We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis quite close to downtown Salta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Candela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Candela to your Saves list
Hotel La Candela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pueyrredon 346 | Salta, Salta, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Salta
Buenos Aires
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An oasis quite close to downtown Salta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A quiet, well run hotel at 5 minutes' walk from downtown Salta. The staff is bilingual Spanish-English, well trained, corteous and willing to satisfy everyone's needs. Breakfast is well served, the orange juice is 100% natural and so fresh, they must have just squeezed it. It is pleasant to look to the garden, the swimming pool and to San Bernardo hill from the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Our room was # 10 in the 2nd floor, facing West, looking towards the back garden and swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience in our hotel with the Tripadvisor community; we truly appreciate your time taken to post your comments. We are pleased to learn that our best efforts to offer a good service are well perceived by those who chose our place to stay.
We are sure that Salta has still lot more places and landscapes to offer. May it be a good reason for you to visit us again, and of course we would love to have you among us.

Sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    64
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
150
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed three nights at La Candela in November 2013. The hotel is a few blocks from the main square, which is nice because you are just outside the most congested part of Salta. The room was clean and comfortable, overlooking the nice garden and pool in the back. We had a rental car, so we used the locked parking garage a couple of doors down from the front door. The breakfast room has windows on three sides overlooking the garden. I though the breakfast was very good, comparable to the other hotels in Argentina. The front desk was very helpful when we needed information or advice. The rate was quite reasonable, I thought. Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are pleased to learn that your experience in La Candela Hotel has been positive and we truly hope that during your next visit to our city of Salta we can have yu among our guests. It is for sure Salta has still lot more landscapes and nice places to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

When our Travel Advisor recommended for me to travel to Salta and go hiking in the region I had no idea where it was or what to expect etc. On first arrival to Salta and Hotel La Candela it opened the doors to probably one of the best experiences of staying in a hotel and a region throughout my vast global travels. La Candela is everything and more as a hospitality diamond that outshines most accommodation that rate 5 stars plus. Genuine concern, courtesy, interest in their guests, Genuine pride in their work, a sense of humour, promptness when required and more. The decor of the hotel left me searching every corner with interest of this small boutique hotel. Breakfast was a pleasure to wake up to every morning with the best freshly squeezed orange juice I have every had. I can only sincerely thank the team and owner of the hotel for being part of a wonderful journey through Salta.

Room Tip: Was in 2 separate rooms and both were good. Try the pool. There is a little apartment out the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
it is a pleasure for us to know that we have met your expectations. We feel really proud when a guest with so much travelling experience can value all those little details we offer to make ourselves different.

Thank you very much for your taking some time to write a few lines and share your experience with Trip Advisor audience. We hope to have you with us again in a future; it is for sure that Salta still keeps some nice places and landscapes to surprise you.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spend 4 nights here and were sad we had to leave. It really felt like home. Nice room, clean,cosy and very nice garden with swimming pool. The staff was exeptional, from the cleaning lady, gardener and people at the reception desk. I really recommand this hotel and would defenitly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with the Tripadvisor community. We are pleased to learn that the pleasant and quiet atmosphere of our garden has kept you away from the noisy center of the city.
Part of our strenghts is the comfort in our rooms and the kindness of our staff.
We will be pleased to have you among our guests again. It is for sure our hotel and our city still have lot more to offer.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice hotel in reasonable location; it is walking distance to the main square. The room was comfortable; the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only disappointment was the breakfast in particular comparing to another facility in Salata we stayed in; it was just quite cheap B&B and the breakfast was way above what we experienced in La Candela.

Room Tip: Even the room in ground floor close to the reception was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest:
We appreciate your choosing us for your stay in the city of Salta, however we feel sorry for not having being able to meet your expectations completely.
Our breakfast service is a Continental type, that is why we do not offer hot dishes but we always have this option available upon our guests' request and as a courtesy, free of charge. We could have prepared some fried eggs or poached eggs, also scrambled eggs with or without ham.
We thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community and we hope to have you in our hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent last night in this beautiful hotel with it's calming garden and pool, friendly helpful staff and beautiful room. Easy walk to the centre of town, off road parking. The staff obviously want you to have everything you need. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We are pleased to hear that your stay has been a pleasant one. We truly appreciate your having taken some time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor comunity. I am sure that our province of Salta has a lot more to offer and landscapes still to discover, so we look forward to having you among our guests back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights in this excellent hotel. The staff were exceptional; friendly helpful and thoughtful. We arrived quite late at night and the reception we received was just what we needed after a difficult day. The rooms are well proportioned, clean and very comfortable and the bathrooms are great. Breakfast is served at table and the dining room overlooks a lovely garden and swimming pool. The hotel itself is centrally located and within easy walking distance of all relevant places in the town. It is a great hotel with great staff and we would recommend it highly to anyone thinking of staying here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest:
We are happy to learn that you've been amazed by our hotel, and your recognition is another good reason to keep us providing a better service each day. Thank you for your time taken to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to having you again among our guests.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Candela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Candela

Address: Pueyrredon 346 | Salta, Salta, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Salta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Candela 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old two-storey house hosts La Candela located in the heart of the city of Salta, only 500mts away from the main square.Its interior design mirrors a free expression of language emphasized by the contrasts of colors and furnishings. In La Candela some new styles are created, some others are merged, and sometimes old elements are recycled.La Candela's owners and staff put their best to make their guests feel happy and comfortable in this lovely city with beautiful landscapes nicknamed ...SALTA .. THE BEAUTIFUL SALTA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Candela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Candela Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Candela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.