We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous finca just outside Salta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Valentina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Valentina to your Saves list
Finca Valentina
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ruta Nacional 51, km 6 | La Merced Chica (Camino al Encon), Salta 4400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 89 Salta B&B and Inns
Northamptonshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous finca just outside Salta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Finca Valentina is a real treat - a lovely place to stay and unwind if you're basing yourself in the Salta area. Extremely stylish and in a beautiful setting - straight out of the 'Mr & Mrs Smith' or 'i-escape' mould if that's what you're looking for. Also very convenient for the city's small airport which is ten minutes or so down the road on the way into Salta .

My wife and I stayed here earlier this month as our 'luxury mini-break' during our three-week tour of Argentina, before spending a final few days in Buenos Aires prior to flying home. The intention had been to 'crash out' a bit after a couple of days driving the RN-40 via Cachi (unmissable trip), but the weather in Salta wasn't as good as we'd expected, and we ended up exploring Salta itself (lovely clean city with a delightful central square), driving to Purmamarca (as much for the journey, as well as to see the stunning Cerro de los Siete Colores) and horse-riding, arranged by Valentina of the hotel, in neighbouring San Lorenzo (very smart suburb of Salta - we might be tempted to look at staying there next time) - all immensely enjoyable.

The finca itself was exquisite - very tastefully styled and furnished (unsurprising perhaps as owner Valentina is an architect/interior designer!) but at the same time it felt welcoming and homely, and the staff (four ladies, non-English speaking) were all very polite and attentive, and went out of their way to ensure our stay at the finca was an enjoyable and relaxing one. We spent a couple of evenings chatting with fellow guests over a bottle of wine well into the small hours, and the staff were content just to leave us to turn the lights out and retire to bed; one afternoon we managed to squeeze in a couple of hours sitting around the lovely swimming pool (more like an infinity pool really) and one of the ladies brought us some complimentary soft drinks - nice little touches that can make for a real pleasurable stay.

Our bedroom and accompanying living area were very comfortable indeed, with a large bed and stylish furniture, our own patios - even a TV which we didn't use!. The bathroom contained a huge bath, washbasin, bidet and toilet. There was also plenty of storage and hanging space which we thought was handy if like us you're planning on being at the finca for a few days.

Another big plus for us and a good reason to stay at Finca Valentina was the food; in addition to breakfast (usual Argentine fare, with homemade cakes and scrambled eggs on request!!), lunch and dinner were available at US$15 and US$30 pp respectively. While we didn't have lunch, we ate dinner on three of the four nights we stayed there and all meals were divine - three courses and freshly prepared by the ladies in the adjacent kitchen. We thought US$30 pp was exceptional value for the standard of the cuisine. There was also a fairly extensive wine list - not surprising given the proximity of the local vineyards (we particularly liked the Torrentes!).

Any minuses? Well we thought the finca was a little tricky to find first time round and you need to stay alert to spot the 'Finca Valentina 1200m' signpost as you drive out of Salta (past the freeway intersection) on the RN-51. Given its secluded location and distance from the centre of town, a hire car is an absolute must really, particularly if you intend to explore the local area; taxis are freely available in Salta itself - just be aware that the finca is accessed via a rough and quite long unpaved track leading off the main road and we were aware from other guests that taxi drivers may be a little reluctant to drive down it in poor weather. You really don't want to be dumped roadside last thing at night having had one or two drinks, to be left to negotiate a rocky path in the dark back to your bed!

Nothing else really - it may be worth mentioning that Valentina has four fairly docile family dogs that spend the large part of their day either roaming around the outside of the finca or asleep (depending on how hot it is) which is fine if, like us, you're ok with dogs.

In terms of cost, we paid US$155 per room b&b in early December which we thought was very reasonable given the standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other bedroom, but all are different and ours was beautifully furnished throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Located on the edges of Salta, this is a beautiful acre-sized getaway that was perfect for our short period of downtime during a lengthy trip around Argentina. The hosts were extremely welcoming and given the relative size of the place, we really felt at home during our stay. Even on Xmas eve, when the weather was pretty wet, we did nothing more than lounge around the place and were made to feel as if it was our house.

The room itself was large and spacious, with a great view towards the misty foothills. One night we sat out on the spacious balcony and watched a balmy thunderstorm break over Salta itself. As we were staying over Xmas, the hosts put together a special meal for all the guests (all of us were from Europe) - again a lovely touch. The food and choice of wine during meals was v.good.

We went on a 4 day trip to the wilds of Catamarca with Socompa, which is highly recommended. You can also be picked up by the venue from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Finca Valentina is definitely a great place to stay, we highly recommend it
Everything was perfect: the friendly owners (Italian if you hadn't guessed by the name of the hotel), the nice and elegant rooms (with great beds!), the design of the house (with all the small details which make it such a special place), the impeccable service and helpful staff, the location a few kilometers from Salta in a very nice countryside (you need a car though), the tasty breakfast and food (one of the reasons I hate too much in Argentina)... and the 4 lovely dogs (for me a great plus!)
Outside the finca, there is a lot to do in the area including horse riding (in San Lorenzo), walks, quads... and of course Salta
Our 2-night stay will remain one of great souvenirs of our trip and we got to see a lot (including Bolivia)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Finca Valentina it s the best place to Stay in salta!
It' s a 5* home! All the people that work there are like a fresh air!
The food is amazing, the bedrooms are beautiful and confortable like a 5* hotel!
Dont hesitate and visit the finca!!

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

What do we keep in mind from our 3 weeks trip to Argentina? Finca Valentina! It was like being at home in this intimate place, but also like being in a 5 stars hotel with impeccable service (discreet) and amazing food (Argentinian/Italian fusion). The Finca is very tranquil yet at 10 minutes from the airport and 15 from the city center. It is an oasis of beauty, decorated by Valentina, a former architect. There is lots to do besides eating (you just finish a meal that you want to start the next one), sleeping (large comfy beds with delicious sheets) and enjoying the swimming pool (good size, nice lounge chairs) : cooking lesson, horse riding, visit of the surroundings. Fabrizio, Valentina's husband, knows the area better than everyone and he organises amazing trips around Salta.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, the first floor one is probably the best, with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iznajar, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sadly we only had one nights stay at Finca Valentina. We were given a wonderful welcome with drink and tour of the house on arrival. The rooms are simple and elegant with beautiful bathrooms. The owners could not have been more helpful - we discovered our hire car was due to be returned to the airport at 9am, but our flight was much later in the day. They offered to drive with us to the airport to return the car and then bring us back to Finca Valentina until we were ready to depart!! The evening meal was perfect with lovely staff making sure all went well. Breakfast outside on the terrace was very enjoyable. At all times we were told just to ask if we needed anything. We would certainly recommend anyone thinking of travelling in the Salta area should book a few nights in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We spent a total of 4 nights at Finca Valentina in March 2012 and we would highly recommend a stay here. The Finca is extremely comfortable, with lovely views and the food is excellent - an interesting fusion of Italian and Argentinian styles. The Finca is set in its own grounds and it is possible to do short walks along the local tracks (with excellent bird-watching opportunities). Valentina and her staff are extremely friendly and helpful and local/regional tours can be arranged through Socompa (a company run by Fabrizio, Valentina's husband). We had an interesting and informative city tour and a wonderful 3 day tour of the Cachi/El Cafayate area west and south of Salta, impeccably organised by Socompa. We also had a great day birdwatching at the local Huaipo reserve and surrounding area with a guide from Clark Expediciones

We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Finca Valentina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Valentina

Address: Ruta Nacional 51, km 6 | La Merced Chica (Camino al Encon), Salta 4400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finca Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca|Valentina is a country house/B&B located a few km from Salta, Argentina. We have 4 bedrooms with private bathrooms, breakfast, lunch and dinner services, a beautiful swimming pool, internet Wi-Fi, horseback riding and massages facilities and the whole house at our guest disposal with 24 hours service. It is a very relaxing place, at the feet of the Andes, perfect as a base to your trip for the north of Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Finca Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Valentina Hotel Salta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Valentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.