We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in Downtown Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   651 E. Main St., Mesa, AZ 85205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 55 hotels in Mesa
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice in Downtown Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were attending a concert at the Mesa Arts Center, and wanted a motel close by. This one had the best reviews in the area, so chose it. It is a small hotel, which was nice. We were given the choice upon arrival of a ground floor room or one upstairs. We chose upstairs. The decor is nice. The property was clean, and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Weirdly, we never saw any housekeeping ouside of the ladies who made breakfast every morning. They were efficient, but kept to themselves. Our room had 2 queen beds, and a flat screen TV. Our window looked out over the parking lot, so could keep an eye on the car. The room was clean and free of any odors. The only ice machine is on the ground floor, which may be inconvenient for some, but the lift is located midway in the hall. It was a very quiet room, with black out curtains which lent itself to oversleeping, but that was nice, too. Breakfast is served from 6:00 to 9:00 a.m., and we made it (barely), but there was still plenty of food such as breads, scrambled eggs, waffles, cereals, yogurt, juices, etc. The dining area isn't huge, but seemed adequate. The hotel is not within walking distance of a nice sit-down restaurant, but there is a Dairy Queen right next door, and if you go up the street past the LDS Temple, next to a big Wells Fargo is Pete's Fish and Chips. While not the British variety, still very tasty and apparently a bit of an institution. Speaking of the LDS Temple, it was completely decorated for the Christmas holiday, and was gorgeious beyond belief. Definately a must-see!! The Mesa Arts Center is also quite nice, and the Ikeda Theatre is fabulous for concerts!

Room Tip: We liked the 2nd floor. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
25
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived early in the afternoon to find the entryway blocked with a carpet cleaning truck. So we made our way around the truck, over the hose and other cleaning items and into the lobby where we learned it was a tile cleaning session rahter than carpet. The lobby and hall to the elevator were wet and semi-blocked off.
We managed to check in and were told we had to go to the back of the hotel to come in to the elevator. Being somewhat mobility challanged that was not what I wanted to hear. So we hauled our luggage to the back door, entered a long hall, that took us right back to the opposite side of the lobby and elevator to another blocked area. We looked across the wet floor back to where we just were. We removed the cones so we could get to the elevator after taking a long trip just to get ten feet from where we were... and were still blocked.
Anyway, the room was typical and fairly comfortable. But when maintenace comes over customer service, I will not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is the money worth. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The service is okay but could be perhaps a bit better especially servicing international guests. Free Parking is offered next to the hotel. The hotel has also a pool area which looked clean as well.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were originally supposed to stay at a different hotel. When we arrived, their entire breakfast area was under construction. We moved over to the Comfort Inn & Suites, Downtown Mesa. The rooms were very clean. The breakfast included eggs and sausage every day. The staff was very friendly and kept all of the breakfast items fully stocked. We stayed here the first two nights of our vacation as well as the last night of our vacation. I am very happy we had an issue with our first hotel. I will definitely stay at this hotel the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms 101-106 are very convenient to the north parking lot. Card access for the north door was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at the hotel after hiking in the nearby mountains. The hotel is a solid choice and gave a good, clean, comfortable room. Although the hotel is near downtown Mesa, it still required a little bit of a drive for many evening dinner options. Otherwise, I had no complaints about the stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I spent a week at this hotel in March to watch Cactus League Baseball at Hohokam Park. The accomodations were great. The rooms were kept immaculate. The breakfast was ready every day on time, and the staff (especially one lady--Nellie) were most welcoming. The hotel is located near downtown Mesa and a short (maybe 10 minute) drive from Hohokam Park. I highly recommend this location for either business or pleasure traveling. There was a computer and printer available for guests' use, which is helpful in getting boarding passes, etc., printed while on the road.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I am on the road all the time and spend nearly 100 days in hotels yearly. When I come to the Phoenix area the Comfort Suites at 651 East Main Street in Mesa is where I want to stay. The staff treats me like family and the accomodations are always the best. I would stay here on vacation, not just for work. The rooms are large and well furnished. The hotel staff makes the stay most enjoyable. It is a quiet hotel and close enough to major freeways and the airport to make just about any destination in the valley a breeze to find. The staff also recommends great places to eat and it's close to the light rail system if you want to catch a game at the stadiums without the parking hassles.

Room Tip: Choose any king suite and you will not be disappointed. They are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 651 E. Main St., Mesa, AZ 85205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites® Downtown hotel is conveniently located near Tempe, Scottsdale, Chandler, Gilbert, Apache Junction and Phoenix. This Mesa, AZ hotel is close to the Mesa Arts Center, the Mormon Temple, Mesa Amphitheater, the Mesa Convention Center and HoHoKam Stadium, home of the Chicago Cubs spring training. Both the Superstition Springs Center mall and Fiesta Mall are just minutes away.The hotel is also close to Big League Dreams Sports Park - Gilbert. The hotel is close to many events in the area, including the Insight Bowl, P.F. Chang's Rock 'n' Roll Arizona Marathon, the Scottsdale Arabian Horse Show, FBR Open and the Barrett-Jackson Classic car auction.Many other notable sites in the greater Phoenix area are only a quick drive from our hotel, such as Casino Arizona, Arizona State University (ASU), US Airways Center multipurpose venue, Chase Field ballpark and the Phoenix Convention Center. Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport is 14 miles West and, Mesa Gateway Airport is 16 miles East. Golfers will be happy about the many golf courses located in close proximity to the hotel. The diverse selection of dining options in the surrounding area will delight visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Mesa
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Mesa
Mesa Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;