxse Hostel in Salta you will not be able to leave!
Thats what happned to me and many others.
I´ve been traveling in Argentina and Chile for 2 months, and this is definitely the best hostel i´ve been in!
First of all, it´s always clean (you dont feel like you are sharing your bathroom with 30 other people), it has a big kitchen, Cable plazma TV, playstation, Computers, WIFI, beautiful yard, and most of all- warm and inviting atmosphere. The Staff is friendly and will help you in EVERY little thing you need, especially Belen and Sebastian, which you will feel they are like your friends.
If you´re planing visit Salta (and you should!), you cant skip this place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
2
10
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Out of the two hostels I stayed at in Salta, this was the best. It has large bunkbeds, pretty good wireless, great staff, decent breakfast, and a great location to the center and the bus station. I have no complaints about this hostel although it wasn't the best I have ever stayed in. But for the price you get what you need!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. The room we had was ok. We had enough space, but the floors were dirty. The floors are old wood, so there is all kinds of dirt built up around the edges and in the cracks. I guess the sheets were clean. Most bathrooms are shared, and they are pretty gross. I tried so hard not to let the shower curtain touch me though it tried.

We had an early bus, and they said breakfast would be out at 5am (or some early hour, about the time we planned to wake up). I am pretty sure we were communicating properly, and I did not think they were putting it out special for us...they said it was normal. However, come the next morning there was no food.

The rooms are dark and dreary. The staff was nothing great. The windows could be broken into pretty easily. Also, they let in all kinds of street noise. The location is fine but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is the only hostel we had to move out after only one night stay during our month long trip in Argentina and I have stayed in over 10+ hostels on this trip. We were too tired to look for another place after a 24-hour bus ride when we got a dark and gloomy room with old furniture, but worst? The place is filthy including the common areas like the kitchen. One of the bathtubs in the shared bathroom was covered with stains.

For about the same price, we found a cheerful and clean hostel across the street on Av. San Juan the next day. I would stay away from this place.

P.S. I did not find the staff helpful at all.

Room Tip: We were shown 2 different rooms, and both look depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here, but I have to give it an average rating because of the rooms and bathrooms. They are fine, but worn and the pillows and bed linens leave something to be desired. There are no private bathrooms, only shared, and the bathrooms could use some fixing up. The best part is the staff, very very friendly and helpful, and we had a great time doing a bbq. Though people are social and we were up late on the bbq night, it´s relatively quiet and peaceful. If you are looking for a dorm, this is a pretty good place but I would recommend elsewhere for private room and bathroom for a couple.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

A great hostel, which is very fairly priced. The staff are really friendly and it is in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We had a fantastic stay in Hostel Exxes. It´s a great combination of a small, friendly and social hostel where everyone gathers for a drink before dinner or shares breakfast (or a BBQ) together, but it´s not too much of a party hostel so that you can´t get any sleep. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. It´s not fancy but the rooms are clean and the breakfasts are really good. The rooms at the front get a fair bit of noise from the road, so earplugs are handy if you get one of those.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exxes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exxes Hostel

Address: Catamarca 481, Salta 4400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exxes hostel is located 5 blocks away from the bus station and 3 blocks from the center area, just in the corner there is the San Martin Park and also an ATM and super market. Our services includes a really complete breakfast, free internet, towels and bed linen, a full equiped kitchen and a plenty of common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Exxes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exxes Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.