We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Aguada

Save Saved
You added La Aguada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Aguada
Ruta 38 | 18K S San Fernando, San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
buenosaires
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Hidden jewel in the outskirts of Catamarca city. Five utterly clean rooms, decorated in the northern argentine traditional style, this mountain hotel is run by Inés and Hugo a charming couple also responsible for the fine gourmet dishes and folk musical evenings ( both are excellent musicians)We highly recommend this unique place quite different from the rest of other hotel choices.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in the first week of march. We travelled through Argentina for 5 months and this is one of our favourite hotels. First of all: the hosts, Hugo and Ines, are very nice people and they do make you feel very welcome the moment you step into their beautiful place. And what a place it is! Beautiful architecture and very tastful decoration. That counts for the communal spaces as for the bedrooms, that contain everything you need. But most of all we enjoyed the food of Ines ( we never ate somewhere else) and the knowlegde of Hugo on almost every subject that we brought upon. Do try to see the paintings of the Aguada tribe on the rocks. Its quite a trip from la Aguada hotel, but you will not regret the effort. We saw the drawings in Talampaya National Park (also very worth while), but this is something VERY special.
La Aquada, Hugo and Ines, will be on our minds for quite a while.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The second time me and my wife stopped in this lovely house-hotel just outside Catamarca city sorprised us just the same as the first one; incredible gardens, a large living room with a piano and guitars, very comfortable beds. The food is allways fantastic, and if you have the chance to eat or have some wine -or just mate- with the owners (Hugo and Inés), you'll find that they are very interesting people.

If the weather is nice (almost allways is) you can enjoy a small, yet very nice swimming pool and a lake in the garden, a walk in the nearby hills, among other activities.

The quality-price relationship is also very good. For a couple, the room costs about US$ 100, less than a four-star hotel in Catamarca downtown, only that much better!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed in 'La aguada' in December 2009. Argentina is a beautiful country with lots to see, nice people, culture and good food. Being home again we can say that our stay in 'La aguada' was the best!
Our plan was to stay for 2 nights, that became 10 nights. The owners Hugo and Ines are such nice and good people, they know how to make your stay unforgettable. They welcomed us with open arms, treated us as we were family.
We heard great stories, culture facts and they brought us everything that we needed (lots of white wine, cocktails, rum). When you want to have a taste of real cultural Argentinian food you need to eat from their kitchen! Every lunch or dinner is presented beautifully and delicious!
If you want to enjoy a beautiful hotel, the silence, want privacy, your own lagoon, a swimming pool, a nice room and good food and drinks: you need to go to 'La aguada'.

Enjoy your stay!
Lars & Janet

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband and I selected this hotel based on a couple of reviews we read in Trip advisor. We wanted a place away from the city where traffic was not a problem (we were driving). This hotel turned out to be one of the best in our 16 day trip in Argentina and Chile. Small yet with all the comforts one may need (good internet, good food, quiet, gracious host and great decor in the room and the common areas). We brought a telescope with us and had some of the best stargazing at this place.
In the daytime there are also many birds including parrots flying around the grounds.
All in all we had a great time here, the price is very reasonable for what you get. Wish there were more places like this.
Sarracenia

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Aguada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aguada

Address: Ruta 38 | 18K S San Fernando, San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Catamarca > San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Aguada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aguada Catamarca, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Aguada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.