We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and relaxing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   941 W. Grove Avenue, Mesa, AZ 85210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Rena, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect and relaxing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We came in the late evening and we were meet by a very nice person in the lobby. She gave me our keys and we found our suite. It was a 2 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor facing the pool area. It was very nice and clean and we left right at home. The first night we checked out the pool and spa and it was wonderful. As we were spending two nights here, the next day we did some sightseeing in the area and when we came back, our suite was cleaned, beds made, and even the dishes were done and clean in the dishwasher! It was just perfect! We made dinner in the suite kitchen and found all the utilities we needed to make our dinner wonderful. Later we enjoyed a swim in the pool and relaxing in the spa. We didn't try the breakfast nor the complimentary dinner, but it did smell delicious! We also loved that this hotel was near to shopping. The Fiesta Mall was nearly right next door. We will diffidently stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to both couples and families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about our property. It's always wonderful to hear such kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed the amenities our hotel had to offer. Next time hopefully you can give our complimentary breakfast and dinner a try as well! Hope to see you soon!! - Jordyn Sell, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
12
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My family traveled to Mesa for a week. There were 6 of us so not every hotel can accommodate us. We reserved a two bedroom room at this hotel. Very comfortable stays. Could afford to update the look however it was clean and like I mentioned comfortable. The staff was more than helpful and very friendly. The free breakfast was good. Enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I am so encouraged to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. With March being our busiest month each year, it is especially gratifying to hear your stay was comfortable, our food was good, and our staff made a favorable impresssion on you. I love sharing notes like yours to our team.

We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The woman at the front desk was very rude and made sure I felt unwelcome there from the beginning. I stayed there 4 nights. The breakfast always ran out around 8:30 AM and never refilled even when 20-30 people were waiting in line. The bathroom in the lobby was filthy...never cleaned. There was no tissue paper. The room AC was very noisy. Walls were paper thin. We could hear people talking or flushing in other rooms. The garbage truck came every morning around 6:30 and woke me up. The toilet backed up several times. Bathtub had disturbing stains. I could just go on but I'm going to stop here. Please spend your money elsewhere. Marriott should do something about this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to respond. Regardless of content, we do welcome constructive comments from our guests as part of our goal to "Wow" each and every person coming through our door.

I would like to apologize for our hotel not meeting your expectations. We haven't received a one-star rating since May of 2011, and your feedback is concerning, particularly since we do not have record of receiving any complaints during your stay. While we realize we will sometimes fail to meet our guests' and our own expectations, we are proud of how quickly and earnestly we respond when this happens and it is brought to our attention. We would rather work to fix a problem or concern immediately than have a guest stay with us several days unhappy and read about it online far too late to rectify the situation. If you will, please contact me personally to discuss how we can work to earn your business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My son and I spent several days recently at this hotel, while in town for spring training. We will definitely stay at this same hotel again next year. Every single staff member that we had interactions with was friendly, courteous, and helpful. We were greeted by the front desk clerk with a welcoming smile when we arrived, and she found our reservations right away. We had a room on the 2nd floor. Other than occasionally hearing a door close, or the sound of a shower in the next room, it was very quiet, yet not eerily so. The hotel is also close to the Hwy 60 onramp, was about 10 to 12 miles from the Giants' Scottsdale Stadium, perhaps 10 miles from Hohokam Stadium, etc.

A free breakfast is provided every morning. They had fruit, oatmeal with various toppings, make-yourself waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, a varying potato dish, plus toast, muffins, and bagels. Juice, milk, and coffee to top it off. The coffee was very good, and just the right temperature for me (no burnt tongue). They also provided a complimentary dinner on Mon, Tues and Wed nights, but since we ate out, we didn't take advantage of that.

It was nice to have the kitchenette, with fridge, stove and microwave. One great benefit of staying here is that they will grocery shop for you at no charge, except for the cost of the groceries. You just need to provide your list by 9:00 a.m. I did so, and included a request for a 6-pack of Aquafina water (for our drive home). They noticed that the store was selling a 24-pack for the same price as a 6-pack, and got me the better deal.

I definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Scottsdale/Mesa area. Truly a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor at the very end of the hallway - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I have personally used your letter with our entire staff to encourage them that they are doing a wonderful job. Your comments are all-encompassing, and show that guest satisfaction is rarely won by an individual, but by a team. It is also extra nice when our team effort is recognized and I thank you again for taking the time to tell us.

I look forward to your next mother/son outing with us and hope that you introduce yourself to me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It was very comfortable particularly the beds which is the primary reason we generally stay at Marriott hotels. The room size was more than adequate with a kitchen area, living room, and bedroom. It was, primarily, one big room as the bedroom was not a separate room. Flat screen TV but was disappointed there was not a DVD player. The kitchen was adequate with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, plenty of utensils, plates, etc. for 4, and two burner stove and microwave. Despite the pictures on the website, the kitchen is not the same. There may be some rooms but every room I saw (door open while cleaning) did not have an oven and it was not a granite countertop. Not a big deal for us as the kitchen still serve its purposes but misleading.

Be sure to have your room key with you at all times. All the doors (except for the main lobby entrance) were always locked and you needed your key to go through. This included within the hotel. Seemed a little overkill for security but not a real problem if you have your key. Even going to and from the pool, you need your key to get through the doors.

Hot breakfast was okay. Plenty of selection but was a little disappointed in some of the quality.

It was obvious the hotel has not been updated in some time as carpets were worn, no DVD player, but the furnishings were good and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for your response, Chris, as well as rating us 4-stars. I appreciate the balance you've shared between our strengths and areas of opportunities. We are 100% committed to improving every day with every guest - and observations like these only help us in this endeavor. I am confident you will see improvements on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in town for a little girls scrapbooking weekend, and we used the hotel's meeting room for our classes on Saturday. Amanda was amazing to work with from beginning to end. We booked the meeting room late last year, only to hear when called to confirm and get information that our first contact was no longer there. We went through 4 people within a few weeks. However, once Amanda was on it the whole event was good to go with no worries! A please doing business at this hotel!

Our hotel room wasn't cleaned one day. We hadn't left the magnet on the door, and were gone from 8:30 am until 8 pm....it was fine when we called down as long as we could get towels since there was no one available to take trash out, or clean our room. Other than that...quiet, relaxing and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Ginger! I remember your group very well. I heard several nice comments from our staff regarding your girls.

We are very fortunate to have added Amanda to our sales team in January. As you have experienced, she has already made a positive impact on our hotel in such a short time. She is very thorough, detail-oriented, and best of all, she loves our guests - key indicators of a successful hospitality manager.

I have discussed with our housekeeping department how your room may have gotten missed for daily cleaning. We are always grateful when our guests notify us should we fall short of expectations, allowing us to remedy the situation.

Looking forward to hosting your group again in the future and hopefully meeting you in person!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Reading other reviews, we had concerns about noise at this hotel especially during spring break. The hotel was very busy but noise was not a problem. We did request a third floor room, but all of building one was quiet. It's the building furthest from the pool. The neighborhood is going through a transition. There is new office construction nearby... But many of the nearby big box retailers and shops have moved to other areas. The nearby mall is doing okay and there are several restaurants around it. The hotel is in a group of four other major chain hotels on quiet streets but with easy access to most attractions in the area. The staff was wonderful and really made it feel like home.

Room Tip: Third floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind response and the 4-Star rating! We are always encouraged to hear when we've left our guests pleased, and I personally love hearing our staff made you feel at home. (That's our #1 goal!!)

We've taken strong steps in the recent past to keep noise levels to a minimum, especially in the later hours of the evening. I'm happy to hear these steps are working!

One final note regarding your neighborhood comments, we are excited about how the City of Mesa has worked to upgrade and redefine its image for the better. The new companies and industry replacing those that have departed is indicative of this upward trend, leaving those of us who live and work here in the community very excited about the future. I am confident your next visit here will confirm my observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa

Address: 941 W. Grove Avenue, Mesa, AZ 85210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa Hotel Mesa
Residence Inn Mesa
Mesa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.